Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Language Proficiency Assessment for Teachers (LPAT)

Language Proficiency Assessment for Teachers 

General Information

The LPAT provides a channel for teachers/aspiring teachers to attain the Language Proficiency Requirement (LPR) for teaching English/Putonghua (PTH).
Since 2001, the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA) and the Education Bureau (EDB) have jointly conducted the Language Proficiency Assessment for Teachers (LPAT) ("the Assessment"). It is held once annually. Anyone who satisfies the entry requirements can enter for the Assessment.
The LPAT(English Language) comprises five papers.  They are Reading, Writing, Listening, Speaking and Classroom Language Assessment (CLA).  The LPAT(Putonghua) comprises four papers. They are Listening and Recognition (聆聽與認辨), Pinyin (拼音), Speaking (口語) and CLA (課堂語言運用).
The HKEAA will administer the written and speaking papers of the Assessment. CLA will be administered by the EDB and is offered to serving teachers only. 


Information on LPAT 2018 (With LPAT 2018 Entry Form)


Information on Classroom Language Assessment (CLA)



Last revision date: 25 August 2017
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict