Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Support Scheme for e-Learning in Schools

Home | What's New | Use of Funding | Professional Development Programmes | Technical Advisory and Project Management Services | FAQ | Enquiry

 

FAQ

 

General

Q1.

What are the objectives of the “Support Scheme for e-Learning in Schools” (the Scheme)? How would the Scheme be promoted to other schools?

 

A1.

The Scheme aims at providing 100 public sector schools with funding to enhance their WiFi infrastructure to cater for the need of using e-textbooks and e-learning resources in class.  The funding will also allow schools to acquire mobile computing devices sufficient for use in class by students.  With the resources and support from the EDB, both pedagogical and technical, the schools will act as change agent to achieve the following missions –

 

  • To work with service providers to build up the necessary infrastructure conducive to the use of e-textbooks and e-learning resources in class;
  • To act as test bed for the infrastructure build-up process and other value-added service;
  • To establish pedagogical use of e-textbooks and e-learning resources and to build an intra-school community of practice to facilitate whole-school adoption of e-textbooks and e-learning resources and hence e-learning; and
  • To share with other schools the lessons learnt, including setup of relevant community of practice among teachers.

 

The schools joining the Scheme will generate precious experience for reference by other schools. Starting from the second semester of 2014/15 school year, these schools will share their experiences with teachers through seminars and their communities of practice.

 

 

Q2.

What are the selection results of the “Support Scheme for e-Learning in Schools” ?

 

 

A2.

The Education Bureau announced the results of the Support Scheme on e-Learning in Schools on 18 March 2014.  Among 174 school applications, a total of 100 schools were selected to participate in the Support Scheme, including 53 primary schools, 42 secondary schools and 5 special schools.  The selected schools also included 20 schools with students of relatively low social economic status but the schools’ readiness for e-learning are equally strong as compared with other schools.

The Steering Committee on Strategic Development of Information Technology in Education reviewed and confirmed the results on 12 March, in accordance with the selection criteria endorsed earlier.  The selected schools have good foundation in terms of curriculum planning, teachers’ professional development and engagement of stakeholders, with some schools excel in all these areas.

 

Q3.

Is there any appeal system for schools being rejected?

 

A3.

The Steering Committee on Strategic Development of IT in Education will formulate related selection criteria, monitor the selection process and endorse the selection results. According to past practices when handling applications under the “E-Textbook Market Development Scheme (EMADS)”, the selection results are the final decision.

 

 

Use of Funding

 

Q4.

When will the successful school applicants (Schools) receive the grant? Is there any time limit for using the grant? Do Schools need to return the unused funds to the Government?

 

A4.

  • Aided and DSS Schools: Grant will be disbursed to Schools by end-March 2014 and could be used in the next three school years. The grant should be spent on or before 31 August 2017. Any unspent balance of the grant will be clawed back according to the School’s audited accounts as at 31 August 2017 (i.e. end of the 2016/17 school year).
  • Government Schools: Schools will receive the grant by at most four instalments starting from the 2014-15 financial year.  Grants will be allocated according to School’s estimated expenditure in respective financial years.

 

Q5.

Can Schools use the one-off grant to procure / hire services / stores which fall outside the ambit of the grant?  For example, purchase of e-learning resources?

 

A5.

In principle, the one-off grant is only applicable to WiFi facilities / equipment and mobile computing devices. Purchase of services / stores which fall outside the ambit of the grant is not allowed.  Moreover, Schools can only use the grant to enhance or top up their IT infrastructure so as to set up the necessary WiFi environment in their school premises for use of e-textbooks in class and to acquire mobile computing devices for use in class by students.

 

Schools may consider using the Composite IT Grant(CITG) to meet the expenses arising from the IT in Education related activities, including the purchase of facilities / equipment.  For details of the CITG, please visit EDB’s website: http://www.edb.gov.hk/en/edu-system/primary-secondary/applicable-to-primary-secondary/it-in-edu/citg.html.

 

Q6.

What schools should follow for procurement of goods and services?

 

A6.

Schools are reminded to adhere to the related principles of handling schools' finance matters and follow the proper procedures for procurement, accounting and financial control, including EDB Circular No. 4/2013, School Administration Guide, EDB Internal Circulars No. 3/2013, No. 4/2013, Stores and Procurement Regulations, etc. and any other related updates issued to Schools from time to time.

 

Besides, for accounting and auditing purposes, Schools should keep a separate ledger of this one-off grant reflecting clearly all incomes and expenditures chargeable.

 

Q7.

Could Schools use the grant to pay for expenditures related to the enhancement of WiFi infrastructure and/or acquiring mobile computing devices incurred before the disbursement of the grant?

 

A7.

Schools could only use the grant to pay for expenditures incurred after the disbursement of the grant. From the accounting perspective, an expenditure item is incurred at the point when the relevant good or service is received, not at the point when the contract for the provision of relevant good or service is made.

 

 

 

Q8.

Could Schools use the grant to procure digital media player?

 

A8.

Digital media player or other player with access to the Internet is not regarded as a kind of mobile learning device under the Scheme and thus could not be procured using the grant.

 

 

 

 

Professional Development Programmes

Q9.

Apart from the one-off Grant for enhancement of WiFi infrastructure and acquiring mobile computing devices, how will EDB assist the Schools to implement e-learning?

 

 

A9.

EDB will offer a series of professional development programmes to principals, vice principals, middle managers as well as teachers starting from April 2014 to 2016/17 school year to further equip schools to implement e-learning. Priority will be given to the schools joining the Scheme to attend the courses.  These courses will be conducted either in a whole-day or a half-day mode.  Information of these courses will be uploaded onto EDB’s Training Calendar System (TCS) at least 3 weeks before the commencement of the courses. Please feel free to visit TCS for details (https://tcs.edb.gov.hk/tcs/publicCalendar/start.htm) .

 

 

Q10.

Will EDB offer training programmes to teachers and school technicians who are not able to join the Scheme to ensure that their schools can further promote e-learning?

 

A10.

Although the Education Bureau will offer training programmes to principals, middle managers and teachers of Schools, staff of schools not selected is also welcome to join these training programmes. In addition, EDB has organized regular training programmes to assist schools in the implementation of e-learning  in the past few years. In 2012/13 school year, we have offered 390 training programmes on areas related to e-learning, leadership and management, and technology for 6 500 primary and secondary school teachers as well as schools’ technicians. Teachers of schools not joining the Scheme are also encouraged to participate in these training courses to further enrich their knowledge on e-learning.

 

 

Technical Advisory and Project Management Services

 

Q11.

Will the Government provide procurement service for the Schools? If not, how will the Government support these schools so that public fund will be used appropriately?

 

A11.

We consider that to both the Education Bureau and most of the Schools, hire of a service provider to design, build and operate the whole infrastructure through subscription mode is a new attempt, so we need to accumulate experience through the Schools under the Support Scheme to provide the most appropriate services to the other 900 schools not covered by the Scheme when rolling out the large-scale implementation plan in the near future. To assist Schools to accomplish the Scheme, the EDB will provide technical advisory and project management services to assist in the buildup of the WiFi infrastructure. The services will include technical advice on the formulation of user requirements for invitation of quotations/tenders from service providers and monitoring on the work of the contractors.

 

Q12.

What kind of service will be offered by Technical Advisors?

 

A12.

Technical Advisors will help Schools formulate user requirements for invitation of quotations/tenders from service providers and monitoring on the work of contractors in the buildup of the WiFi infrastructure.

 

Q13.

What is the role of School Liaison Officers?

 

A13.

Each school will be assigned with a designated School Liaison Officer from the EDB. The Officer shall ensure effective communication between the school and the Technical Advisor and assist the school in carrying out the Scheme.

 

Q14.

Can Schools make use of the technical advisory and project management services if they choose to build up their WiFi infrastructure on their own?

 

A14.

Schools can still make use of the services. However, Schools have to note that the Technical Advisors are expertise in providing service on adopting subscription mode for building up the WiFi infrastructure and related project management.

 

 

Others

 

Q15.

Should schools accept the bundling sale of WiFi services, tablet computers, e-learning resources, etc from service providers?

 

A15.

Service providers should list the price of every single service or product for schools' reference and sensible selection. Also, schools should not shift the cost of building up WiFi infrastructure to parents through the use of e-learning resources.

 

Q16.

Will the use of Wi-Fi facilities affect the health of human beings?

 

A16.

As WiFi facilities are getting more popular around the world, concerns have been raised about the impacts of radiofrequency (RF) radiation from WiFi networks on human health. According to the World Health Organisation, the exposure levels due to wireless networks (including WiFi) are generally very low and there is no convincing scientific evidence that the weak radiofrequency signals from wireless networks cause adverse health effects.
Relevant information can be accessed at:
World Health Organisation
The Government will also keep in view the latest scientific information for the health effects of wireless networks or mobile phone use in children.

 

 

 

 

 

Last revision date: 04 June 2014
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

電子學習學校支援計劃

主頁 | 最新消息 | 使用撥款 | 專業發展 | 技術顧問及項目管理服務 | 問與答 | 查詢

 

問與答

 

一般

 

問1.

「電子學習學校支援計劃」(「學校計劃」)目的為何?這計劃如何推廣至其他學校?

 

 

答1.

「學校計劃」將為100所公營學校提供資助,提升學校無線網絡基礎設施,以配合師生課堂中使用電子教科書和電子學習資源。學校亦可利用津貼添置足夠的流動電腦裝置,供學生在課堂上使用。透過教育局在教學法及技術層面上所提供的資源及支援,參與計劃的學校會協助學界推動改革的工作,並肩負下列任務:

  • 與服務供應商合作,建立有助師生在課堂中使用電子教科書和電子學習資源所需的基礎設施;
  • 作為建設基礎設施過程及其他增值服務的試驗場;
  • 訂立使用電子教科書和電子學習資源的教學方案,及在校內設立實踐社群,推動全校使用電子教科書和電子學習資源,從而落實電子學習;以及
  • 與其他學校分享實踐經驗,包括建立教師們的實踐社群。

 

這項計劃可累積寶貴的實踐經驗,以供其他學校參考。參與計劃的學校會在2014/15學年下半年起,透過研討會及教師們的實踐社群與其他學校分享經驗。

 

 

 

 

 

 

2.

「學校計劃」的甄選工作和評審結果為何?

 

 

 

 

答2.

教育局2014年3月18日宣布電子學習學校支援計劃的評審結果。在174所學校的申請中,一共有100所學校獲選參與計劃,其中包括53所小學、42所中學及5所特殊學校。甄選結果亦包括20所學生的社會經濟背景比較弱,但在其他條件方面並不遜色的學校。

資訊科技教育策略督導委員於3月12日按較早時訂立的甄選準則審視並確認評審結果。獲選參與本計劃的學校在課程規劃、教師專業發展及持份者的參與等範疇有良好的基礎,部份學校更表現出色。

 

 

 

3.

如學校的申請被否決,有否上訴機制?

 

答3.

資訊科技教育策略督導委員會已按訂立的評審準則監督評審過程,並確認相關的選拔結果。按照教育局的一貫做法,例如處理「電子教科書市場開拓計劃」的申請,評審結果是最終決定。

 

 

使用撥款

 

4.

成功申請的學校會於何時獲得撥款?使用撥款可有時限?學校是否要向政府退還未用的撥款?

 

答4.

  • 資助及直資學校:學校將於2014年3月底前收到撥款,此撥款可供學校在未來三個學年使用。學校須於2017年8月底前使用此一筆過撥款。在2016/17學年完結後,學校須將未動用的撥款退還政府(根據學校截至2017年8月31日的經審計帳目計算)。
  • 官立學校:按學校支出預算最多分四期由2014-15財政年度起發放。

 

5.

此一筆過津貼可否用作購買或租用適用範圍以外的服務或貨品,例如購買電子學習資源?

 

答5.

原則上只適用於無線網絡設備及流動電腦裝置,不得作其他用途。此一筆過津貼只可用作提升或添置資訊科技基礎設施,讓學校在校園內設置所需的無線網絡環境,以便在課堂使用電子教科書,以及購置流動電腦裝置讓學生能在課堂上使用。

 

學校可考慮使用「資訊科技綜合津貼」以支付與資訊科技教育相關的開支,包括購置設備。有關「資訊科技綜合津貼」的詳情,請參閱教育局網頁:http://www.edb.gov.hk/tc/edu-system/primary-secondary/applicable-to-primary-secondary/it-in-edu/citg.html

 

6.

學校在採購有關貨品或服務時,有甚麼招標及採購程序須要注意及遵守?

 

答6.

當使用此一筆過津貼去採購貨品或服務時,學校須依循各項有關處理財務事宜的準則及遵照訂定的採購、會計及財政監控程序,包括教育局通告第4/2013號、「學校行政手冊」、教育局內部通函第3/2013號、第4/2013號和「物料供應及採購規例」等,及其他不時發布給學校的最新修訂資訊。

 

另外,學校亦須為津貼的使用建立獨立的分類帳,以便記錄所有有關的收入及支出,作會計及核數用途。

 

7.

學校可否將津貼用於支付於津貼發放日期前所帶來的開支?

 

答7.

學校只可使用此一筆過津貼支付於津貼發放日期後所帶來的開支。至於在發放津貼日期前所簽訂的服務協議,只要有關開支是在津貼發放日期後帶來,通常是指收取貨品或服務後,亦可以此津貼支付有關開支。

 

8.

學校可否將津貼用作購置數碼多媒體機頂盒?

 

答8.

數碼多媒體機頂盒,或其他有上網功能的播放器,在計劃的定義下並不屬於流動學習裝置,因此不能以此一筆過津貼購置。

 

專業發展

 

9.

除了提供一筆過用作提升無線網絡及購買移動電腦設施的撥款外,教育局會如何協助成功申請「學校計劃」的學校推行電子學習?

 

 

答9.

由2014年4月開始至2016/17學年,教育局會為獲選參與計劃的學校校長、副校長、中層管理人員和教師提供一系列的培訓課程,以進一步協助學校推行電子學習。獲選參與計劃的學校,將可以優先出席有關課程。總的來說,這些培訓課程會以「一天」或「半天」形式進行,有關資料將於課程舉行前最少三星期透過教育局培訓行事曆公佈。其他詳情,歡迎瀏覽教育局培訓行事曆(https://tcs.edb.gov.hk/tcs/publicCalendar/start.htm)。

 

 

10.

教育局會否為其他未能參與計劃的老師及學校的技術人員提供培訓,以確保這些學校也能進一步推動電子學習?

 

答10.

雖然教育局會為獲選參與計劃學校的校長、中層管理人員和教師提供培訓課程, 但有關培訓課程亦歡迎其他學校同工參與。此外,在過去數年,教育局亦有為教師提供定期培訓課程,以協助學校推行電子學習。在2012/13學年,我們提供約390個有關電子學習、領導與管理及科技系列的培訓課程,參加的教師及技術員人數約6 500人次。我們鼓勵未能參加計劃的學校同工報讀這些定期課程以豐富他們在電子學習的知識。

 

技術顧問及項目管理服務

 

11.

政府會否為參與「學校計劃學校提供集體採購服務?若否,對這些學校有何支援,令公帑用得其所?

 

答11.

以租賃服務方式去採購無線網絡服務不論對教育局或不少學校來說都是一個新嘗試,因此我們有需要透過這個計劃的獲選學校去累積經驗,為未來大規模推展計劃時對學校提供最適切的服務。為協助參與學校完成本計劃,教育局將提供技術顧問及項目管理服務,以協助學校建立無線網絡基礎設施。本服務包括提供技術顧問服務,撰寫技術規格文件以配合用戶要求,讓學校進行採購程序,並於承辦商開展工程時提供項目管理服務。

 

12.

技術顧問能夠提供甚麼服務?

 

答12.

技術顧問會為參與計劃的學校撰寫技術規格文件以配合用戶要求,讓學校進行採購程序,並於承辦商開展工程時提供項目管理服務。

 

13.

學校聯絡主任的角色是甚麼?

 

答13.

每所學校均獲派一名教育局學校聯絡主任。聯絡主任將確保學校及技術顧問之間的良好溝通,以協助學校順利開展本計劃。

 

14.

如果參與計劃的學校選擇自行建立無線網絡基礎設施,能否使用技術顧問服務及項目管理服務?

 

答14.

學校可使用有關服務,但學校需要了解技術顧問較為擅長以租賃模式建立無線網絡基礎設施及相關項目管理。

 

 

其他

 

 

 

15.

學校應否接受服務供應商把WiFi服務、平板電腦、電子學習資源等作綑綁式銷售?

 

答15.

服務供應商應清楚列明各項服務及產品的收費,讓學校知悉和作出明智的選擇。學校亦不應將部分WiFi基建費用,透過使用電子學習資源轉嫁到家長身上。

 

16.

使用無線網絡上網設施會否影響人類健康?

 

答16.

隨著WiFi無線上網設施在世界各地漸趨普及,有關WiFi網絡射頻信號對人體健康影響的憂慮也隨之而產生。根據世界衛生組織,無線網絡(包括WiFi)的輻射量一般極低,並無充分的科學證據顯示無線網絡的微弱無線電訊號會對健康造成不良影響。
相關資料載於世界衛生組織網站:
世界衛生組織
政府會繼續留意有關使用無線網絡或流動電話對兒童健康的最新科學資料。

 

修訂日期: 2014年6月04日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版