Student Suicide and School Crisis Management

Schools should take precautionary measures and have an effective mechanism in place to handle crises. Student suicide could be the trigger of a school crisis.

 

Detect and support students with suicidal behaviours 

Suicide is a complex phenomenon with no single cause but results from the interaction of individual factors (e.g. mental health, personal experiences), interpersonal relationships (e.g. families, peers), community (e.g. discrimination, living environment), the larger society (e.g. media, stigma of help-seeking) and the health system. To prevent student suicide, we should aim at early detection and timely intervention, and promote concerted effort to foster a sense of connectedness in schools. For more information and resources on preventing student suicide, please visit the following link:

http://edb.gov.hk/en/teacher/prevention-of-student-suicides/


To help school personnel to understand student suicide and the support strategies, the EDB published “An eBook on Student Suicide for Schools: Early Detection, Intervention & Postvention (EDIP)” in 2011. With reference to the local and global studies on the suicide issues, as well as the frontline experiences of the educational psychologists, we updated the content of EDIP to “A Resource Handbook for Schools: Detecting, Supporting and Making Referral for Students with Suicidal Behaviours”. This Handbook is designed to facilitate schools to adopt three-tier support model for prevention and handling of student suicide problem. It introduces suicidal risk and protective factors as well as warning signs. It also shares knowledge and skills in early detection of students at risk, and practical tips for responding to students’ suicidal behaviours. This Handbook can be downloaded from the following link:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/en/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/Resource_Handbook_for_Schools_e.pdf

 

School Crisis Management 

Crises often occur suddenly, disrupting one’s usual coping mechanism. A crisis could be triggered by events such as the suicide or accidental death and critical injury of a student or staff, as well as violent incidents, natural disasters, etc. Often, it will upset a school’s equilibrium and may trigger emotions in students, parents and school personnel.  The Handbook on School Crisis Management : Intervention and Psychological Support in the Aftermath of Crises aims at supporting schools to provide appropriate intervention and support services to affected teachers and students during the aftermath of crises. The Handbook introduces the basic principles and operational procedures of crisis intervention and psychological support, provides a framework, roles and functions of the School Crisis Management Team as well as appendices containing checklists, samples of press release and parent letter, reference materials, etc. The Handbook can be downloaded from this link:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/en/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/crisise.pdf

 

Managing Traumatic Incidents 

To help parents to support their children with special educational needs to handle their sadness and anxiety/confusion when they encountered the death of relatives and friends, the Education Bureau has published a video newsletter.  You may view the video clip from this link :

http://edb.gov.hk/tc/edu-system/special/overview/newsletter/index.html (Chinese only)

 

Supporting Students with Mental Health Problems 

Students with mental health problems need treatment by medical professionals such as psychiatrists, clinical psychologists or follow up by medical social workers. Schools play a complementary role in supporting these students at school. Important points to note for schools’ reference when planning and implementing support measures can be downloaded from this link:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/en/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/mentalhealthproblems-e.pdf

  

Other useful information for supporting students with mental health problems can be downloaded from these links:

 

Hospital Authority: Kwai Chung Hospital - Mental Health Education:

http://www.ha.org.hk/kch/eng/education/edu-index.html

 

Hospital Authority: Early Assessment Service for Young People with Early Psychosis (E.A.S.Y.) Programme:

http://www3.ha.org.hk/easy/eng/index.html

 

Hospital Authority: Contact Numbers of E.A.S.Y. Service Centres:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/en/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/EASY Centres-e.pdf

  

Helpline and Community Resources

Helpline and resources offered by the government and non-governmental organisations for the public can be found at this link:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/en/student-parents/crisis-management/helpline-community-resources/index.html

 

Other useful information on student suicide prevention can be found from these links:

The Hong Kong Jockey Club

    *  Centre for Suicide Research and Prevention (CSRP)

   *  We Care Chinese only

 

Final Report of "The Committee on Prevention of Student Suicides"

The Committee on Prevention of Student Suicides (the Committee) had completed and submitted the final report to the Secretary for Education on 7 November 2016.

 

The report has further provided the analysis of the local fatal student suicide cases and the various recommendations put up by the members of the Committee and working groups on the “Universal”, "Selective” and “Indicated” levels of support.

 

Final Report pdf

top back

學生自殺及學校危機處理

學校應採取適當預防措施及建立有效的機制處理危機。學生自殺有可能成為學校危機的觸發點。

   

識別及支援有自殺風險的學生

自殺是一個複雜的行為,非由單一原因引發,而是受到個人(如精神健康、個人經歷)、人際關係(如家庭、朋輩)、社區(如歧視、居住環境)、社會(如傳媒、對求助的標籤)以及醫療系統的不同因素相互影響。要預防學生自殺,我們應該以及早識別和介入為目標,並致力培養學生在學校的聯繫感。有關防止學生自殺的資料和資源,可到以下連結瀏覽:

http://edb.gov.hk/tc/teacher/prevention-of-student-suicides/

 

為協助學校人員認識學生自殺問題和支援方法,教育局於2011年出版《學校處理學生自殺問題電子書:及早識別、介入及善後》,現根據本地及全球研究自殺問題的相關文獻,以及教育心理學家支援學校的前線經驗,更新了電子書的內容,編成《識別、支援及轉介有自殺行為的學生:學校資源手冊》。本手冊旨在協助學校以三層支援模式,預防及處理學生自殺問題。手冊內容介紹自殺危險和保護因素,以及自殺警號,並概述識別出現自殺先兆及/或自殺行為的學生的知識及技巧,以及提供如何回應學生自殺行爲的實用建議。這本手冊可於以下連結下載: 

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/tc/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/Resource_Handbook_for_Schools_tc.pdf

  

學校危機處理

危機往往突如其來,威脅人的應變能力。學校危機事件可包括學生/或教職員自殺或自傷行為、意外死亡、嚴重受傷,又或者是暴力事故及自然災害等。這類事件一般會削弱學校的穩定性,並且觸發學生、家長及學校人員的情緒。《學校危機處理 - 危機善後介入工作及心理支援》應用手冊,旨在協助學校在危機事件發生後,支援受影響的師生,為他們提供適切的介入和支援服務。應用手冊概述危機善後介入工作和心理支援的原則和流程,並介紹危機處理小組的架構、角色和功能;同時,於附錄中設有清單、新聞稿、家長信的範本及參考資料等。應用手冊可於以下連結下載: 

http://edb.gov.hk/attachment/tc/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/crisistc.pdf

 

處理創傷事件

為協助家長支援有特殊教育需要的孩子處理面對親友離世而帶來的困惑和哀傷情緒,教育局出版了「融情」第28期 -「親友離世︰如何協助有特殊教育需要的孩子處理哀傷情緒」,有關內容可參看以下連結:

http://edb.gov.hk/tc/edu-system/special/overview/newsletter/index.html

 

支援有精神健康問題的學生 

有精神健康問題的學生需要專業醫護人員(包括精神科醫生、臨床心理學家或醫務社工)的診治和跟進。學校的角色是在校內支援這些學生,以作出配合。有關學校在制定及提供有關支援措施時需留意的重點,可參考《學校如何幫助有精神健康問題的學生》指引,內容可於以下連結下載:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/tc/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/mentalhealthproblems-c.pdf

 

此外,《認識及幫助有精神病患的學生 – 教師資源手冊》就兒童及青少年的不同精神病患,為教師提供基本知識、教學原則和處理的方法,以便他們及早識別有需要的學生,並給予適切的支援和輔導。手冊可於以下連結下載以作參考:new

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/tc/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/Resource_Handbook_on_MI_Chi.pdf 

 

其他相關支援有精神健康問題學生的資料,可於以下連結下載

 

醫管局:葵涌醫院 ─ 精神健康教育資訊:

http://www.ha.org.hk/kch/chi/education/edu-index.html

 

醫管局:「思覺失調」服務計劃:

http://www3.ha.org.hk/easy/chi/index.html

 

醫管局:「思覺失調」服務中心的分區聯絡電話:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/tc/student-parents/crisis-management/about-crisis-management/EASY Centres-c.pdf

  

求助熱線及社區資源

由政府及非政府機構向公眾提供的求助熱線及資源可參看以下連結:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/tc/student-parents/crisis-management/helpline-community-resources/index.html  

 

有關防止學生自殺的資訊,可參考以下連結︰

香港大學香港賽馬會

    * 防止自殺研究中心

    * We Care 與你同行

 

「防止學生自殺委員會」最終報告

防止學生自殺委員會已完成最終報告,於2016年11月7日呈交教育局局長。最終報告進一步闡述了本地學生自殺個案的研究結果,並詳列了委員及各工作小組成員就「普及性」、「選擇性」及「針對性」三個支援層面所提出的多項建議措施。

 

最終報告final report 

頁首 返回