Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Special Education

 

 

Aim

The aim of special education in Hong Kong is to provide children having special educational needs (SEN) with education services to help them develop their potential to the full, achieve as much independence as they are capable of, and become well-adjusted individuals in the community. 

 

Under the prevailing policy, subject to the assessment and recommendation of the specialists and with parents’ consent,  children with more severe or multiple disabilities are placed in special schools for intensive support.  Other children with SEN will attend ordinary schools.

 

Scope of Work of the Education Bureau

The Education Bureau is responsible for the planning, development, monitoring and operation of all special education services.  It advises on organization, curricula, teaching strategies and school placement.  Relevant officers of the Bureau have received training in their specialized fields, and can provide professional advice in these fields to public-sector ordinary schools and special schools, non-governmental organizations and other government departments.

 

Services provided by the Education Bureau

The Education Bureau provides school-based support services for children suspected of having SEN such as hearing impairment, speech and language impairments, learning, emotional and/or behavioural difficulties, etc.  The Bureau runs two Special Education Services Centres, located in Kowloon Tong and Kwai Chung, offering support services.  The Special Education Resource Centre (SERC) located at the Kowloon Tong Education Services Centre also provides  multi-media facilities, softwares and cliparts for the production of teaching materials and aids by teachers.  Updated journals, magazines and books on special education as well as school-based teaching and learning packages are also available for teachers' reference.  Furthermore, the website of SERC provides information and teaching resources on special education for the general public.


Assessment services include psycho-educational assessment, assessment of social adjustment and attainment testing for students with learning, emotional and/or behavioural difficulties, speech and language assessment for children suspected with speech and language impairments.  The Education Bureau implements the early identification and intervention programme for primary one students in all public sector and Direct Subsidy Scheme schools.  The aim is for teachers to identify children with learning difficulties, and to provide timely support.

 

Support services include educational audiological services for children with hearing impairment, school-based speech therapy services for students with speech and language impairments, educational psychology service for students with learning, emotional and/or behavioural difficulties, school placement and advice and professional support to parents and teachers on how to manage children with disabilities.  The Education Bureau also provides hearing aids and earmould service for pre-school and school children with hearing impairment and advise them on the effective use of assistive listening systems in a learning environment.

 

The Education Bureau develops guidelines and resources packs for teachers to support education of students with SEN.  Leaflets for parents and the general public to promote the understanding of SEN are also published.

 

Special Schools (School List)

At present, there are 61 aided special schools in Hong Kong:

Category

Total No. of
Schools

(as at Sept 2017)

No. of Schools
with a
Boarding Section

School for Children with Visual Impairment 2 2
School for Children with Hearing Impairment 2 1
School for Children with Physical Disability 7 4
School for Social Development 8 7(1)
School for Children with Intellectual Disability 41 14
Hospital School(2) 1 -
 Total : 61 21+7
 
 (1)Residential serivces provided in schools for social development are subvented by the Social Welfare Department
 (2)The hospital school operates classes at 18 hospitals

 

All special schools receive subvention from the Education Bureau under the Code of Aid for Special Schools or Code of Aid for Aided Schools.  The Bureau also provides subsidy for paramedical, social work, nursing and residential care staff for these schools.  An annual block grant is made to the Hong Kong Society for the Blind for the operation of the Centralized Braille Production Centre which produces braille materials (including textbooks) for use by students with visual impairment.  

 

Class Size and Staffing Ratio in Special Schools

The class size of special schools ranges from 8 to 15 per class, depending on the types of children served.  The teacher-to-class ratio is 1.7 teachers per primary and junior secondary class, 1.9 teachers per senior secondary class for special schools for children with intellectual disability and 2 teachers per senior secondary class for special schools offering the ordinary curriculum.  Starting from the 2017/18 school year, the current teacher-to-class ratio for public sector primary and secondary schools (including special schools) will be increased by 0.1 across the board to provide additional teaching staff for schools to take forward various education initiatives and enhance the quality of education.  Besides, there are various types of additional teachers and specialists provided in these schools  to cater for the different SEN of the students.

 

Duration of Course in Special Schools

In general, the age of admission of children to a special school is 6 and they  are provided with free and universal basic education.  With the implementation of the New Academic Structure (NAS) from the 2009/10 school year, special schools also offer free senior secondary education for their students.

 

Fee

Starting from the 2008/09 school year, all primary and secondary classes  in special schools are free.  The School Textbook Assistance Scheme administered by the Student Financial Assistance Agency supports needy parents of children attending such classes.  There is a boarding fee for residential students and those needy students may apply for fee remission.

 

Curriculum

The Committee on Special Educational Needs under the Curriculum Development Council is responsible for formulating policy and overseeing curriculum development for students with SEN.  The curriculum for these students takes the same aims of the Hong Kong School Curriculum and aligns with the implementation of inclusive education to provide the students with the similar learning experiences as their counterparts and develop their potential to the full.  Related curriculum development work is executed by the Curriculum Development Institute.

 

On the principle of “One Curriculum Framework for All”, special schools in general adopt the Hong Kong School Curriculum framework and make reference to the Basic Education Curriculum Guide (BECG) and Secondary Education Curriculum Guide (SECG) to develop a school-based curriculum which is relevant to the learning capabilities and characteristics of students with SEN.  Also, effective learning and teaching strategies will be employed to cater for their diverse learning needs. 

 

Professional Support

Since the 2007/08 school year, the Education Bureau has been providing structured training courses pitched at three levels, i.e. basic, advanced and thematic (BAT Courses), for teachers of ordinary and special schools to enhance their professional capacity in catering for students with SEN.  Starting from the 2012/13 school year, the Bureau offers a training course on “education for students with severe or multiple disabilities” for special school teachers to meet their training needs.  From the 2017/18 school year onwards, the Bureau conducts the “Professional Development Programme for Mental Health” to enhance teachers’ capacity to identify and support students with mental health needs.  Apart from the above, the Bureau also organises seminars, workshops, experience sharing sessions, etc. on supporting students with SEN for principals, teachers and teaching assistants in special and ordinary schools.

 

In addition, the Education Bureau operates the School Partnership Scheme. Under the Scheme, for the 2017/18 and 2018/19 school years, there are 10 Special Schools cum Resource Centres (SSRC), 7 SSRC (Schools for Social Development) (SSRC(SSD)) and 14 Resource Schools on Whole School Approach (RS-WSA) which aim to empower ordinary schools in supporting students with SEN and to set up support network.  SSRC have proficient teaching experience and expertise in supporting students with SEN, particularly those with intellectual disability, physical disability, and emotional and behavioural difficulties.  They work in close collaboration with their partner schools in enabling knowledge/skill transfer and to set up support network, so as to build up ordinary schools’ confidence and strategies for supporting students with SEN.  SSRC(SSD) provide support for their leavers in their first year of returning to ordinary schools and for the ordinary schools concerned to facilitate the smooth integration of these students into the school life.  RS-WSA have proficient experience in adopting the WSA, they work in close collaboration with their partner schools and organize district-based sharing on their experience and strategies in the implementation of the WSA to integrated education in catering students diversity.

 

On the other hand, for students who exhibit more severe emotional, behavioural and adjustment difficulties, schools can refer those who have received school-based support but showing no significant improvement to attend the Adjustment Programmes organised by the Education Bureau, according to their individual support needs.  Through individual and group intervention, these students will learn suitable socio-adaptive and self-regulation skills and behaviours, hence facilitating their integration into learning environment in ordinary schools.

 

Other support for schools

  1. A Learning Support Grant (LSG) is provided for ordinary primary and secondary schools in the public sector to support students with SEN.  The provision of LSG is based on the number of students with SEN enrolled and the tier of support required.  School could flexibily and strategically deploy the LSG, and also pool together various school resources to support students with SEN.  Starting from 2017/18 school year, the LSG also covers students with mental illness, with a view to providing schools with additional resources to better cater for the learning, social, emotional and behavioural needs of these students at the indicated level.
     
  2. Starting from the 2017/18 school year, the Education Bureau will, by phases in three years, provide each public sector ordinary primary and secondary school with an additional teaching post in the teaching staff establishment (i.e. an Assistant Primary School Master/Mistress in primary schools or a Graduate Master/Mistress in secondary schools) to facilitate school’s assignment of a designated teacher to take up the role of Special Educational Needs Coordinator to support integrated education.
     
  3. An Enhanced Speech Therapy Grant (ESTG) is provided to ordinary public-sector primary schools to further enhance the service provision and support for students with speech and language impairments.  With the ESTG, appropriate and timely school-based support will be provided to students with speech and language impairments so that their language difficulty will not develop into a persistent disability that hinders learning.
     
  4. School-based Educational Psychology Service (SBEPS) is provided for public sector ordinary primary and secondary schools. SBEPS is provided through regular school visits and aims at supporting school development to cater for students’ diverse educational needs at the school system, teacher and student levels.
     
  5. The Education Bureau actively promotes professional development and collaboration among special schools to assist the schools in enhancing the effectiveness of learning and teaching.
 
Education Bureau
September 2017
Download PDF Version
 

 

 

Last revision date: 15 November 2017
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要内容 跳至搜寻
列印本文

特殊教育便览

 

目的

香港特殊教育的目的,是为有特殊教育需要的儿童提供适当的教育,以帮助他们充分发展潜能,使他们成为社会上一个独立而有适应能力的人。

 

按现行政策,教育局会根据专业人士的评估和建议,在家长的同意下,转介有较严重或多重残疾的学童入读特殊学校,以便接受加强支援,而其他有特殊教育需要的学童则会入读普通学校。

 

教育局的工作范畴

教育局负责各项特殊教育服务的策划、发展、监察和运作,并在组织、课程、教学策略以及学位安排上提供意见。教育局有关人员曾接受各类特殊教育训练,可为公营的普通学校和特殊学校、非政府机构及政府其他部门提供专业意见。

 

教育局提供的服务

教育局会为有特殊教育需要的儿童,例如听力、言语、学习、情绪及/或行为上有障碍的儿童提供校本支援服务。教育局设有两所特殊教育服务中心,分别位于九龙塘及葵涌,提供支援服务。位于九龙塘教育服务中心内的特殊教育资源中心,购置有多媒体器材、电脑软件及各类素材,供教师制作教材和教具。中心亦选购和订阅了不少与特殊教育有关的图书及期刊,并搜集了校本教学资源套以供教师参考。此外,特殊教育资源中心的网页亦提供特殊教育资讯和教学资源让公众人士浏览。


评估服务包括为有学习、情绪及/或行为困难的学生提供教育心理、社群适应及学习能力的评估,以及为怀疑有言语障碍的学童提供言语评估。此外,教育局在全港公营及直接资助计划学校推行及早识别和辅导有学习困难的小一学生计划,帮助教师识别有学习困难的学生,使他们能及早为这些学生提供支援。

 

支援服务包括为有听力障碍的儿童提供的教育听觉服务,为有言语障碍的学生提供的校本言语治疗支援服务,为有学习、情绪及/或行为困难的学生提供的教育心理服务,安排学位及就如何教导残疾学生向家长和教师提供意见及专业支援。教育局为听障学前儿童和学生提供助听器和耳模服务,向他们建议如何在学习环境中有效地使用助听系统。


教育局编制了不同指引及资源套,协助教师支援有特殊教育需要的学生,亦印备各样单张,提升家长及公众人士对特殊教育需要的认识。

 

特殊学校 (特殊学校名单)

现时本港有61所资助特殊学校:

学校类别

学校数目
(以2017年9月计算)

当中附设有宿舍部
学校数目

视障儿童学校 2 2
听障儿童学校 2 1
肢体伤残儿童学校 7 4
群育学校 8 7(1)
智障儿童学校 41 14
医院学校(2) 1 -
 总数 : 61 21+7
 
 (1)设于群育学校的院舍服务由社会福利署负责提供津贴
 (2)该所医院学校在18所医院开设辅导班

 

所有特殊学校均由教育局根据特殊学校资助则例或资助学校资助则例提供资助。教育局亦为这些学校的医疗辅助人员、社会工作人员、护理人员及宿舍部人员提供资助。此外,教育局每年亦有拨款以资助由香港盲人辅导会经办的中央点字制作中心,为视障学童提供点字读物(包括学校课本)。

 

特殊学校的每班人数及教师与班级的比例

特殊学校的每班学生人数,介乎8至15人,视乎学校的类别而定。就教师与班级比例,特殊学校的小学及初中每班1.7名教师,为智障学童而设的特殊学校高中每班1.9名教师,及提供普通课程的特殊学校高中则每班2名教师。由2017/18学年起,公营中、小学(包括特殊学校)的教师与班级比例划一增加0.1,为学校提供额外的教师人手,推展各项教育措施,提升教育质素。此外,这些学校还聘有各类额外教师和专责人员,以配合学生不同的特殊教育需要。

 

特殊学校修业期

特殊学校学生的入学年龄一般为六岁,他们会接受免费普及基础教育。随着新学制在2009/10学年开始实施,特殊学校亦为学生提供免费高中教育。

 

学费及宿费

自2008/09学年起,所有特殊学校的小学及中学班级均属免费。政府为经济有需要的家长提供学校书簿津贴。寄宿部需收取宿费,但有经济困难的宿生可申请减免。


课程

课程发展议会辖下的特殊教育需要委员会,专责制订政策及监察为有特殊教育需要的学生而发展的课程路向。为有特殊教育需要学生而设计的课程应能达致香港学校课程的目标,并配合融合教育的推行,让这些学生获得类似一般学生所得的学习经验和充分发展潜能。课程发展处负责推行有关课程发展工作。


基于「同一课程架构」的原则,特殊学校一般是依循香港学校课程的架构,并参考基础教育课程指引及中学教育课程指引,发展一套切合学生学习能力和特性的校本课程,及采用有效的学与教策略以照顾学生多元化的学习需要。

 

专业支援

由2007/08学年起,教育局为普通学校及特殊学校教师提供有系统的培训课程,即基础、高级及专题课程(「三层课程」),以提升教师照顾有特殊教育需要学生的专业能力。由2012/13学年起,教育局亦为特殊学校教师开办以「有严重或多重残疾学童的教育」为主题的培训课程,以配合他们的培训需要。由2017/18学年起,教育局为教师安排「精神健康的专业发展课程」,以加强教师识别和支援有精神健康需要的学生。此外,教育局亦为特殊学校和普通学校的校长、教师及教学助理举办关于支援有特殊教育需要学生的研讨会、工作坊和经验分享会等。

 

教育局又推行「学校伙伴计划」,在2017/18至2018/19学年,共有10所特殊学校暨资源中心(资源中心)、7所资源中心(群育学校)及14所「全校参与」模式资源学校(资源学校),为普通学校提供支援和建立支援网络。资源中心在支援有特殊教育需要的学生方面拥有丰富的教学经验和专业知识,特别是在照顾智障、肢体伤残和情绪及行为问题的学生方面,他们会与伙伴学校紧密协作,建立支援网络及传授有关的知识/技巧,从而建立学校信心,并掌握支援有特殊教育需要学生的方法。资源中心(群育学校)会为其重返普通学校第一年的离校生及相关的普通学校提供支援,以协助这些学生顺利并持续融入学校生活。资源学校在采用全校参与模式方面拥有丰富的经验,与伙伴学校紧密合作及举办区域性的分享会,就实施全校参与模式以照顾个别学生差异方面分享经验及策略。


另一方面,对于一些有较严重情绪、行为及适应困难的学生,如在接受校本支援后仍未有显着的改善,学校可按个别学生的支援需要,转介他们到教育局接受匡导服务。透过个别及小组形式辅导,帮助学生掌握恰当的社适和自我调节技巧及行为,协助他们融入普通学校的学习环境。

 

为学校提供的其他支援

1. 教育局为普通公营小学及中学提供学习支援津贴。学习支援津贴拨款是以每所学校有特殊教育需要的学生数目和所需的支援层级为计算基础,学校可灵活而有策略地调配这项津贴,并结合其他校本资源照顾有特殊教育需要的学生。由2017/18学年起,学习支援津贴已涵盖有精神病患的学生,以便学校有额外资源,针对性地加强照顾这些学生在学习、社交、情绪和行为上的需要,帮助他们克服属过渡性质的困难。

2. 由2017/18学年起,教育局在三年内分阶段于每一所公营普通中、小学增设一名编制内的学位教席(即中学的学位教师或小学的助理小学学位教师),以便学校安排一名专责教师担任特殊教育需要统筹主任,支援融合教育。

3. 为进一步加强为有言语障碍的学生提供的支援,教育局向普通公营小学发放「加强言语治疗津贴」,让学校尽早为有关学生提供适切的校本言语治疗服务,避免其言语障碍发展成永久性的学习障碍。

4. 教育局为公营普通小学及中学提供「校本教育心理服务」。此项服务旨在透过定期访校模式,从学校系统、教师及学生三个层面支援学校照顾学生的不同学习需要。

5. 教育局积极推动特殊学校的专业发展和协作,协助特殊学校提升学与教的效能。

 

教育局
二零一七年九月

下载PDF列印版本

 

 

 

 

 

阁下可点击 PDF 下载 Adobe Reader, 以开启 PDF 文件。

 

 

 

 

修订日期: 2017年11月15日
IPv6 电脑器材可浏览本网站遵守2A级无障碍图示,万维网联盟(W3C)- 无障碍网页倡议(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本标示语言(HTML)4.01严格版