Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Graduate Teacher Posts in Aided Primary Schools

Background

 

It has all along been the Government’s target to achieve the all-graduate teaching force. To attract talents to serve in the primary education sector and for schools concerned to recruit a pool of professionals with good leadership skills, the Government accepted the Education Commission’s recommendation in its Report No.5 in 1993 to turn 35% of its primary school teaching posts into graduate teacher posts and it was achieved in the 2001/02 school year. In the 2008/09 and 2009/10 school years, the Education Bureau (EDB) increased the ratio of graduate teacher posts in public sector primary schools to 45% and 50% respectively. Subsequently, starting from the 2015/16 school year, the ratio of graduate teacher posts in public sector primary schools was further increased by phases in three years, i.e. increasing from 50% to 55%, 60% and 65% in the 2015/16, 2016/17 and 2017/18 school years respectively. Besides, starting from the 2008/09 school year, the rank of Senior Primary School Master/Mistress (SPSM) was created by the EDB as the deputy head or the head of a primary school of smaller scale.

 

The Government announced in the Chief Executive’s 2017 Policy Address that an in-depth review would be carried out on the professional development of teachers. The EDB set up the Task Force on Professional Development of Teachers (the Task Force) in November 2017 to review and further promote teachers’ professional development, which includes the drawing up of a timetable for an all-graduate teaching force and proposing directional recommendations. Based on the results of the extensive consultation, the Task Force has comprehended the views and rationale in the sector for the full implementation of the all-graduate teaching force policy as soon as possible, and considered carefully whether the pace of implementation could match the professional development of teachers and readiness of schools. After in-depth discussions, the Task Force recommended that the policy on an all-graduate teaching force should be implemented as soon as practicable so as to raise the professional status of teachers, retain and attract talents into the teaching profession, and enhance the quality of education. The Government accepted the recommendation of the Task Force and the Chief Executive announced in the 2018 Policy Address that the all-graduate teaching force policy would be implemented in public sector primary and secondary schools in one go in the 2019/20 school year. Schools may, taking into account their school-based circumstances, achieve full implementation in two years by the 2020/21 school year.

 

Roles and functions of different ranks in the graduate grade

 

Teaching Staff Establishment in aided primary schools (including special schools)

 

Appointment of Student Guidance Teachers as Primary School Masters/Mistresses (Student Guidance Teacher)

 

Form on “Regrading to Graduate Teachers in Primary Schools”

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

 

Powerpoint slides of the briefing session on 1 April 2019: (1) Policy Highlights  (2) Analysis of FAQs (Chinese version only)

 

 

Reference Materials

(a) Sections 60-61 on “Promotion and Regrading”

(b) Appendix 2A on “Teaching Staff Establishment, Educational Psychologist and Assistant Social Work Officer of Aided Primary Schools”

(c) Appendix 5/Attachment D1, D2-E on “Guides to Appointment”

(a) Sections 65-66 on “Promotion and Regrading”

(b) Appendix 2 on “Staff Establishment”

(c) Appendix 4/Attachment H(ii), H(iii) & I(ii) on “Guides to Appointment”

 

Last revision date: 10 April 2019
This website is IPv6 Enabled We are committed to ensuring that our webpage conforms to the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level AA requirements to the maximum extent possible. However,as our webpage contains considerable multi-media contents, it is not possible to incorporate all Level AA accessibility requirements in all of them. Nonetheless, the multi-media contents are so located as not to affect the accessibility of significant contents in our webpage. Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

資助小學學位教師

 

教師職位全面學位化一向是政府的工作目標。為吸引優秀的人才投身小學教育,讓學校廣納具領導能力的專才,政府在1993年接納《教育統籌委員會第五號報告書》中把35%的小學教師職位轉為學位教師職位的建議,並於2001/02學年完成。在2008/09及2009/10學年,教育局把公營小學學位教師職位比例分別增加至45%及50%。其後,由2015/16學年起分三年逐步增加公營小學學位教師職位的比例,即在2015/16、2016/17及2017/18學年,由50%分別提升至55%、60%及65%。此外,教育局亦於2008/09學年起,開設高級小學學位教師職級,擔任副校長的職位或規模較小的小學校長職位。

 

政府在《行政長官2017年施政報告》中宣布,會就教師專業發展進行深入研究。教育局在2017年11月成立了教師專業發展專責小組(專責小組),檢視和跟進提升教師專業發展事宜,包括研究教師職位學位化的時間表並作方向性建議。就廣泛諮詢所得,專責小組了解業界對盡快全面落實教師職位學位化的訴求和理據,並仔細考慮了實施的步伐能否配合教師的專業發展及學校需要所作的準備。經深入討論後,專責小組建議在切實可行的情況下盡快全面落實教師職位學位化,以達至提升教師專業地位,挽留和吸引優秀人才從事教學專業,提升教育質素的目標。政府接納了專責小組的建議,並在《行政長官2018年施政報告》中宣布,在2019/20學年於公營中、小學一次過把教師職位全面學位化,學校可因應校本情況,分兩年時間(即在2020/21學年或以前)全面落實有關政策。

 

學位教師職系不同職級的角色和職能 

 

資助小學教學人員編制結構 (包括特殊學校)

 

學生輔導教師出任學位教師職位

 

「小學教員改編為學位教師」表格

 

常見問題

 

 2019年4月1日簡介會的簡報:  (1) 政策概要  (2) 常見問題分析

 

 

 

參考資料

     (a)  第60-61條「晉升及改編職系」

     (b)  附錄2A「資助小學教學人員,教育心理學家及助理社會工作主任編制」

     (c)  附錄5/附件D1, D2-E「聘任指引」

     (a)  第65-66條「晉升及改編職系」

     (b)  附錄2「人員編制」

     (c)  附錄4/附件H(ii), H(iii) & I(ii)「聘任指引」

 

修訂日期: 2019年4月10日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站 我們承諾會盡力確保本網頁符合萬維網聯盟(W3C)《無障礙網頁內容指引》(WCAG)2.0 AA級別標準,但本網頁載有大量多媒體內容,要規定這類內容全部符合所有AA級別標準並不可能。儘管如此,這類多媒體內容會盡量擺放在特定位置,以免阻礙用戶接觸本網頁所載的重要內容。 符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版