Schools Required to Establish IMCs

 

Education (Amendment) Ordinance 2004 PDF (210 KB) came into operation on 1 January 2005.  Under the Education Ordinance (the Ordinance) which has undergone amendment through Education (Amendment) Ordinance 2004, sponsoring bodies of all aided schools are required to submit, in respect of each of their aided schools, a draft constitution of its incorporated management committee (IMC) and a list of proposed managers to the Permanent Secretary for Education  in order to set up the IMC to manage the school. DSS schools and specified schools may, according to their own needs, opt to establish an IMC under the Ordinance.

  

The Ordinance clearly defines the functions of a sponsoring body and an IMC as well as the latter's power. It also stipulates that the composition of the IMC shall include: sponsoring body managers, elected parent and teacher manager(s), the principal (an ex-officio member), the alumni manager(s) and independent manager(s).  In addition, if the IMC constitution allows not more than one parent manager and one teacher manager, there shall be an alternate manager for each of the two categories of manager.  The Ordinance also provides for matters relating to the operation of an IMC and its constitution, the selection of the principal and the functions of the supervisor.

 
 The provisions for establishment of IMCs to manage schools are applicable to :
 
 *  Operating Aided Schools (including school with school management company)
 *  Planned Aided Schools

 

In addition, the following schools could also opt to establish an IMC  :

 

 *  Operating DSS Schools and Specified Schools
 *  Planned DSS Schools

  

 

Related Provision:

  

   

Question:            
Given that the school management committees of some aided schools have already registered as a limited company, do they have to apply to set up an IMC?
  Answer:
Schools are required to set up an IMC under the Education Ordinance.  Even though the school management committee has already registered as a limited company, the law still requires it to set up an IMC.  The procedures for IMC establishment are the same as those in aided schools.

 

 

Question:            
Would the school management company be dissolved after the establishment of an IMC?
  Answer:
On the date of establishment of an IMC of the school, the school management company of the school is deemed to be dissolved under section 291A(1) of the Companies Ordinance (Cap. 32).  The Registrar of Companies will strike the school management company of the school off the register of companies.  For details of dissolution of school management company and transitional provisions for dissolution of school management company, please refer to Sections 40BQ and 40BR of the Education Ordinance.

   

 

Question:            
Regarding “through-train” schools, do they need to set up one IMC or two IMCs?
  Answer:
If the primary and secondary sessions of a "through-train" school are registered under the name of one school, they will only need to set up one IMC.  If they are registered separately, then two IMCs will have to be set up.

 

 

   

top back

设立法团校董会的学校

 

《2004年教育(修订)条例》 PDF (827KB)於2005年1月1日起实施。经该条例修订的《教育条例》(条例)规定,各资助学校的办学团体必须向教育局常任秘书长呈递法团校董会的章程草稿及建议的校董名单,以便为其属下的每所资助学校成立法团校董会,负责管理学校。直接资助学校及指明学校可按本身需要,选择是否根据条例,成立法团校董会。

 

条例清楚界定办学团体及法团校董会的职能,及法团校董会的权力。同时,条例亦订定法团校董会的组成,须包括以下人士:办学团体校董、选出的家长校董、选出的教员校董、校长(当然校董)、校友校董及独立校董。此外,如法团校董会章程只设一名家长校董及一名教员校董,则须就相关界别各设一名替代校董。条例亦同时就法团校董会的章程及运作、校长遴选事宜、校监的职能等作出规定。

 
 

有关成立法团校董会以管理学校的条文,适用於下列学校: 

 
*  现有资助学校(包括已设有学校管理公司的学校)
*   筹办中的资助学校
 

 

另下列学校亦可选择成立法团校董会:

 

 *  现有直资学校或指明学校
 *  筹办中的直资学校

  

 

相关条文:

 

 

问:            
个别资助学校的校董会早已注册成为有限公司,这些学校是否须要成立法团校董会?
  答:
成立法团校董会是条例的要求,纵使学校的校董会早已注册成为有限公司,仍须按《教育条例》规定成立法团校董会,而成立的程序与其他资助学校无异。

 

 

问:            
法团校董会成立後,是否须要解散学校管理公司?
  答:
当学校成立法团校董会後,该校的学校管理公司即被当作根据《公司条例》(第32章)第291A(1)条解散;公司注册处处长会将该学校管理公司自公司登记册中剔除。有关解散学校管理公司及过渡性条文,可参考《教育条例》第40BQ条及第40BR条。

 

 

问:            
「一条龙」学校是否需要成立一个或两个法团校董会?
  答:
「一条龙」学校的中、小学部如同属一个学校注册,只须成立一个法团校董会。如果是分别注册,则须成立两个法团校董会。

 

 

页首 返回