Liability of Manager and Protection

 

 *
 
A manager shall not incur any civil liability in respect of anything done or omitted to be done by him in good faith in the performance or purported performance of any function of his office as the manager

 

 
 *
 
No proceedings shall be brought against a manager of a school for anything done or omitted to be done by the IMC unless he has not acted in good faith.  The general proceedings towards a school will be brought against the IMC instead of an individual manager
   
 *
 
Unless with the consent or connivance of an individual manager towards the unlawful behavior, an individual manager is not held liable to the contravention of Education Ordinance by the IMC
   
 *

An alternate manager shall not only because of his being a manager incur any liability for an act done pursuant to a voting of the IMC in which he has not participated by virtue of relevant provisions of the Ordinance

 

 

Related Provisions:

 

 

 

Question:            
Under what circumstances shall a school manager of an IMC incur individual liability?
  Answer:
In the case of civil liability, the Ordinance provides that if a manager acts honestly, in good faith and without any malice, intention to deceive or undesirable motive, he/she cannot be made a defendant in a lawsuit.  As to criminal liability, if a manager of an IMC specifically consents to or connives at any irregularity in school operation in contravention of the Ordinance, he/she may be made liability personally.  For instance, if a manager discovers an irregularity in school operation and writes to the school head or IMC for rectification, then he/she is not required to bear any liability.  It is worthwhile to note that the burden of proof is on the prosecution instead of the manager in such proceedings.  In a criminal proceeding, the standard of proof on the prosecution is even more stringent.  Hence, the risk of a school manager incurring liability is very slim if he/she acts in good faith.

 

 

Question:            
If a school manager signs an agreement on behalf of IMC in his/her personal capacity and later gets involved in a dispute connected with the agreement, will other school managers who are not in the know be made liable?
  Answer:
If a manger personally signs an agreement on behalf of IMC and later gets involved in a dispute, the IMC may be liable for any liability related to the agreement but not the managers individually.  To avoid any confusion regarding the powers and liabilities of a manager, the IMC should first decide which manager is given the authority to sign an agreement on behalf of the IMC or how many managers are required to acknowledge a signed agreement for it to be effective.  If the school sponsoring body has already issued the relevant financial guidelines, the IMC should observe them.

 

 

Question:            
What should a school manager do when he/she is personally involved in a civil proceeding?
  Answer:
An IMC is a body corporate capable of incurring liability arising from any act done in its name.  A school manager acts in good faith will not be incurred any liability in a civil proceeding for any action and inaction in relation to discharge of any function of his/her office as a manager.  School should notify the insurance company as soon as possible if a manager is involved in any prosecution or claims.

 

 

Question:            
All school managers serve on a voluntary basis.  They are worried that they will have to bear greater liabilities once an IMC is set up.  What liabilities a school manager of an IMC is subject to under the Ordinance?
  Answer:
Presently, a school management committee does not have the status of a body corporate.  It is only a group of school managers.  The legal rights and liabilities of a school management committee are also the legal rights and liabilities commonly shared by individual school managers.  Though the Block Insurance Policy taken out by the Education Bureau on behalf of school covers some commonly known claims, individual school managers are still subject to the risk of getting involved in litigation.  After the establishment of an IMC under the Ordinance, the school management committee will be in the form of a statutory body and becomes an independent body corporate with legal rights and liabilities of its own.  Hence, school managers will not be made liable personally for any claim in relation to school operation.  It is stated in the Ordinance that unless a manager fails to act in good faith, he/she will not be liable and indeed shall not be made subject of any prosecution in relation to any action involved in school management.

 

 

 

 

 

top back

校董的法律责任及保障

 

 * 校董不得就他真诚地执行或本意是执行其校董职位的任何职能而作出或不作出的任何事情招致任何民事法律责任
   
 * 除非校董没有真诚行事,否则不得就任何法团校董会作出或不作出的事情,而针对该校董提出民事法律程序。故此一般对学校的诉讼,会向法团校董会提出,不会向个别校董提出
   
 * 除非个别校董对违例行为明确表示同意或采取纵容态度,否则个别校董无需为法团校董会违反《教育条例》的有关条文而负上个人刑事法律责任
   
 * 替代校董无须仅因他是校董,而就依据他凭借《教育条例》的有关条文而没有参与的法团校董会的一项投票所作出的作为招致任何法律责任

 

 

相关条文:

 

 

 

问:            
在什么情况下,法团校董会校董须负上个人法律责任?
  答:
民事责任方面,条例规定,若校董处事公正,真诚行事,并无恶意、欺诈意图及不良动机,在诉讼中是不可以被列为被告的。刑事责任方面,如果法团校董会某校董对于学校运作中存在违例的情况,明确表示同意,或采取纵容的态度,而不加以阻止,则他可能要负上个人法律责任。举例说,若某校董发现学校出现违例的情况,并已去信校长或法团校董会,要求作出更正,这样他便不须负上任何法律责任。值得注意的是,在有关的诉讼之中,举证的责任在于控方,而不在于校董。刑事检控中,控方的举证标准更是严格,故此真诚行事的校董招致法律责任的风险极微。

 

 

问:            
如校董以个人身分代表法团校董会签约,其后发生合约纠纷,而其他校董并不知情,其他校董是否须要负上法律责任?
  答:
如校董代表法团校董会签订合约,其后发生纠纷,法团校董会可能要负上有关责任,但校董并不须要负上个人责任。要避免权责不清,法团校董会应事先决定将签订合约的权力授予哪位校董,或由多少位校董确认签署的合约方为有效。如办学团体发出相关的财务指引,法团校董会亦应遵守。

 

 

问:            
如校董面对个别民事起诉,应如何处理?
  答:
由于法团校董会是个法人团体,它要承担以其本身名义作出的行为所引致的法律责任,而个别校董只要真诚行事,就不会因执行其职能而作出或不作出任何事情而招致任何民事法律责任。如被起诉或索偿,学校须尽快通知保险公司。

 

 

问:            
所有校董均属义务工作,他们担心成立法团校董会后,须承担更大的法律责任。在条例下,法团校董会校董须承担什么法律责任?
  答:
现时的校董会并不具有法人地位,本质上只是各校董的一个组合,校董会所享有的法律权利和所负的法律责任,是由各校董共同享有或负起的。虽然教育局为学校投购的「综合保险计划」能涵盖常见的索偿,但毕竟个别校董仍须面对卷入诉讼的风险。学校根据条例成立法团校董会,将学校的校董会改为以法定团体的形式设立,成为一个独立的法人团体,使法团校董会能够以本身的名义享有法律权利或承担法律责任。故此,校董无需为校务负上个人的法律责任。条例订明,除非个别校董在引致诉讼的事宜上「没有真诚行事」,否则他不单不用负上法律责任,甚至不得为有关事务及作为遭民事起诉。

 

 

 

页首 返回