Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

FAQ about Life-wide Learning

1. Do schools have to do LWL?

No, schools do not have to do LWL but most schools have been doing LWL activities for a very long time, maybe in different names and to different extent. LWL is not a new thing, but instead, it offers a new definition for all out-of-classroom or out of school learning opportunities, by focusing on learning and by linking up with the school curriculum. The over-arching notion covers a wide range of learning activities, such as extra-curricular activities, co-curricular activities, community service programmes, career-related experience and museum visits. Schools should cautiously implement LWL in accordance with their own capacities: Remember, this is something optional but beneficial to our students!

 

2. Our school's timetable is already very packed. How can we find time and resources to run LWL activities?

The hint is to start with the existing activities that works, and try to organize new programmes in accordance with the resources available (e.g. expertise, time and organizational links). The quality of experience that offered to our students is more important than the quantity of LWL activities.

 

3. What benefits could LWL contribute to raising achievement and classroom learning?

It depends on the type of LWL. Some LWL activities have direct impact to classroom learning (e.g. museum learning, thinking skills courses) and some activities aim to help students to learn better in classroom in indirectly, such as attitudes towards working with peers, building self-worth and confidence (e.g. community service, career-related experience). According to research findings from other countries (e.g. United Kingdom and USA), LWL itself motivates students to learn more effectively and adopting better attitudes towards learning. After all, the benefits of LWL are not confined to helping students to learn better at schools but to develop students multiple potentials and to enable students to be life-long learners.

 

4. Are there any examples, both local and international, for my school to learn about running LWL programmes?

Yes, 'learning beyond the classroom' has been emphasized in a number of countries (UK, USA, China, Taiwan and Singapore). All of them have different aims, emphasis, and approaches (and certainly weaknesses). The LWL Section will try our best to include some examples in the web site (http://www.edb.gov.hk/cd/lwl) for teachers to make reference.

 

5. Does LWL equivalent to extra-curricular activities (ECA)?

No, LWL is not equivalent to ECA but in principle, extra-curricular activities are forms of LWL that generally refers to a wide range of out-of-lesson activities. Traditionally, these activities serve weak links with the school curriculum and were regarded as less important. However, under the new framework of LWL, most ECA could be included in school curriculum.

 

6. In my opinion, LWL is too wide. Does my school need to cover all five experiences while planning LWL programme?

The overall policy of LWL is deliberately wide to broaden the existing curriculum and the learning contexts in this rapid-changing society. However, this does not imply that schools have to cover all five learning experiences (or all skills and values) in their LWL programme. Instead, schools should holistically devise a LWL strategy to identify particular areas that links with overall school development, traditions and student needs. The principle is to aim for quality of learning and connectedness with curriculum.

 

7. Who should be the best person to co-ordinate LWL in our school? Curriculum co-ordinator? ECA Master? Deputy Head? Head of department? …

LWL is a whole school business. Generally, it should be the person, who also holds the overall responsibility of curriculum planning. Some schools assigned their ECA Masters to lead the planning.

 

8. Our school has a long tradition of running extra-curricular activities, such as chess clubs and museum trips. I cannot see the idea of LWL could have any new impact to the current provision.

The idea of LWL aims to help schools to plan more holistically, in terms of students' whole-person development. Therefore, it does not really matter how we named these activities as long as they made a consistent, demonstrable impact on students' learning and personal development. Since there are many ways in achieving the aim - whole person development, schools are invited to share their successful cases or best practices related to LWL. (Our e-mail: lwl@edb.gov.hk )

 

9. How to assess students' learning in LWL activities?

The question takes the assumption that we should assess all students in LWL activities. In actual fact, the crucial question we should ask is for what we assess. Assessment in LWL should aim for promote ownership of students' own learning. Strategies such as self-assessment, portfolio assessment, diaries/ student logs are all recommended, depending on the nature of activities. Any assessment tools that could empower students to evaluate the whole learning process freely with their teachers (rather than just self-assessing their own learning) have a unique impact to student learning.

 

10. How can school ensure the quality of learning while some LWL activities are normally conducted by non-teachers (e.g. museum staff, professionals)?

Preparation is essential for all teachers who organize LWL activities, such as trips and field learning. Relevant information should be obtained from various sources (including LWL Databank, people comments, web-sites) at a very early stage. Teachers are also encouraged to arrange a pre-visit to the site and to meet key people before the activity. It is proved to be a good strategy to make sure we know the place and people well in advance so that suitable arrangements could be incorporated in the programme. For example, a teacher may found that the worksheet provided by a museum is not appropriate to her students. The teacher decided to take initiative to re-design the learning materials.

 

11. Would LWL increase teachers’workload?

Life-wide Learning (LWL) is a strategy that aims to move student learning beyond the classroom into other learning contexts. It requires teachers making good use of resources and settings available at their schools and in the communities, in order to create suitable learning contexts for particular educational purposes. Such experiential learning enables students to achieve certain learning goals that are more difficult to attain through classroom learning alone. However, LWL works best particularly in raising students’ motivation and deepening their understanding of what is learnt in the classroom. It is definitely not 'all-powerful'. Its success rests mainly on how much schools/ teachers and students understand the purposes and the meaning of each activity: 'Why do we learn it this way?'. It is definitely not quantity but quality that matters, i.e. teachers need to ensure that the experience is aligned with the aim being pursued, and that the students reflect on what has occurred and learn from it.

 

12. Is LWL an add-on in the school curriculum?

Life-wide Learning complements KLAs and four Key Task. Life-wide learning is not an ‘add on’or a combination of unconnected activities. To ensure that life-wide learning is conducive to the long-term personal development of students during schooling, it is necessary for schools to develop a system to facilitate it, to plan in accordance with the objectives across KLAs and Key Tasks and their own existing strengths in extra-curricular activities, and to use continuous assessment for the improvement of it.

 

13. Any cost-effective measures suggested?

Suggested Measures:

  • Levering collaborations and building partnerships with outside organisations
  • Participating in relevant networks (e.g. Life-wide Learning Network Scheme)
  • Encouraging involvement from parents, school social workers and local community
  • Prioritize the development of different programmes
  • Whole school strategies in reviewing programme offered
  • Good use of resources available,For Example, Life-wide Learning Activity Databank
Last revision date: 15 March 2012
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

有關全方位學習的常見問題

1. 學校是否必須推行全方位學習?

否,學校並非必須推行全方位學習,但大部分學校一直以來均有籌辦全方位學習活動,只是名稱和規模不一而已。全方位學習並非一項新猶,而是為所有在課室外進行的學習活動作出一個新定義,把焦點放在學習上並與學校的課程連繫。這個重要的概念涵蓋各類學習活動,如課外活動、聯課活動、社會服務計劃,與工作有關的經驗和參觀博物館等。學校須量力而為,並切記這是一項非強制性的事工,但對學生卻肯定是有莫大的裨益!

 

2. 本校的時間表已編排得密密麻麻。如何能騰出時間和資源來舉辦全方位學習活動?

秘訣是由現時行之有效的活動開始,並嘗試按照現有的資源(如人才、時間、校外團體網絡)來設計全方位學習活動。重要的是全方位學習活動為學生提供優質的學習經歷,數量的多寡反屬次要。

 

3. 全方位學習對提高成績和課堂學習的成效有何幫助?

這須視乎全方位學習的類別而定。部分全方位學習活動對課堂學習有直接影響(例如相關的博物館學習和思考能力課程);有些活動旨在以較間接的方式,透過建立與朋輩合作的態度、增強自尊心和信心(例如參與社會服務、累積與工作有關的經驗),提高學生在課堂上的學習成效。根據其他國家(例如英國和美國)的研究結果,全方位學習可推動學生更有效地學習,並採取更佳的學習態度。事實上,全方位學習的益處並不局限於幫助學生在學校更有效地學習,更可培養學生多方面的潛能,使他們成為終身學習者。

 

4. 有沒有本港和世界各地的實例可供本校借鑑,作為籌辦全方位學習活動的參考?

有,多個國家(英國、美國、中國、台灣和新加坡)一直十分注重把學習空間「從課室拓展到其他環境」,但推行的目的、重點和方法各異。全方位學習組會盡力把一些示例上載於教育局網頁內(http://www.edb.gov.hk/cd/lwl/),以供教師參考。

 

5. 全方位學習活動是否等同於課外活動?

否,全方位學習並不等同於課外活動,但原則上,全方位學習泛指多種在課堂外進行的活動,課外活動是其中一種形式。在傳統上,課外活動與學校課程並無密切關係,且不太受重視。然而,在現今的全方位學習架構下,大部分課外活動均可納入學校課程內。

 

6. 我認為全方位學習的範圍太大。本校在策劃全方位學習活動時,是否有需要涵蓋五種學習經歷?

全方位學習的整體政策是故意把範圍定得較大,其作用正是在瞬息萬變知識澎脹的社會裏,擴闊現有課程的範圍和學習內容。然而,這並非意味學校須涵蓋五種學習經歷(或所有技能及價值觀)。相反地,學校須制訂一套整體的全方位學習策略,以確定與整體學校發展、學校傳統和學生需要的有關特定範圍。原則是講求學習質素,並須與課程有關連。

 

7. 誰是統籌本校全方位學習的最佳人選? 課程統籌主任?課外活動主任?副校長?或是科主任?

全方位學習是全校的工作。一般而言,負責人亦須兼負課程策劃的整體職責。有些學校指派課外活動主任領導這項策劃工作。

 

8. 本校一直以來均有籌辦課外活動,例如棋藝學會和參觀博物館。我不認為全方位學習可帶來任何新的衝擊。

全方位學習的理念是幫助學校更全面推行學生全人發展。只要這些活動對學生學習和全人發展有持續性及顯著性的影響,名稱不大重要。事實上,要達至全人發展這個目標是有很多方法的,因此,全方位學習組誠邀各學校提供和分享這方面的成功個案或經驗(電郵地址:lwl@edb.gov.hk )。

 

9. 如何評估學生在全方位學習活動的學習成效?

這個問題假設我們必須評估(甚至量化評估)所有學生在全方位學習活動的學習成效。事實上,我們須問最重要的問題:評估的目的是什麼?全方位學習評估應旨在提高學生本身的學習自主權。學校可採用簡單的自我評估、學習歷程檔案評核,以及利用學生日記/筆記簿等策略,視乎活動性質而定。任何評估工具,只要能促使學生自由地與教師評鑑整個學習過程(而非局限於學生個體性的自我評估),相信對學生學習產生長遠獨特的作用。

 

10. 有些全方位學習活動通常由非教學人員(如博物館職員和專業人士)負責,學校如何能確保學習的質素?

籌辦戶外學習和實地考察等全方位學習活動的所有教師必須作好準備,並須盡早從各個資料來源(包括全方位學習資料庫、其他人的意見和網頁)取得有關資料。學校應鼓勵教師事先安排實地考察,並在活動舉行前與主要人物會面。如能事先熟習場地和人物,以便對活動作出適當的安排,不失為上策。舉例來說,教師或會發現博物館所提供的工作紙並不適合學生使用,因而決定自行設計教材。

 

11. 全方位學習是否增加教師的工作負擔?

全方位學習是把學習空間,從課室拓展到其他環境中的策略。透過靈活地利用多樣化的環境和社區資源,配合時、地、人各方面所組成的學習情境,讓學生獲得一般在課堂上難以體會的經驗。它並不是「萬應靈丹」,它的功效是在於深化課堂學習,及提昇學生學習動機。因此,其成功關鍵在於校方/教師與學生能否清楚所舉辦活動的學習目的和意義:「為何我們要這樣學呢?」。全方位學習應是重質不重量。因此,教師需確保學生從全方位學習所得的經驗與訂定的學習目標相符,並引導學生就過程中發生事情作反思而有所領會。

 

12. 全方位學習是否一個額外獨立的項目?

全方位學習是與四個關鍵項目、各學習領域的課堂學習相輔相成的,並非額外獨立的項目。校方宜在學校整體課程中設計全方位學習,衡量各學習領域或跨學習領域中,有哪些學習目標、目的及重點,通過配合客觀條件的課外學習活動,學生可以學得更好。

 

13. 有哪一些事半功倍的措施呢?

學校可以:

* 與各界團體及組織協作,建立夥伴關係

* 參與有關專業交流網絡 (如「全方位學習網絡學校計劃」)

* 邀請家長、學校社工及社區參與,作出支援

* 安排各發展項目的優先次序

* 學校整體參與協作模式及宏觀檢視

* 善用資源,例如:全方位學習活動資料庫

修訂日期: 2012年3月15日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版