Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Programme Highlights on Primary Education

 

The Government aims to raise the quality of primary school education:

 

 

  • by implementing whole-day primary schooling

The Government aims to enable all primary school students to enjoy whole-day schooling. Except a few schools, nearly all government and aided primary schools have been converted into whole-day operation or have had agreed plans for whole-day conversion.  The Government would adopt a pragmatic and flexible approach in working out with these few bi-sessional schools on an agreed whole-day conversion plan.  More details are available on the webpage of Major Initiatives - Whole-day Primary Schooling.

 

  • by implementing small class teaching (SCT) in public sector primary schools

The Chief Executive has announced in the 2007-08 Policy Address that the Government will, where circumstances permit, implement SCT in public sector schools by phases, starting from Primary 1 in the 2009/10 school year and extending progressively to cover Primary 1 to Primary 6 by the 2014/15 school year.  The Government has been pragmatic and flexible with the implementation, taking into account of practical circumstances as well as the wishes and needs of schools, parents and students. More details are available on the webpage of Small Class Teaching.

 

  • by promoting the use of information technology (IT) in teaching and learning

The Government launched the first and second IT in Education Strategies in 1998 and 2004 respectively, focusing on the enhancement of IT infrastructure and empowering learning and teaching with IT.

 

To meet the changing needs of schools, teachers and students as their capacity of using IT in learning and teaching develops, the third IT in education strategy was launched in 2008. The new strategy, entitled “Right Technology at the Right Time for the Right Task”, aims to reduce the burden on teachers in integrating IT into their core activities from lesson planning to assessment of students, continue to sharpen teachers' IT pedagogical skills, equip teachers with the skills to nurture students’ information literacy, generate a favourable IT environment at the school level, and equip parents with the skills to guide their children to use IT to learn at home.

 

More details are available on the webpage of the IT in Education.

 

  • by implementing curriculum reform in schools

In line with the aims of education, the Curriculum Development Council had set out the directions and implementation strategies of the curriculum reform which was launched in 2001. By now, the reform is in the medium-term phase of development.  More details are available on the webpage of Curriculum Development.

 

  • by enhancing the biliterate and trilingual abilities of students

We have been implementing various measures by phases, these include -

 

extending the Chinese and English Extensive Reading Schemes gradually to cover Primary 1 to Secondary 5 since 1997;

the Chinese and English Writing Packages were published and issued to schools in the 2000/01 s.y.;

providing Native-speaking English Teachers to enhance the learning and teaching of English in public sector primary and secondary schools;

providing additional teaching posts to all eligible aided primary ordinary schools since the 2001/02 s.y. to strengthen library services and to support the extension of Chinese and English Extensive Reading Schemes;

upgrading a post to senior teacher rank in each public sector primary school with 6 or more classes to provide curriculum leadership in the teaching of English to improve coordination, planning and methodology;

setting up a Language Corner in the Central Resources Centre established in 2006 to provide resources on the Chinese Language Education KLA and English Language Education KLA for teachers’ reference;

implementing the Putonghua curriculum as a core subject at both primary and secondary levels since the 1998/99 s.y..

 

To enhance the biliterate and trilingual abilities of students, $5 billion was injected to the Language Fund in 2014.

 

  • by improving the learning environment

School premises completed in recent years, some 40% bigger than the standard designs of 1995 in terms of total floor areas, provide more facilities and open space to meet the latest requirements for effective learning and teaching.  Most of them are individually designed by architects in the market, taking into consideration their physical locations and the educational visions of the school sponsoring bodies.

 

  • by providing education services for newly arrived children and young people from the Mainland

We are closely monitoring the admission of children and young people from the Mainland to ensure that there are adequate school places and support services to cater for their educational needs. In parallel, we have been providing the following support services for children and young people from the Mainland to help them integrate into the local school system as soon as possible -

 

school placement assistance

Induction Programme

School-based Support Scheme

Initiation Programme

 

 

More details are available on the webpage on Education and Support Services for Newly Arrived Children.

 

 

 

Last revision date: 19 March 2012
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

小學教育工作重點

 

政府致力透過下列措施,提高學的教育質素:

 

  • 推行小學全日制

政府的目標是全面推行小學全日制,讓所有小學生都能夠享受全日制學校教育。除了幾所學校外,現時差不多所有政府及資助小學均已轉為全日制授課,或已就轉全日制計劃達成協議。政府會採用務實而又具彈性的方法,這幾所學校擬訂轉全日制學校的計劃。有關詳情請瀏覽重點措施 - 小學全日制網頁。

 

  • 公營小學實施小班教學

行政長官在2007-08年的施政報告中公佈,政府將由2009/10學年起,在條件許可的情況下,於公營小學的小一班級開始,分階段實施小班教學,並會逐年推展至2014/15學年,涵蓋小一至小六所有班級。在推行小班教學時,政府採取務實而靈活的方式,考慮實際情況,以及學校、家長和學生的意願和需要。有關詳情請瀏覽小班教學網頁。

 

  • 推廣資訊科技教育

政府分別在19982004年制定了第一及第二個資訊科技教育策略,策略重點在於提升學校資訊科技教育所需的設施及把資訊科技融入學與教中。

 

隨着教師和學生使用資訊科技進行學與教的能力不斷提升,政府為切合學校、教師和學生與時並進的需要,於2008年開展了以「適時適用科技  學教效能兼備」為題的第三個資訊科技教育策略。策略的目的在減輕教師從課堂規劃以至學生評核等核心活動中融入資訊科技的工作量;繼續提升教師運用資訊科技教學的技巧;加強教師培養學生資訊素養的能力;在學校層面營造一個理想的資訊科技環境,以及為家長裝備所需的能力以指導子女在家中使用資訊科技學習。

 

有關詳情,可參閱資訊科技教育網頁

 

  • 推行學校課程改革

課程發展議會已就教育目標訂定於2001年正式推行的課程改革的課程發展路向和推行策略。現時,學校課程改革已進入中期發展階段。有關詳情請瀏覽課程發展網頁。

 

  • 提高中小學學生的兩文三語能力

我們一直分階段實施各項措施包括:

 

   1997年開始逐步擴展中文及英文廣泛閱讀計劃,現已涵蓋小一至中五各級;

   2000/01學年,出版中文及英文寫作教材套,並派發給全港學校;

   提供以英語為母語的英語教師,以改善政府及資助中小學的英語學與教;

   2001/02學年起,向所有符合條件的資助普通小學提供額外教席,以加強圖書館服務,以及協助推行中文及英文廣泛閱讀計劃;

   提升各開辦6班或以上的政府及資助小學的一個教席至主任級,提供課程領導,以加強英文課程的統籌、策劃及教學法;

   2006年成立的中央資源中心設有語文角,提供中國語文教育學習領域和英國語文教育學習領域的資源,供教師參考)

   1998/99學年開始,普通話成為中、小學的核心課程。

 

我們在2014年向語文基金注資50億元,以提高中小學學生的兩文三語能力。

 

  • 改善學習環境

近年落成新校舍的樓面總面積較1995年的標準校舍增加了約40%,提供更多設施和更充足的活動空間,以配合最新的教學要求,並大多聘用市場的建築師因應地理環境和辦學團體的辦學理念而獨立設計。

 

  • 為從內地新來港定居的兒童及青少年提供的教育服務

我們正密切留意兒童及青少年從內地來港的情況,以確保有足夠學額及支援服務配合他們對教育的需求。同時,我們會繼續為這些兒童及青少年提供支援服務,以協助他們盡快融入本港的學校制度。這些服務包括-

 

   協助他們入學

   適應課程

   校本支援計劃

   啟動課程

 

有關詳情,可參閱新來港兒童教育及支援服務的網頁。

 

 

 

修訂日期: 2012年3月19日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版