print page
< Back
Menu > About EDB >
Forms & Circulars
-
Forms
-
Circulars
< Back
Menu > About EDB >
Annual Open Data Plans
-
Annual Open Data Plans
-
Public Sector Information
< Back
Menu > Curriculum Development >
Major Levels of Education
-
Kindergarten Education
-
Primary Education
-
Secondary Education
< Back
Menu > Curriculum Development >
Assessment
-
Basic Competency Assessment (BCA)
-
References
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Life Planning Education and Career Guidance
-
Life Planning Education
-
Business-School Partnership Programme
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Safety Matters
-
Safety of Students
-
School Bus Services
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students
-
Education services for non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students
-
What's new
-
Overview
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Programs and Services
-
Programs
-
Services
< Back
Menu > Teachers Related >
Qualifications, Training and Development
-
Qualification
-
Training
-
Development
< Back
Menu > School Administration and Management >
Financial Management
-
About Financial Management
-
Information on Subsidy
-
Notes to School Finance
< Back
Menu > School Administration and Management >
School Premises Related Information
-
Allocation of a School
-
Furniture and Equipment List for New Schools
-
School Premises Maintenance
< Back
Menu > Public and Administration Related >
Public Forms and Documents
-
Public Forms
-
Efficiency Office - Guide to Corporate Governance for Subvented Organisations
< Back
Menu > Public and Administration Related >
Tender Notices
-
Tender Notices
-
Works Tender Notice
Main content start

Suggested Time Allocation of OLE

In order to achieve the learning objectives of OLE – providing students with a broad and balanced curriculum with diverse learning experiences to foster whole-person development as well as consider the school-based development of the majority of schools, the suggested time allocation of OLE is 10% to 15% of the total lesson time for the continual enhancement of a balanced development of students through the five areas of OLE (Values Education, Community Service, Career-related Experiences, Aesthetic Development and Physical Development).

In response to the latest curriculum development of “Measures to Optimise the Four Senior Secondary Core Subjects”in 2021, schools should release lesson time and enhance curriculum flexibility to create space for students to facilitate them participate more actively in Other Learning Experiences, life-wide learning activities, and engage in other personal pursuits to cater for their different interests, abilities and aspirations. The new suggested time allocation of OLE is 10% or above effective from S4 in the 2021/22 school year. A maximum or minimum percentage is adopted in place of a rigid number to highlight this flexibility. Schools are encouraged to offer more learning experiences (e.g. cross-curricular activities) and adopt flexible timetabling to better support students with different learning needs.

For the details of the“Measures to Optimise the Four Senior Secondary Core Subjects”and time allocation for senior secondary, please refer to the "Supplementary Notes to the Secondary Education Curriculum Guide" (2017) published in June 2021.

Other Learning ExperiencesSuggested Time Allocation of OLE (in percentage) (Latest)
Values Education
10-15% (S6) and
≥ 10% (S4 and S5)

(For each area, schools have the flexibility to make adjustments accordingly upon their existing practices and strengths.)
Community Service
Career-related Experiences
Aesthetic Development
Physical Development
Schools are encouraged to have flexible planning of OLE (including time-tabled and non-time-tabled learning time) for students throughout the three years of the SS education. Besides, schools can make school-based arrangement upon their professional judgment and flexibility in the time allocation of OLE. All along, it is the quality of OLE that matters, rather than the quantity. Schools should facilitate students to deepen and consolidate their own learning through quality reflection so as to nurture students' life-long learning capability and foster their whole-person development. In the implementation of OLE, it is always NOT just about satisfying the suggested percentage of time allocation, due consideration should be given to the overall planning on the expected learning objectives and outcomes of the respective learning experiences.

Building on the strengths and experiences the school has already had, due consideration should be given to the suggested modes of implementation for each type of OLE. For example, Aesthetic Development and Physical Development could be largely implemented in the form of structured lessons, which are already available in many schools. Values Education is commonly provided in class teacher periods or the assemblies, specifically assigned lessons and other outside class events to develop positive values. Initiatives such as life-skills education, character education, ethics and religious education could be part of Values Education. Career-related Experiences and Community Service could be arranged after school, during post-examination time, weekends or school holidays if required.

Schools are encouraged to build OLE into their existing practices and strengths, review regularly to identify 'gaps' and 'over-dos', and make necessary adjustments accordingly. It is not quantity, but quality that matters. Try to avoid re-inventing the entire programmes or 'change for the sake of change'.

打印页面
< 返回
目录 > 有关教育局 >
表格及通告
-
表格
-
通告
< 返回
目录 > 有关教育局 >
年度开放数据计划
-
年度开放数据计划
-
公共资料
< 返回
目录 > 课程发展 >
主要教育层面
-
幼稚园教育
-
小学教育
-
中学教育
< 返回
目录 > 课程发展 >
评估
-
基本能力评估
-
参考资料
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
生涯规划教育及升学就业辅导
-
生涯规划教育
-
商校合作计划
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
安全事宜
-
学生安全
-
校巴服务
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
非华语学童
-
非华语学童教育服务
-
最新资讯
-
概览
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
计划及设施
-
计划
-
设施
< 返回
目录 > 教师相关 >
资格、培训与发展
-
资格
-
培训
-
发展
< 返回
目录 > 学校行政及管理 >
政策文件及报告
-
审计署署长第三十九号报告书小学教育
< 返回
目录 > 公共及行政相关 >
招标公告
-
招标公告
-
工程招标公告
主要內容

「其他学习经历」课时安排建议

为达至「其他学习经历」的学习目标 — 为学生提供宽广而多元的课程以促进学生全人发展,并考虑大部分学校的校本发展需要,「其他学习经历」的分配课时为总课时的10%至15%,让学生在五个范畴(体育发展、艺术发展、价值观教育、社会服务、与工作有关的经验)中,继续获得均衡发展。

配合2021年「高中四个核心科目的优化措施」最新课程发展,学校应腾出课时和增加课程弹性,为学生创造空间,让他们能更积极参与「其他学习经历」、全方位学习活动、发掘其他个人兴趣,以照顾学生的不同兴趣、能力和抱负。「其他学习经历」的最新分配课时由2021/22学年中四级开始定为总课时的10%或以上。以百分比的上限和下限取代硬性的数字正突显其弹性。学校应提供更多学习经历(例如跨课程活动),透过具弹性的时间表安排,支援学生的不同学习需要。

有关「高中四个核心科目的优化措施」及高中课时分配详情,可参考2021年6月公布的《中学教育课程指引》(2017) 补充说明

「其他学习经历」建议的总课时百分比(最新)
价值观教育

10-15%(中六级)

≥ 10%(中四及中五级)

(各范畴的课时比例,
由学校因应校本情况自行调适。)
社会服务
与工作有关的经验
艺术发展
体育发展

我们鼓励学校灵活规画三年高中的「其他学习经历」(包括上课时间表以内及以外的学习时间),专业自主,弹性处理。同时,「其他学习经历」应一如以往,重质不重量及强调反思,深化及巩固学生所学,培养终身学习的能力,促进学生全人发展。在推行「其他学习经历」时,学校不应只为满足课时指引的要求,而应全面考虑及规画有关学习经历的学习目的及所期望的学习成果。

建基于现有的优势和基础上,学校应仔细参考各种「其他学习经历」的建议推行模式。例如现时大部分学校均为艺术发展及体育发展提供固定课节,则此二者在高中课程亦可透过有系统的课堂学习推行。至于价值观教育,一般可运用班主任课、集会、特别安排的时段及其他课堂以外的项目推行,以建立正面的价值观。一些创新意念如生活技能教育、品格教育、伦理与宗教教育可以是价值观教育的组成部分。如有需要,与工作有关的经验及社会服务可安排于课后、考试结束后、周末或学校假期举行。

我们鼓励学校把「其他学习经历」建基于现有的优势或实践上,并透过定期检视找出「不足」和「过多」的部分,作出适时调整,重质而不重量,避免重新设计所有项目或「为了改变而改变」。