Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Choosing Kindergarten FAQ

Choosing A Good Kindergarten - Questions and Answers

1. How can I choose a quality kindergarten?
  You may learn about schools' mission, philosophy of education, teacher qualifications as well as fees and charges through the school websites, pamphlets and the Profile of Kindergartens and Kindergarten-cum-Child Care Centres. You may also pay school visits and talk with the teaching staff to gain a better understanding of the schools, in order to find a suitable one for your children. A quality kindergarten should have the following characteristics (For details, please refer to Guide to the Pre-primary Curriculum – Parent Booklet):
  • providing a safe and hygienic premises
  • offering a stimulating learning environment
  • providing ample and diversified facilities
  • employing teachers who are professional, visionary and caring
  • implementing a balanced curriculum
  • organising diversified learning activities
  • emphasising on cultivating in children positive learning attitudes, and developing good character and healthy habits


2. What is quality kindergarten education?
  The core value to kindergarten education lies in “child-centeredness”. A kindergarten that provides quality education always takes into careful consideration children’s characteristics and developmental needs when setting up the school environment. A diversified learning environment can facilitate the development of children in different domains. If a kindergarten’s curriculum places great emphasis on reading, writing and numeracy, it fails to cater for children’s learning needs. Asking children to write too early or assigning mechanical exercises will stifle their interest in learning. Children may even become reluctant to learn. In fact, children are active learners who are curious and interested in exploration. They learn through their life experiences, sensory stimulation and interesting activities. Hence, learning should be integrated into daily life and children should learn through play. Instead of focusing on children’s academic achievement, quality kindergarten education will foster children’s all-round development in the domains of physical development, cognitive and language development, affective and social development and aesthetic development.

3. Is the quality of international kindergartens better than that of local kindergartens?
  International kindergartens are kindergartens intended for non-Chinese speaking children. The major difference between international and local kindergartens is the medium of instruction, with the former adopting languages other than Chinese, like English and Japanese. Therefore, when comparing and assessing the quality of these two types of kindergartens, parents should consider the schools' mission, curriculum, learning environment, facilities and teacher qualifications, on top of the medium of instruction.

4. Is the quality of “famous kindergartens” better than that of ordinary kindergartens?
  It takes a long time for a kindergarten to establish its reputation. A “famous kindergarten” must have its attributes and strengths in order to become “famous”. Hence, a good reputation can be one of the indicators for parents in choosing a quality kindergarten. However, some ‘famous kindergartens’ are actually not performing as good as perceived. They may fail to provide children with quality kindergarten education. No matter how long the history of a kindergarten is, it takes more than just outstanding teaching staff, well-balanced curriculum etc. to maintain the quality of its education and care services. The most important thing is whether the sponsoring body of the kindergarten has a vision and be innovative enough to lead the kindergarten to provide the aforementioned quality education in response to the ever-changing demands of education as time goes by.

5. Will those kindergartens adopting innovative teaching approaches guarantee quality education?
  Some of the teaching approaches adopted by Hong Kong kindergartens include project approach, whole language approach, Montessori, Reggio Emilia Approach, etc. Each method/approach has its own characteristics and underlying rationale. For example, Montessori stresses structured sensory learning to facilitate children's understanding of the learning content. To guarantee quality education, a school should promote children’s holistic development through appropriate activities and everyday experience in a pleasurable environment. Therefore, the teaching approach adopted by a school only constitutes part of quality teaching. Other factors, such as the quality of teachers and resources available, should also be considered. Parents are encouraged to talk with the school principal and teachers to understand their views regarding children learning. They may also observe children's behaviour in school. By doing so, parents will be able to learn about the characteristics and operation of a kindergarten from different perspectives.

6. Will those kindergartens which provide lots of extra-curricular activities guarantee quality education?
  Many parents have high expectations towards their children and thus enrol their children in lots of interest groups. Due to the confidence parents have towards kindergarten teachers, they tend to believe in the quality of the extra-curricular activities organised by kindergartens. As a result, kindergartens are often expected to organise extra-curricular activities at the request of parents. However, will the teachers be too exhausted to teach effectively if they are required to work 6-7 days in a week? Parents should instead talk with their children and answer their questions, tell/read them stories, go on visits and trips with them, etc. so as to enrich their children’s life experiences and exposure to general knowledge.

7. At what age are children suitable for entering kindergarten?
  Normally, children at the age of three are ready for kindergarten education. However, since many parents prefer their children to enter kindergartens earlier so as to enter primary one at the right age, the minimum age of admission for kindergartens as at September was relaxed to 2 years 8 months starting from the 2001/02 school year.

8. What should we do to prepare our children for the school admission interview?
  An ideal kindergarten should foster children’s holistic development through appropriate activities and everyday experiences in a pleasurable environment. All admission interviews should share the same rationale and be activity-based in order to eliminate the pressure imposed on children. Children start their first learning in kindergartens, which should not require them to possess any prior knowledge. Instead of drilling their young children for admission interviews and exerting pressure on them, parents are advised to give them more opportunities to play and communicate with others. Children will then be able to act and talk naturally in front of strangers.

9. Which districts have more quality kindergartens?
  Quality kindergartens can be found in all districts. Parents should consider those kindergartens that are close to home to avoid long distance travelling. Parents may browse the Profile of Kindergartens and Kindergarten-cum-Child Care Centres and the uploaded Quality Review Reports to gain a better understanding of the quality and characteristics of individual kindergartens before they make their choices.

10. What is your comment on kindergartens offering "bi-literate and trilingual" learning?
  "Bi-literate" means written Chinese and English, while "trilingual" means spoken Chinese (Cantonese), English and Putonghua. Since the mother tongue of most children in Hong Kong is Cantonese, the medium of instruction for kindergarten education should be Cantonese as well, so as to facilitate communication and enhance learning effectiveness. At present, a majority of kindergartens in Hong Kong provide children with various forms of learning activities in English and Putonghua. To allow children to learn in an enjoyable and pressure-free environment, these activities should be authentic and meet the developmental needs of children. As models of language learning for children, teachers must speak English and Putonghua with accurate pronunciation and use the languages correctly.

11. Which kindergartens can guarantee their graduates to proceed directly to primary schools?
  As all kindergartens in Hong Kong are privately run, none of them can guarantee their graduates to proceed directly to a particular government or aided primary school. The existing Primary One Admission (POA) System is designed to eliminate the intense competition to enter popular primary schools, and to reduce the pressure of examining young children as well as the adverse effect on education at kindergarten level. The POA System is divided into "Discretionary Places Admission" stage and "Central Allocation" stage. Please refer to the Primary One Admission System for details.
Private primary schools, Direct Subsidy Scheme schools and English Schools Foundation primary schools are not in the System. Parents may apply to these schools directly. Under normal circumstances, graduates of a kindergarten affiliated to a private primary school are more likely to be admitted to that primary school.

12. Can those kindergartens that adopt test and exams as a means of assessment better prepare their graduates for primary school education?
  Assessment of children is essential for teachers to scrutinize the progress of each child and adjust their teaching accordingly. However, tests and exams can only assess children’s partial and fragmented knowledge. Rather than reflecting a comprehensive picture of the performance and overall development of children, tests and exams impose unnecessary pressure on them. Kindergartens should instead adopt formative and summative assessment methods flexibly. Teachers should analyse children’s abilities and performance objectively, based on observation and recording. The information obtained can then accurately reflect children’s development.

Last revision date: 31 March 2015
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

打印页面
< 返回
目录 > 有关教育局 >
表格及通告
-
表格
-
通告
< 返回
目录 > 有关教育局 >
年度开放数据计划
-
年度开放数据计划
-
公共资料
< 返回
目录 > 课程发展 >
主要教育层面
-
幼稚园教育
-
小学教育
-
中学教育
< 返回
目录 > 课程发展 >
评估
-
基本能力评估
-
参考资料
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
升学就业辅导
-
生涯规划
-
商校合作计划
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
特殊教育
-
融情
-
家长及公众教育
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
非华语学童
-
非华语学童教育服务
-
最新资讯
-
概览
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
计划及设施
-
计划
-
设施
< 返回
目录 > 教师相关 >
资格、培训与发展
-
资格
-
培训
-
发展
< 返回
目录 > 学校行政及管理 >
政策文件及报告
-
审计署署长第三十九号报告书小学教育
< 返回
目录 > 公共及行政相关 >
招标公告
-
招标公告
-
工程招标公告
主要內容

优质幼稚园问与答

优质幼稚园问与答

1. 我应如何选择优质幼稚园?
  家长可从学校网页、简章、幼稚园及幼稚园暨幼儿中心概览等认识有关学校的办学宗旨、教育理念、师资和收费等,亦可亲自参观学校,与教职员面谈,以便加深对学校的了解,为子女选择合适的幼稚园。一所优质的幼稚园应具备以下的特徵(详情可参阅《学前教育课程指引 – 家长版》):
  • 安全卫生的校舍
  • 富启发性的学习环境
  • 资源丰富的设施
  • 专业而有抱负和爱心的教师
  • 均衡的课程
  • 多元化的学习活动
  • 注重培养儿童积极的学习态度、良好的品格和健康的生活习惯


2. 什麽才算是优质的幼稚园教育?
  优质幼稚园教育的核心价值是以「儿童为中心」,根据儿童的发展需要、生活经验和兴趣,创设启发他们多元智能的环境。若幼稚园的课程只着重指导儿童在读、写、算方面的学习,不但否忽略儿童的学习特性,而且过早强求儿童执笔写字,或强逼他们作机械化的练习,会容易导致他们对学习产生厌倦,什至抗拒学习。天性好奇及好动的儿童是需要从各种感观来学习有关人、事、物的各种知识,所以学习要生活化,让儿童透过游戏方式来学习,不能只偏重学术,要让儿童在身体、认知和语言、情意和群性、美感方面得到均衡的发展。

3. 国际幼稚园的质素是否一般比本地幼稚园好?
  国际幼稚园是指为非华语儿童提供服务的幼稚园,它们与本地幼稚园主要不同的地方是采用非华语作为主要的教学语言,如英语、日语等。因此,不能只就不同授课语言作比较。家长应就幼稚园的办学理念,所提供的课程、环境、设备和师资等,衡量其质素。

4. 「名幼稚园」的质素是否比一般幼稚园好?
  一所幼稚园要经过悠久的岁月才能建立校誉,能够成为「名幼稚园」,必然有它引以为傲和卓越之处,所以口碑和校誉可以作为家长的参考指标之一。不过,也有一些所谓「名幼稚园」只是浪得虚名,未必真正符合优质幼稚园的条件。无论幼稚园的历史有多久,要维持优质教育与照顾服务,不单需要具备优良的师资、均衡的课程等条件,最重要的是办学者能否有远大的目光及敢於革新的精神,带领幼稚园与时并进,适切地回应时代变迁对教育的要求,为儿童提供上述的优质幼稚园教育。

5. 一些采用崭新教学法的幼稚园是否保证能提供优质教育?
  香港的幼稚园采用的教学法,计有全语文、蒙特梭利、瑞吉欧等,每种教学法都有其特色及深层的理念。要评鉴学校是否提供优质教育,最重要的是视乎学校所倡导的办学理念能否让儿童在自然愉快的环境中,透过适切活动及生活体验,得到各方面均衡的发展。基於这个原则,学校所采用的教学法其实只是质素教学的一部分,另外,还需要配合教师的质素和学校的资源等。故家长不妨多与校长和教师倾谈,以了解他们对儿童学习方面的心得,并观察校内儿童的表现,以期从多方面认识学校的特色和运作。

6. 设有大量课外活动的幼稚园是否保证能提供优质教育?
  很多家长希望尽早栽培子女成材,课余也会让儿童参加各式各样的兴趣班。因为家长对幼稚园教师十分信任,对学校开设兴趣班的质素有信心,所以开设课余兴趣班也渐渐成为家长对幼稚园的诉求。但从另一个角度看,教师如果一星期工作六至七天,周而复始,他们还有心力为儿童计划各种教学活动,还有精力应付每天的教学工作吗?家长应多与孩子沟通、跟他们讲故事、多带他们到处游览和参观,丰富他们的生活经验和拓宽知识面,比参加坊间的兴趣班,更有助儿童各方面的发展。

7. 多大年纪的幼儿才适合入读幼稚园?
  一般三岁的幼儿,在身体及心智发展方面均达一定成熟的程度,故儿童足三岁才入学,是比较理想的安排。由於社会人士一般都希望儿童入读幼稚园和小学的年龄可以互相配合,故由2001/02年起,所有在九月入读幼稚园的儿童的最低年龄放宽为两岁八个月。

8. 我们应该为孩子准备什麽以应付入学面试?
  一所理想的幼稚园应让儿童在自然愉快的环境中,透过适切活动及生活体验,达至各方面均衡的发展。基於此目标,任何入学面试都应以相同的概念,以活动形式进行,使儿童没有面试的压力。幼稚园是儿童开展学习的第一站,幼稚园不会要求儿童在入学前已具备任何知识,家长亦不应操练两岁多的幼儿去应付面试,增添幼儿的压力,只要多给予儿童与人沟通和一起玩的机会,使儿童在面对陌生人时表现自然,愿意与人沟通便可。

9. 哪些区域比较多优质幼稚园?
  香港各个区域均有表现优异的幼稚园,故此家长在选校时,应多考虑一些距离住所不太远的学校,以免幼儿要长途跋涉跨区上学。另外,公众人士可透过幼稚园及幼稚园暨幼儿中心概览和已上载的质素评核报告,详细了解个别幼稚园的质素和特色,以便选择心仪的学校。

10. 你们如何评价提供「两文三语」学习的幼稚园?
  「两文三语」包括中文、英文、粤语、英语和普通话。由於香港大多数的儿童都以粤语为母语,幼稚园应以粤语为教学语言,让儿童易於沟通,提升学习成效。现时本港大部分幼稚园有为儿童提供不同形式的英语和普通话活动;然而,此类接触语文的活动应切合儿童的心智发展及从现实中取材,使儿童在没有压力的情况下愉快学习。教师作为儿童的重要「语言模范」,亦应在英语和普通话的口语表达方面准确流利。

11. 有哪些幼稚园可确保毕业生直升小学?
  香港的幼稚园均属私营,因此不可以确保幼稚园毕业生直升官立或资助小学。现行小一入学统筹办法施行的主要目的,是为消除争相进入较受欢迎小学的激烈情况,以及降低对幼童带来的学习压力和对幼稚园教育的不良影响。小一入学统筹办法包括「自行分配学位」阶段及「统一派位」阶段,有关详情可浏览小一入学统筹办法
私立小学、直接资助计划(直资)小学及英基学校协会属下小学的小一学位,并不在小一入学统筹办法内,家长可自行向这些学校申请报读。在一般情况下,附属於私立小学的幼稚园,其毕业生有很大机会入读该小学。

12. 以纸笔测考儿童的幼稚园是否更能为他们作好升小学的准备?
  评估儿童学习是必须的。教师可了解每个儿童的发展情况,并能根据儿童的需要来调节教学安排。然而,测验和考试只能片面和零碎地考核儿童的所识所知,不能全面反映儿童的能力表现和整体发展情况,更对儿童造成不必要的压力。幼稚园应通过持续观察、记录和以客观的态度来分析儿童的能力表现,使评估能更真实地反映儿童发展的状况。