Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Q & A

 

Q and A

Purpose of Language Proficiency Requirement (LPR)

Q1.
Why do we need LPR?
A1.
An effective language teacher should be proficient in the use of the language, knowledgeable about the language structure and subject content, and effective in the use of language for pedagogical purposes. The LPR provides an objective reference against which to gauge a teacher''s proficiency in the language he/she teaches. It is designed with gradations covering different levels of proficiency (from Levels 1 to 5). Level 3 represents the basic requirement.

Exemption

Q2.
Who can apply for exemption?
A2.
Teachers and prospective teachers with appropriate qualifications can apply for exemption from the LPR.
Q3.
If my qualifications are already included in the List of Qualifications Recognized for Exemption, do I still need to apply for exemption?
A3.
You will still need to go through the procedure to confirm eligibility.
Q4.
What is the procedure for applying for exemption?
A4.
There will be two calls for application for exemption every school year. Eligible teachers may forward their applications to the Education Bureau (EDB) directly or through school principals. The application must be accompanied by copies of all relevant documents including certificates and transcripts certified by the principal of the school in which the applicant is teaching. If all the necessary supporting documents are submitted with their applications, applicants will be informed of the results in about three months' time.
Q5.
If the qualifications are not included on the List of Qualifications Recognized for Exemption, how will the EDB decide on whether exemption would be granted to them?
A5.
A Vetting Committee on Exemption is set up to advise the Secretary for Education on whether qualifications not included in the List of Qualifications Recognized for Exemption, e.g. overseas degrees or degrees previously conferred by local tertiary institutes, should be considered for exemption.
Q6.
How long will the processing of application for exemption take? When should teachers forward their application for exemption?
A6.
The time required to determine an applicant's exemption status largely depends on the adequacy of documents submitted and the complexity of the case. Provided that applicants submit all the necessary supporting documents with the applications, they will be informed of the results individually in about three months. Each year there will be two calls for application for exemption, one at each school term.

Language Proficiency Assessment for Teachers (LPAT)

Q7.
Are teachers required to attain the language proficiency in all the papers in one and the same assessment?
A7.
It is not necessary for them to pass all papers in one sitting. In other words, they may attain the LPR in all papers in more than one sitting.
Q8.
When will the language proficiency assessment be held?
A8.
The Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA) will conduct the LPAT once annually. A separate circular memorandum will be issued to inform schools of the detail in due course.

New Teachers

Q9.
What are the arrangements for the new English/Putonghua teachers?
A9.
Newly appointed/deployed English/Putonghua teachers in the current school year, who are holding a permanent post in local public sector schools or private primary/secondary day schools offering a full curriculum and are not fully exempted from the LPR, should at least have met the LPR of all the papers except the paper on Classroom Language Assessment (CLA) prior to teaching the language subject. They will have to meet the LPR in CLA within the first year of their taking up the duties.

Other Issues

Q10.
By what criteria is a teacher deemed to have met the LPR?
A10.
A teacher is deemed to have met the Putonghua/English language proficiency requirement if he/she has met the following criteria:

Criteria for reaching LPR for English Teachers
The teacher has attained at least Level 3 in ALL the five papers in the LPR for English Teachers. Specifically, the teacher has to attain '3' or above in Reading and Listening. For Writing, Speaking and CLA, the teacher has to attain, in one sitting for each paper, '3' or above in all scales (see Note).

Note: Since the final result for a scale in the Writing, Speaking and CLA papers is the average of the levels awarded by two assessors, it is possible that a '2.5' will be awarded on a scale. For the purpose of attaining LPR, the teacher is considered to have attained the basic level in the paper concerned if s/he has achieved a '2.5' on one scale and a '3' or above in all other scales.

Criteria for reaching LPR for Putonghua Teachers
The teacher has attained at least Level 3 in ALL the four papers in the LPR for Putonghua Teachers. Specifically, the teacher has to attain '3' or above in Listening and Recognition, Pinyin, and Speaking. For CLA, the teacher has to attain, in one sitting, '3' or above in all scales (see Note).

Note: Since the final result for a scale in the CLA paper is the average of the levels awarded by two assessors, it is possible that a '2.5' will be awarded on a scale. For the purpose of attaining LPR, the teacher is considered to have attained the basic level in the paper concerned if s/he has achieved a '2.5' on one scale and a '3' or above in all other scales.

Q11.
By what criteria is a teacher deemed to have reached an overall Proficiency at Level 4 or above for English/Putonghua LPR
A11.
A teacher is deemed to have reached an overall Proficiency at Level 4 or above in English/Putonghua LPR if he/she has met the following TWO criteria:

Overall Proficiency at Level 4 or above in English LPR
The teacher has attained at least Level 3 in ALL the five papers in the LPR for English Teachers.  For Reading and Listening, the teacher has to attain '3' or above.  For Writing, Speaking and CLA, the teacher has to attain, in one sitting for each paper, '3' or above in all the scales of the respective papers; AND
The teacher has attained Level 4 or above in at least three papers. For Writing, Speaking and CLA, Level 4 or above is deemed to have been attained if more than half of the scales of the respective papers are scored, in one sitting for each paper, at '4' or above (i.e. having attained Level 4 or above in three or more scales in Writing and CLA and four or more scales in Speaking).

Overall Proficiency at Level 4 or above in Putonghua LPR
The teacher has attained at least Level 3 in ALL the four papers in the LPR for Putonghua teachers.  For Listening and Recognition, Pinyin, and Speaking, the teacher has to attain '3' or above.  For CLA, the teacher has to attain, in one sitting, '3' or above in all the scales of the paper; AND
The teacher has attained Level 4 or above in at least three papers.  For CLA, Level 4 or above is deemed to have been attained if more than half of the scales of the respective paper are scored, in one sitting, at '4' or above (i.e. having attained Level 4 or above in at least three scales in the paper).

Q12.
Does failing to meet the LPR affect a teacher's registration status?
A12.
No, failing to meet the LPR will not affect a teacher's registration status.

 

Last revision date: 24 March 2014
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

答問集

 設定語文能力要求的目的

問1.
為什麼要訂定語文能力要求?
答1.
優秀的語文教師應當精通語文運用,對語言結構和學科本身有良好知識,並能有效地運用教學語言和技巧。語文能力要求是用來評核教師語文能力的一個客觀標準。方法是將語文能力劃分為一至五級,而以第三級為基本的要求。

豁免事宜

問2.
甚麼教師可以申請豁免?
答2.
所有在學校任職的教師或有意入職為教師的人士,只要持有適當學歷,均可申請豁免。
問3.
如我已具備參照名單上的資歷,我是否仍須申請豁免?
答3.
你仍須透過申請豁免的程序,使豁免的資格獲得確認。
問4.
申請豁免須辦理什麼手續?
答4.
豁免語文能力要求將全年接受申請,而分兩期辦理。相關申請表格及有關詳情請瀏覽教育局網頁(http://www.edb.gov.hk/exemption)。
問5.
如教師的學歷不在已獲豁免的本地學位及師資培訓課程名單之列,教育局如何評估他們是否可獲豁免?
答5.
當局成立的評審委員會,專責評估現時不在已獲豁免的本地課程名單內的學歷(例如海外學位或本地大專過往所頒發的學位等),考慮是否可獲豁免,然後向教育局局長提交建議。
問6.
申請豁免的程序需時多久?
答6.
要確定提交的學歷是否可獲豁免,所需時間會受到遞交的文件是否完備及申請個案的複雜程度等因素影響。假若申請人能提供足夠的資料,處理申請的室程序需時約三個月,有關申請結果的通知書會直接寄交申請人。

教師語文能力評核

問7.
教師是否必須在同一次評核中應考全部卷別?
答7.
教師無須在同一次評核中取得全部卷別及格,教師可透過參加多次評核,以全面達到語文能力要求。
問8.
語文能力評核會在甚麼時候舉行?
答8.
香港考試及評核局每年會舉辦一次教師語文能力評核。詳情將會在適當時候於教育局網頁(http://www.edb.gov.hk/lpat)及香港考試及評核局網頁(http://www.hkeaa.edu.hk)發布。

新入職教師

問9.
對於新入職的英文/普通話科教師又有甚麼安排?
答9.
本地公營學校或提供全面課程的私立日間中、小學校於本學年新入職/新近調派任教英文/普通話科的常額教師,而未獲全面豁免語文能力要求者,均應參加教師語文能力評核。這些教師在開始任教英文/普通話科之前,除「課堂語言運用」外,其他各卷別應已全部達到語文能力要求,而且他們須於開始任教該語文科目的 第一年內在「課堂語言運用」方面也達到語文能力要求。

其他事宜

問10.
怎樣才算達到語文能力要求,有什麼準則?
答10.
教師如符合下列準則,可被視為已達到普通話/英文科教師語文能力要求:

達到英文科語文能力要求的準則
教師在全部五卷的成績必須至少達到第3等的水平。具體而言,在「閱讀」和「聆聽」兩卷中,教師必須達到「3等」或以上;至於「寫作」、「口語」及「課堂語言運用」三卷,教師須在同一次評核中同一卷別的各個範疇均達到「3等」或以上(註)。

註:由於「寫作」、「口語」及「課堂語言運用」三卷每個範疇的成績,是兩名評核員所評定的等級的平均數,因此教師有可能獲得「2.5等」。在評定達到語文能力要求的準則下,即使其中一個範疇只達到「2.5等」,其餘範疇均達到「3等」或以上,亦可視為已達到語文能力要求。

達到普通話科語文能力要求的準則
教師在全部四卷的成績必須至少達到第3等的水平。具體而言,在「聆聽與認辨」、「拼音」及「口語」三卷中,教師必須達到「3等」或以上;至於「課堂語言運用」一卷,教師須在同一次評核中,該卷的各個範疇均達到「3等」或以上(註)。

註:由於「課堂語言運用」一卷每個範疇的成績,是兩名觀課員所評定的等級的平均數,因此教師有可能獲得「2.5等」。在評定達到語文能力要求的準則下,即使其中一個範疇只達到「2.5等」,其餘範疇均達到「3等」或以上,亦可視為已達到語文能力要求。

問11.
怎樣才算整體能力達到語文能力要求第4等或以上的水平,有什麼準則?
答11.
教師如符合下列兩項準則,可視為整體能力達到普通話/英文科教師語文能力要求第4等或以上的水平:

整體能力達到英文科語文能力要求第4等或以上的準則
教師在全部五卷的成績必須至少達到第3等的水平。就「閱讀」和「聆聽」兩卷而言,教師必須達到「3等」或以上的等級;至於「寫作」、「口語」和「課堂語言運用」三卷,教師須在同一次評核中同一卷別的各個範疇全部均達到「3等」或以上的等級;以及
至少有三卷取得第4等或以上的成績。就「寫作」、「口語」和「課堂語言運用」三卷而言,倘同一卷別中半數以上的範疇在同一次評核中達到「4等」或以上的水平(即在「寫作」和「課堂語言運用」兩卷中,有三個或以上的範疇達到「4等」或以上水平,而在「口語」一卷中有四個或以上的範疇達到「4等」或以上水平),則有關卷別可視為達到第4等或以上的水平。

整體能力達到普通話科語文能力要求第4等或以上的準則
教師在全部四卷的成績必須至少達到第3等的水平。就「聆聽與認辨」、「拼音」和「口語」三卷而言,教師必須達到「3等」或以上的等級;至於「課堂語言運用」一卷,教師須在同一次評核中的各個範疇全部均達到「3等」或以上的等級;以及
至少有三卷取得第4等或以上的成績。就「課堂語言運用」一卷而言,倘教師在同一次評核中,有三個或以上的範疇達到「4等」或以上水平,則「課堂語言運用」一卷可視為達到第4等或以上的水平。

問12.
不達到語文能力要求會否影響教師的註冊?
答12.
教師即使不達到語文能力要求,也不會影響他們的註冊地位。

 

修訂日期: 2018年5月15日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版