Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

PEVS background and concept

 

 
 
Reference:
Discussion papers of Panel on Education of the Legislative Council on the future development of pre-primary education and the details on how to implement the voucher scheme.PDF PDF
 
Discussion paper of Finance Committee of the Legislative Council for funding approval to implement the voucher scheme. PDF
 
    The Chief Executive announced in his Policy Address a series of forward-looking new initiatives for pre-primary education in October 2006. Our vision is for all children aged from 3 to 6 to receive quality and affordable pre-primary education so that parents, students, teachers, kindergarten operators and the whole community will benefit from it.

 

   
As a new initiative, a Pre-Primary Education Voucher Scheme has been introduced to provide direct subsidy to parents from the 2007/08 school year onwards, with the voucher value amounting to $13,000 which will be increased progressively to $16,000 by the 2011/12 school year.
   
The voucher value includes subsidies for school fees and teacher professional development. The amount of voucher value dedicated to school fees and teacher professional development was $10,000 and $3,000 respectively in the 2007/08 school year, and $11,000 and $3,000 respectively in the 2008/09 school year per eligible pupil per annum. For the 2009/10 school year, $12,000 and $2,000 per eligible pupil per annum is dedicated to school fees and teacher professional development, respectively.
   
Children aged from 3 to 6 studying in nursery, lower and upper classes of a local non-profit-making(NPM) KG that charges fees not more than $24,000 per student per annum (or $48,000 per annum for whole day class) will be eligible for fee subsidy under the voucher system.
   
To address parents'  concerns, EDB has arranged a transition period of three years for the voucher scheme. Starting from the 2007/08 school year until the end of the 2009/10 school year, parents whose children are enrolled in eligible private independent (PI) KGs will be eligible to receive fee subsidy.
   
PI KGs are eligible to redeem the vouchers only when they satisfy all the prescribed requirements of eligible NPM KGs including the degree of transparency.
   
Upon full implementation in the 2011/12 school year, we anticipate that more than 80% of KGs will join the scheme while 90% of local students aged from 3 to 6 will receive fee subsidy and families of various classes will benefit from the voucher scheme.
   
   
Apart from giving direct subsidy to parents, we will continue to support KG principals and teachers to enhance their professional competency. We expect to upgrade all KG principals' and teachers' qualification to degree and certificate level respectively.
   
As from 2007/08 to 2010/11 school year, part of the voucher value will be dedicated to staff professional development. By the 2010/11 school year, all voucher value will be spent on subsidising school fees.
   
   
We will continue to publish the KG Profile to increase the transparency of schools and provide parents with the necessary information on curriculum to facilitate their choice of an appropriate KG.
   
KGs will undergo quality assurance full inspection to enhance teaching efficacy. With KGs’ own flexibility in operating the school and the effective quality assurance mechanism, we are confident that the quality of pre-primary education will further be enhanced.
   
   
In the 2006/07 school year, we have allocated a one-off grant for KGs to procure teaching aids, computers, books and other teaching resources so as to create an inspiring learning environment for students.
   
   
A review will be conducted in the 2011/12 school year i.e. five years after the implementation to map out the procedures and way forward for continuous development.
   

 

Last revision date: 04 August 2009
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

學前教育新里程:背景和理念

 

 
 
參考文件
立法會教育事務委員會討論文件,有關香港學前教育未來發展的理想及相關的實施細節。PDFPDF
 
立法會財務委員會討論文件,有關申請撥款,以實施學前教育新措施。PDF
 
    行政長官於2006年10月發表的施政報告為學前教育提出前瞻性的發展方向。我們的遠景是為所有3至6歲適齡學童提供優質而收費合理的學前教育,讓家長、學童、幼師及幼稚園營辦者,以至整個社會皆因此得益。

 

   
新資助措施乃以學券的嶄新形式直接資助家長,由2007/08學年起,學券的面值為$13,000,並會逐年遞增至2011/12學年的$16,000。
   
學券所包含的面值同時為家長提供學費資助及支援教師專業發展。在2007/08學年,每名學童每年的學費資助額及教師專業發展資助額分別為$10,000及$3,000;在2008/09學年,每名學童每年的學費資助額將會增至$11,000,教師專業發展資助額則同樣為$3,000。在2009/10學年,每名學童每年的學費資助額及教師專業發展資助額分別為$12,000及$2,000。
   
在學前教育學券計劃下所有適齡學童就讀於本地非牟利幼稚園的幼兒班、低班或高班,而學費不超過每年$24,000 (全日班級計算則為$48,000),都可享有學費資助。
   
為顧及家長的顧慮,教育局就學券計劃設立了三年的過渡安排,讓有子女於2007/08年就讀合資格私立獨立幼稚園的家長可以使用學券以獲得學費資助,直至2009/10學年完結為止。
   
私立獨立幼稚園須符合所有合資格兌現學券的非牟利幼稚園所須遵守的既定條件,包括透明度,才合資格兌現學券。
   
至2011/2012學年,當政策全面實施時,估計將有逾百分之八十的幼稚園參與計劃;而全港百分之九十的三至六歲學童亦可獲學費資助,惠及多個階層的家庭。
   
   
除了向家長提供直接的資助外,我們亦會繼續支持校長及教師提升資歷,我們期望所有教師及校長都會分別達至教育證書及學位水平。
   
由2007/08至2010/11學年,學券的部分面值會用作支援校長及教師發展專業。到2011/2012學年,學券的全數面值會用於學費資助。
   
   
我們會繼續出版幼稚園概覽,增加學校的透明度,為家長提供各項所需的資料及課程的概況,以協助他們作出明智的選擇,選取最適合的幼稚園。
   
幼稚園會接受全面的質素保證視學,以提升教學效能。學前教育機構一向有其靈活的辦學模式,配合有效的質素保證機制,我們預見學前教育的質素定能提升。
   
   
在2006/07學年,我們已為所有幼稚園提供一筆過撥款,讓學校購買教學用品、電腦、圖書或其他的學習配套,以增加幼稚園學童享受啟發性學習的機會。
   
   
有關新措施將於計畫推出五年後,即2011/2012年進行全面的檢討,以決定持續發展的步驟及方向。
   

 

修訂日期: 2009年8月04日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版