Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Moral and National Education

 

Moral and National Education

 

- Important News

8.10.2012

Transcript of remarks by Secretary for Education and Chairperson of Committee on Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject

Remarks on Moral and National Education Curriculum by the Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, and the Chairperson of the Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject, Ms Anna Wu, at a media session on 8 October 2012

 

Transcript

   
8.10.2012 Curriculum Guide of Moral and National Education subject formally shelved

The Government has accepted the recommendation of the Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject to formally shelve the Curriculum Guide of the Moral and National Education (MNE) subject.

 

Full Text

   
21.9.2012 EDB continues to support schools to enhance Moral and National Education

The Education Bureau (EDB) issued a circular memorandum to schools outlining the amendment to the policy on the "Moral and National Education" (MNE) Subject and its details on 21 September 2012.

 

Full text

   

- Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject

 

 

  • 27.9.2012

Remarks by Chairperson of Committee at a media session

  • 8.10.2012
Press statement by Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject

The following is issued on behalf of the Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject:

The Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject issued the following statement after its meeting today (October 8):

First and foremost, it is the unanimous view of the Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject that moral, nationaland civic education is an important facet of school education, and that whole-person development should include knowledge about one's country, understanding of one's national identity and awareness of such core values as inclusiveness and diversity in the wider society. Therefore, it is only natural that students be taught moral, national and civic education.

Full Text

   

- Video and Transcript

8.10.2012 Remarks on Moral and National Education Curriculum by the Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, and the Chairperson of the Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject, Ms Anna Wu, at a media session on 8 October 2012
       Transcript
   

- Reference Documents

 

- FAQ/Q&A

    Q(IV)-4. How should schools handle the “Moral and National Education Support Grant (formerly known as the Moral and National Education Subject Support Grant)” of $530,000 that was disbursed in August?
    A(IV)-4. Regardless of the modes of implementing the related education (i.e. moral and national education, such as values education, life education, knowing more about the country, civic education, sustainable development education, sex education, etc) and matters, schools can continue to use the Moral and National Education Support Grant that was disbursed in August 2012 flexibly for the preparation as well as learning and teaching of the school-based related education and items. For more details about this grant, please refer to the EDB Circular Memorandum No. 135/2012.

     

    Q(I)-6. According to the Moral and National Education Curriculum Guide, are students required to shed tears whenever they watch the raising of the national flag, and is assessment based on whether students shed tears?
    A(I)-6. It is a misunderstanding of the Moral and National Education Curriculum Guide that “students need to shed tears whenever they watch the raising of the national flag”. This is not mentioned in both the consultation draft and the final version of the Moral and National Education Curriculum Guide. With reference to the “Moral and National Education Curriculum Guide (Primary 1 to Secondary 6)”, examples of learning contents in Section 2.5.1 of the National Domain in Key Stage One include “learn about and respect the representations of the country, including the date of the National Day and its significance; the design and meaning of the national flag and national emblem as well as the occasions and regulations regarding their use; the etiquette of raising the national flag and hanging the national emblem; the meaning of the national anthem as well as the occasions it is played and related etiquette”. (Please refer to P.30 of the Curriculum Guide for details.)

     

    Q(I)-5. Why is the Moral and National Education subject guided by “affection”?
                Will this amount to brain-washing students from a young age?

    A(I)-5. The curriculum for the subject is not guided by “affection”. Rather, it starts holistically from one’s “cognition”, “affection” and “action” conducive to cultivating students’ values and attitudes. “Cognition” helps students to enhance their ability in analysis and making judgments, and deepen their own understanding of values. “Affection” cultivates students’ empathic attitudes, which encourages them to put themselves into others’ shoes and become self-reflective and more understanding of others’ situations. “Action” encourages students to put positive values and attitudes into practice in their daily life, including making thoughtful and reasoned decisions. The three components are intertwined, and together they constitute a learning mode which emphasises and integrates both reason and emotion. Therefore, it is simply not true that the so-called “brain-washing” is involved and that an uncritical and unquestioning habit of mind will be cultivated. (Please refer to P.82 of the Curriculum Guide for details.)

     

    Q(III)-6. How will the Moral and National Education (MNE) subject be implemented?
    A(III)-6. Taking the community’s views into consideration, the modes and schedule for the implementation of the MNE subject will be determined by the school sponsoring bodies (SSBs) and schools in accordance with their mission and vision, schools’ readiness and professional judgment. SSBs and schools could use their discretion in deciding how to handle relevant matters, including whether to develop the MNE subject, whether to implement MNE as an independent subject or adopt other modes, and the implementation schedule.

     

    Q(III)-7. Does the government have a schedule for the implementation of the MNE subject?
    A(III)-7. Relevant matters related to the modes and schedule for the implementation of the MNE subject will be handled and determined by the school sponsoring bodies (SSBs) and schools in accordance with their vision and mission, schools’ readiness and professional judgment. Thus, the three-year “initiation period” will be abolished.

     

    Q(IV)-3. What is the role of the “Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject”?
    A(IV)-3. The “Committee on the Initiation of Moral and National Education Subject” chaired by Ms Anna Wu will continue to collect views and propose suggestions to the Government and the CDC on various issues about the MNE subject, including resources, teaching resources, Curriculum Guide, etc, from various sectors in society. The Committee will have a meeting in September to discuss the related issues.

     

    More

     

- Articles from Secretary for Education

 

- Relevant Education Bureau Circular Memorandum

 

Last revision date: 28 March 2013
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

德育及國民教育科

德育及國民教育

 

- 重要消息

8.10.2012

教育局局長吳克儉及開展德育及國民教育科委員會主席與傳媒談話全文

以下是教育局局長吳克儉及開展德育及國民教育科委員會主席胡紅玉十月八日會見傳媒的談話全文

 

全文

   
8.10.2012 德育及國民教育科課程指引正式擱置

政府已接納開展德育及國民教育科委員會的建議,正式擱置德育及國民教育科課程指引。

 

全文

   
21.9.2012 教育局繼續支援學校優化德育及國民教育

教育局九月二十一日向學校發出通函,闡述有關推行「德育及國民教育科」政策的修訂詳情。教育局重申會在尊重辦學團體及學校專業自主的前提下,為採用不同方式推展有關教育的辦學團體及學校,繼續提供學與教的專業支援。

全文

   

- 開展德育及國民教育科委員會

 

 

  • 27.9.2012

委員會主席與傳媒談話重點

  • 8.10.2012
開展德育及國民教育科委員會發表聲明

下稿代開展德育及國民教育科委員會發出:

開展德育及國民教育科委員會今日(十月八日)舉行會議後發表以下聲明:

首先,開展德育及國民教育科委員會一致認為德育、國民和公民教育是學校教育中重要的一環,並認為全人發展應包括對國家的認識、 國民身分的認同,以及對社會多元包容的核心價值的認知。因此,學生接受德育、國民和公民教育是理所當然的。

全文

   

- 德育及國民教育科課程諮詢及修訂報告

 

- 短片及內容文本

8.10.2012 行政長官梁振英十月八日聯同政務司司長林鄭月娥、教育局局長吳克儉和開展德育及國民教育科委員會主席胡紅玉在行政長官辦公室地下大堂就「德育及國民教育科」會見傳媒。(只有中文)
       視象記錄:wmv格式 flash格式 談話全文
   

- 參考資料

 

- 常見問題/問與答

    問(IV)-4:學校應如何處理8月獲發的530,000港元「德育及國民教育支援津貼」(前名「德育及國民教育科支援津貼」)?
    答(IV)-4:無論學校以任何方式推展有關教育(即德育及國民教育,如價值教育、生命教育、國情認知、公民教育、可持續發展教育及性教育等)及其相關項目,學校仍然可以靈活運用本局於2012年8月向學校發放的「德育及國民教育支援津貼」,配合校本有關教育及其相關項目所需的準備及教學。有關運用這筆津貼的詳情,請參閱教育局通函第135/2012號。

     

    問(I)-6: 德育及國民教育科課程指引是否有要求學生看見升國旗時需要流眼淚,並以流眼淚作為評估?
    答(I)-6: 所謂「看見國旗要流眼淚」,純屬對於德育及國民教育科課程指引的誤解,無論課程指引諮詢稿或修訂後的課程指引,均沒有出現此說法。《德育及國民教育課程指引(小一至中六》「2.5.1第一學習階段國家範疇」的學習內容舉隅包括:「認識及尊重國家象徵,包括:國慶的日期及意義;國旗和國徽的設計、意義、使用場合與規定、升掛國旗和懸掛國徽的禮儀;國歌的意義、奏唱場合與禮儀。」(詳見指引P.26)

     

    問(I)-5: 德育及國民教育科為什麼以「情意」為主導?是否把學生從小洗腦?
    答(I)-5: 本科並非以「情意」為主導的課程,而整全地從個人「認知」、「情感」及「行為」出發,培育學生價值觀和態度。「認知」幫助學生提高他們的分析和判斷能力,加深對價值觀的認識;「情感」的培養幫助學生移情共感的態度,能「將心比己,設身處地」,主動反思並能體察別人的處境;「行為」方面則鼓勵學生身體力行,將正面價值觀和態度,在日常生活中實踐,包括作出合情合理的判斷。三者乃互相扣緊,是一個「情理兼通」、「重情重理」的學習模式,並不存在盲目認同的所謂「洗腦」 (詳見指引P.70)。

     

    問(III)-6: 德育及國民教育科將會如何推行?
    答(III)-6: 考慮社會的意見,推行德育及國民教育科的方式和時間,將交由辦學團體及學校,依據其辦學理念和方針、學校準備情況及其專業判斷,自行決定如何處理有關該科的事宜,包括:是否開展德育及國民教育科、是否要獨立成科或使用其他模式 、以及推行時間表。

     

    問(III)-7: 政府就德育及國民教育科有否推行時間表?
    答(III)-7: 推行德育及國民教育科的方式和時間,將交由辦學團體及學校,依據其辦學理念和方針、學校準備情況及其專業判斷,自行決定如何處理有關該科的事宜,因此,三年開展期的安排將會取消。

     

    問(IV)-3:「開展德育及國民教育科委員會」會扮演甚麼的角色?
    答(IV)-3:由胡紅玉女士為主席的「開展德育及國民教育科委員會」會廣泛諮詢各界人士,繼續就「德育及國民教育科」的意見如資源、教材、課程指引等問題,向政府及課程發展議會提出建議,並於九月內開會討論本科事宜。

     

    更多

     

- 局長撰文

更多

 

- 相關教育局通函

 

修訂日期: 2013年3月28日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版