print page
< Back
Menu > About EDB >
Forms & Circulars
-
Forms
-
Circulars
< Back
Menu > About EDB >
Annual Open Data Plans
-
Annual Open Data Plans
-
Public Sector Information
< Back
Menu > Curriculum Development >
Major Levels of Education
-
Kindergarten Education
-
Primary Education
-
Secondary Education
< Back
Menu > Curriculum Development >
Assessment
-
Basic Competency Assessment (BCA)
-
References
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Career Guidance
-
Life Planning
-
Business-School Partnership Programme
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Special Education
-
Newsletter
-
Parent and Public Education
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students
-
Education services for non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students
-
What's new
-
Overview
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
IT Education in Schools
-
Resources for Students and Parents
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Programs and Services
-
Programs
-
Services
< Back
Menu > Teachers Related >
Qualifications, Training and Development
-
Qualification
-
Training
-
Development
< Back
Menu > School Administration and Management >
Financial Management
-
About Financial Management
-
Information on Subsidy
-
Notes to School Finance
< Back
Menu > School Administration and Management >
School Premises Related Information
-
Allocation of a School
-
Furniture and Equipment List for New Schools
-
School Premises Maintenance
< Back
Menu > Public and Administration Related >
Public Forms and Documents
-
Public Forms
-
Efficiency Office - Guide to Corporate Governance for Subvented Organisations
< Back
Menu > Public and Administration Related >
Tender Notices
-
Tender Notices
-
Works Tender Notice
Main content start

Primary School Education

 
Overview

The Government's policy objectives are to:

  • provide 12 years' free primary and secondary education to all children through public sector schools. In addition, the Government provides full subvention for full-time courses run by the Vocational Training Council for Secondary 3 leavers to offer an alternative free avenue for senior secondary students outside mainstream education;
  • provide a balanced and diversified school education that suits the different needs of students to help them construct knowledge, develop generic skills, and foster positive values and attitudes with a view to laying a firm foundation for further studies or work, to facilitate their healthy growth and whole-person development, as well as to nurture their lifelong learning capabilities;
  • enhance students’ proficiency in biliterate and trilingual communication;
  • enhance teaching quality and effectiveness in learning;
  • improve the learning and teaching environment;
  • provide students having special educational needs (SEN) with education services to develop their potential to the full;
  • help newly-arrived children (including newly-arrived children from the Mainland, non-Chinese speaking children and returnee children) integrate into the local community and overcome learning difficulties; and
  • enhance the quality, flexibility and accountability of school administration.

In the 2019/20 school year, there are 587 primary schools, 504 secondary day schools and 61 aided special schools.

 

Programme Highlights

The Government aims to raise the quality of primary school education:

  • by implementing whole-day primary schooling

    The Government aims to enable all primary school students to enjoy whole-day schooling.  Except one school, all government and aided primary schools have been converted into whole-day operation.  The Government would adopt a pragmatic and flexible approach in working out with the remaining bi-sessional school on an agreed whole-day conversion plan.  More details are available on the webpage of Major Initiatives - Whole-day Primary Schooling.

     

  • by implementing small class teaching (SCT) in public sector primary schools

    The Chief Executive has announced in the 2007-08 Policy Address that the Government will, where circumstances permit, implement SCT in public sector schools by phases, starting from Primary 1 in the 2009/10 school year and extending progressively to cover Primary 1 to Primary 6 by the 2014/15 school year.  The Government has been pragmatic and flexible with the implementation, taking into account the latest projection of school-aged student population, the availability of classrooms and schools’ development needs.  More details are available on the webpage of Small Class Teaching.  

     

  • by promoting the use of information technology (IT) in teaching and learning

    The Government launched the first, second and third IT in Education Strategies in 1998, 2004 and 2008 respectively to tie in with the global trend of harnessing IT to facilitate learning and teaching.  Building on the strengths and experiences of the previous strategies on Information Technology in Education (ITEd), the Government launched the Fourth Strategy on Information Technology in Education in the 2015/16 school year.  It is formulated to unleash the learning power of all our students to learn to learn and to excel through realising the potential of IT in enhancing interactive learning and teaching experiences.  To achieve this goal, the Government has adopted a holistic approach under which six actions are implemented.  More details are available on the webpage of the IT in Education.

     

  • by ongoing renewal of the school curriculum

    The curriculum reform is now moving towards continual curriculum renewal.  We will review and update relevant curriculum guides as necessary, and provide support to primary school heads, curriculum leaders and teachers, so as to foster students’ whole-person development and equip them for coping with different local and global changes.  More details are available on the webpage of Curriculum Development.

     

  • by enhancing the biliterate and trilingual abilities of students

    Our language policy is that students should be literate in both Chinese and English and be able to speak fluent Cantonese, Putonghua and English.  The Education Bureau (EDB)’s measures to enhance “biliteracy and trilingualism” include:

    • conducting ongoing curriculum reviews and updating the Chinese Language Education and English Language Education Key Learning Area Curriculum Guides to provide schools with suggestions for language curriculum development and planning;
    • providing the Putonghua curriculum, which covers Primary 1 to Secondary 3, to allow students more opportunities for practice;
    • encouraging schools to extend “Reading to Learn” to “Reading across the Curriculum” and “Language across the Curriculum” with a view to connecting students’ learning experiences in different subjects and broadening their knowledge base;
    • providing a new “Promotion of Reading Grant” to encourage the promotion of reading in schools starting from the 2018/19 school year;
    • starting from the 2014/15 school year, stepping up the support for non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students in learning the Chinese Language through, among others, the implementation of the “Chinese Language Curriculum Second Language Learning Framework” in primary and secondary schools, and providing diversified learning and teaching resources to schools; and
    • continuing to provide various professional development programmes for language teachers, language learning and teaching resources, and school-based language learning support services so as to enhance their teaching effectiveness.

    • by improving the learning environment

      School premises completed in recent years, some 40% bigger than the standard designs of 1995 in terms of total floor areas, provide more facilities and open space to meet the latest requirements for effective learning and teaching.  Most of them are individually designed by architects in the market, taking into consideration their physical locations and the educational visions of the school sponsoring bodies.  We have also put in place various measures to enhance facilities and environment for school premises built in accordance with the building standards at the time of construction.

       

    • by providing education services for newly arrived children and young people

      We are closely monitoring the admission of newly arrived children and young people to ensure that there are adequate school places and support services to cater for their educational needs. In parallel, we have been providing the following support services for these children and young people to help them integrate into the local school system as soon as possible -

      • school placement assistance
      • Induction Programme
      • Initiation Programme
      • School-based Support Scheme Grant
      More details are available on the webpage on Education and Support Services for Newly Arrived Children.

      • by adopting a dual-track mode in delivering special education

        We will, subject to the assessment and recommendations of specialists and the consent of parents, refer students with more severe or multiple disabilities to special schools for intensive support services.  Other students with special educational needs (SEN) will attend ordinary schools.  According to their types, the EDB will provide aided special schools with additional teachers, specialists and extra resources to meet the diverse needs of their students.  Some of the aided special schools operate a boarding section concurrently to provide boarding service.  The EDB has all along been promoting integrated education in accordance with five basic principles of early identification, early intervention, Whole School Approach, home-school co-operation and cross-sector collaboration.  In addition to the regular subvention, the EDB provides public sector ordinary schools with additional resources, professional support and teacher training to help schools cater for students with SEN.  In the 2019/20 school year, all public sector ordinary schools have been provided with Special Educational Needs Coordinator (SENCO) to support integrated education.  Concurrently, for schools with comparatively large number of students with SEN, the rank of their SENCO has been upgraded to a promotion rank.  More details are available on the webpage of Special Education.

打印页面
< 返回
目录 > 有关教育局 >
表格及通告
-
表格
-
通告
< 返回
目录 > 有关教育局 >
年度开放数据计划
-
年度开放数据计划
-
公共资料
< 返回
目录 > 课程发展 >
主要教育层面
-
幼稚园教育
-
小学教育
-
中学教育
< 返回
目录 > 课程发展 >
评估
-
基本能力评估
-
参考资料
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
升学就业辅导
-
生涯规划
-
商校合作计划
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
特殊教育
-
融情
-
家长及公众教育
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
非华语学童
-
非华语学童教育服务
-
最新资讯
-
概览
< 返回
目录 > 学生及家长相关 >
计划及设施
-
计划
-
设施
< 返回
目录 > 教师相关 >
资格、培训与发展
-
资格
-
培训
-
发展
< 返回
目录 > 学校行政及管理 >
政策文件及报告
-
审计署署长第三十九号报告书小学教育
< 返回
目录 > 公共及行政相关 >
招标公告
-
招标公告
-
工程招标公告
主要內容

小学教育


概览

政府的政策目标是:

  • 透过公营学校为所有儿童提供12年免费小学及中学教育,并已全面资助职业训练局为修毕中三学生开办的全日制课程,为他们提供主流教育以外的另一个免费进修途径;
  • 提供五育并重及多元化的学校教育,以配合学生的不同需要,协助他们建构知识,培养共通能力、正面的价值观和态度,为日后升学或就业打稳基础,以及促进他们健康成长和全人发展,并培养终身学习的能力;
  • 提高学生两文三语的能力;
  • 提高教学质素和学习成效;
  • 改善教学与学习环境;
  • 为有特殊教育需要的学生提供适当的教育服务,帮助他们充分发展潜能;
  • 协助新来港儿童及青少年(包括内地新来港儿童、非华语儿童及回流儿童)融入本地社区及克服学习困难;及
  • 提高学校行政工作的质素和灵活性,并加强问责性。

 

在二零二零至二一学年,全港共有589所小学、506所日间中学及62所特殊学校。

 

工作重点


政府致力透过下列措施,提高小学的教育质素:

  • 推行小学全日制

    政府的目标是全面推行小学全日制,让所有小学生都能够享受全日制学校教育。除了一所学校外,现时所有政府及资助小学均已转为全日制授课。政府会采用务实而又具弹性的方法,与余下的半日制学校拟订转全日制学校的计划。有关详情请浏览重点措施 - 小学全日制网页。

     

  • 公营小学实施小班教学

    行政长官在2007-08年的施政报告中公布,政府将由2009/10学年起,在条件许可的情况下,于公营小学的小一班级开始,分阶段实施小班教学,并会逐年推展至2014/15学年,涵盖小一至小六所有班级。在推行小班教学时,政府采取务实而灵活的方式,包括考虑最新的学龄人口推算数字、课室的供应和学校发展的需要等。有关详情请浏览小班教学网页。

     

  • 推广资讯科技教育

    政府分别在1998、2004及2008年推行了第一、第二及第三个资讯科技教育策略,以配合善用资讯科技以促进学与教的全球趋势。建基于以往资讯科技教育策略已奠定的基础及优势,政府于2015/16学年推行第四个资讯科技教育策略,旨在透过发挥资讯科技的潜能,提升学与教的互动经验,以释放学生的学习能量,让学生学会学习、迈向卓越。为实践这目标,政府以全方位策略来推行六个行动方案。有关详情,可参阅资讯科技教育网页。

     

  • 学校课程持续更新

    香港的学校课程发展已迈进持续更新的阶段,我们会按需要更新相关课程指引,并为小学的校长、课程领导及教师提供支援,以促进学生的全人发展及装备他们面对本地和世界的各种转变。有关详情请浏览课程发展网页。

     

  • 提高中小学学生的两文三语能力

    香港的语文政策是要让学生通晓中英兩种语文,同时又能說流利的广东话、普通话和英语。教育局提升学生「兩文三语」水平的措施包括:

    • 持续检视课程,更新中国语文、英国语文教育学习领域课程指引,为学校提供语文课程发展及规划的建议;
    • 普通话科课程涵盖小一至中三,为学生提供更多实践普通话的机会;
    • 建议学校由「从阅读中学习」推展至「跨课程阅读」及「跨课程语文学习」,以连系学生在不同学科的学习经历,并拓宽学生的知识基础;
    • 由2018/19学年起,向学校提供一项全新的「推广阅读津贴」,鼓励学校推广阅读;
    • 由2014/15学年开始,进一步加强支援非华语学生学习中文,其中包括在中小学实施「中国语文课程第二语言学习架构」,以及为学校提供多元化的学与教资源;
    • 持续为语文教师举办不同的专业发展课程、提供支援学与教的材料、推行校本语文教学支援服务,以帮助提升教师的教学效能。

     

  • 改善学习环境

    近年落成新校舍的楼面总面积较1995年的标准校舍增加了约40%,提供更多设施和更充足的活动空间,以配合最新的教学要求,并大多聘用市场的建筑师因应地理环境和办学团体的办学理念而独立设计。我们亦一直透过不同安排,为按昔日标准兴建的学校,提升教学设施及校舍环境。

     

  • 新来港儿童及青少年提供的教育服务

    我们正密切留意新来港儿童及青少年来港的情况,以确保有足够学额及支援服务配合他们对教育的需求。同时,我们会继续为这些儿童及青少年提供支援服务,以协助他们尽快融入本港的学校制度。这些服务包括 -

    • 协助他们入学
    • 适应课程
    • 启动课程
    • 校本支援计划津贴

      有关详情,可参阅新来港儿童教育及支援服务的网页。



  • 采用「双轨制」推行特殊教育

    我们根据专业人士的评估和建议,在家长的同意下,转介有较严重或多重残疾的学生入读特殊学校,以便接受加强支援服务;其他有特殊教育需要的学生,则会入读普通学校。教育局为相关类别的资助特殊学校提供额外的教师、专责人员和额外资源,以照顾学生的不同需要。部分资助特殊学校更附设宿舍部,提供寄宿服务。教育局一直秉持「及早识别」、「及早支援」、「全校参与」、「家校合作」和「跨界别协作」五个基本原则推动融合教育,并在发放常规资助外,向公营普通学校提供额外资源、专业支援和教师培训,协助学校照顾有特殊教育需要的学生。于2019/20学年,所有公营普通学校均获增设特殊教育需要统筹主任,支援融合教育。同时,取录较多有特殊教育需要学生的学校,其统筹主任职位更获提升至晋升职级。有关详情,请浏览特殊教育网页。