Publicly-funded Programmes

At present, we provide 15 000 first-year-first-degree (FYFD) places through the eight universities funded by the University Grants Committee (UGC).  Starting from the 2018/19 academic year, the UGC-funded universities provide around 5 000 senior year undergraduate intake places for graduates of sub-degree programmes and students with other relevant qualifications. 



The UGC is a non-statutory advisory body appointed by the Chief Executive to advise on the development and funding of higher education and to administer public grants to the eight universities.  It also plays a major role in quality assurance and in promoting research.  It comprises local and non-local academics, professionals and community leaders.  



The City University of Hong Kong (CityU), The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK), The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), the Vocational Training Council and The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts also provide a number of publicly-funded sub-degree programmes.






Institutions have autonomy in admission of students. Prospective students may browse the websites of the institutions for information on academic programmes and admission matters. 


For students with Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) Examination results, the Joint University Programmes Admission System (JUPAS) established and managed by member institutions is the main route of application to apply for admission to publicly-funded degree and selected sub-degree programmes offered by the eight UGC-funded universities as well as the full-time self-financed bachelor degree programmes offered by the Open University of Hong Kong.   



Financial Assistance 


The Student Financial Office (SFO) administers various student financial assistance schemes to ensure that no qualified students will be denied access to tertiary education because of a lack of financial means.  In the 2017/18 academic year, a total of $1,762 million in grants and $3,138 million in means-tested and non-means-tested loans were provided to eligible students studying in publicly-funded and self-financing post-secondary institutions under the relevant schemes..    






The HKSAR Government Scholarship Fund provides scholarships to outstanding local and non-local students.  Established in 2008, it is one of the measures to further develop Hong Kong as a regional educational hub.




top back