Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Community Care Fund Assistance Programme - Provision of Subsidy to Needy Primary and Secondary Students for Purchasing Mobile Computer Devices to Facilitate the Practice of e-Learning

Home | What's NewForms & ReferencesProfessional Development ProgrammesFAQ

 

Background and Objectives

The Education Bureau (EDB) has launched the Fourth Strategy on IT in Education in the 2015/16 school year and established WiFi campus for all public schools to facilitate e-learning through the use of mobile computer devices. A number of schools have adopted the “Bring Your Own Device” (BYOD) policy to further exploit the advantages of using mobile computer devices in learning. As the development of BYOD may create financial burden on students from low-income families, the Community Care Fund (CCF) has implemented this Assistance Programme, starting from the 2018/19 school year for three years, to subsidize needy primary and secondary students studying in public sector schools to purchase mobile computer devices.

  

Eligible Beneficiaries

The beneficiaries of the Assistance Programme must fulfill the following requirements:

1.     studying in government, aided (including special schools), caput, Direct Subsidy Scheme primary or secondary schools, and receiving Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) from the Social Welfare Department or full grant/half grant of the School Textbook Assistance Scheme from the Student Financial Office of the Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency; and 
2.     studying in schools and classes implementing e-learning and adopting BYOD.

  

Use of Subsidy

During the three-year implementation period, each eligible student will receive the subsidy for purchase of a mobile computer device once*. The amount of the subsidy will cover the cost of the mobile computer device, mobile computer device management system to be installed on the device, basic accessories (e.g. screen shields and protective covers) and a three-year warranty.

 

*When a student beneficiary is promoted or has changed to a new school using a different device and the original device could not meet the learning needs in the new school, the beneficiary could then apply for an additional subsidy for purchasing a new device. In such case, the student concerned is required to return the used device to the original school.

 

Level of Subsidy

For students receiving CSSA/full grant, subsidy will be provided to cover the full cost of the device and the items mentioned above. In the first year of the Assistance Programme, the maximum subsidy for each student is $4,500. In other words, the subsidy provided is the actual cost of the items or $4,500, whichever is lower. For students receiving half grant, the subsidy provided is half of the actual cost of the items up to $2,250. The maximum level of subsidy will be adjusted annually according to the movement of the Composite Consumer Price Index.

  

Disbursement Arrangements

To ensure that funding from CCF is used directly to subsidise needy primary and secondary students for purchasing mobile computer devices to facilitate e-learning, the subsidy will be disbursed to schools for purchasing the devices for their students. In the light of the design of their respective e-learning programmes and the needs of their students, schools can determine the device specifications on their own and make bulk purchase on behalf of their students.

  

Implementation Period

Since schools are at different stages of implementing e-learning, and have their own policy and time-table, they can participate in the Assistance Programme accordingly by phases during the three years implementation period starting from the 2018/19 school year. For details, please refer to the EDB Circular Memorandum No. 71/2018.

  

Enquiries

For enquiries, please contact the IT in Education Section of the Education Bureau at 3698 3670 or 3698 3584.

Last revision date: 28 May 2018
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要内容 跳至搜寻
列印本文

关爱基金援助项目–资助清贫中小学生购买流动电脑装置以实践电子学习

主页  | 最新消息表格及参考资料专业发展课程问与答

 

背景及目的

教育局于2015/16学年起推行「第四个资讯科技教育策略」,为全港公营中小学校建立无线网络校园,以便学生在课堂上使用流动电脑装置进行电子学习。部分学校开始推行学生「自携装置」政策,以进一步发挥使用流动电脑装置进行学习的优势。鉴于「自携装置」的发展有可能为低收入家庭的学生增加经济压力,因此关爱基金于2018/19学年起推行这援助项目,为期三年,资助这些学生,购买流动电脑装置。

 

合资格的受惠对象

受惠对象必须符合以下条件:

1.     就读官立、资助(包括特殊学校)、按位津贴或直接资助计划的中小学; 并正領取由社会福利署发放的综合社会保障援助(综援),或領取在职家庭及学生资助事务处辖下的学生资助处的学校书簿津贴计划全额资助(全津)或半额资助(半津);及
2.     就讀的学校及班别正推行电子学习,并建议学生自携流动电脑装置。

 

资助用途

在项目的三年推行期内,每名合资格的学生只可接受资助一次*。资助金额可用于购买流动电脑装置、在产品安装学校所需的流动装置管理系统、其他基本配件(例如萤幕保护贴及装置保护套),以及三年产品保养。

 

* 当受惠学生由小学升上中学,或于计划推行期间转校,而转读的学校采用不同装置,以致原有的装置未能配合在该校学习的需要,学生可申请额外发放一次资助购买另一部合用的装置,而有关学生须将原有装置交还原校。

 

资助金额

综援及全津学生可获得全额资助以购买上述产品,项目首年资助金额上限为4,500元。换言之,资助金额是购买上述产品的实际费用或4,500元,以较低者为准。半津学生则获得半额资助,资助金额上限则为2,250元。资助上限每年会按综合消费物价指數调整。

 

资助发放方法

为确保基金拨款直接用于资助清贫中小学生购买适用于学校推行电子学习的流动电脑装置,教育局会向学校发放资助,由学校代学生购买装置。学校可按本身电子学习的设计和学生需要,自行订立产品规格,由学校代学生进行集体采购。

 

推行期

由于学校推行电子学习的步伐不同,并且有自己的政策和时间表推行「自携装置」,因此学校可由2018/19学年开始分阶段參与项目。有关详情,请参阅教育局通函第71/2018号

  

查询

如有查询,请致电3698 3670或 3698 3584与教育局资讯科技教育组联络。

修订日期: 2018年5月28日
IPv6 电脑器材可浏览本网站遵守2A级无障碍图示,万维网联盟(W3C)- 无障碍网页倡议(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本标示语言(HTML)4.01严格版