Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Guidelines for Granting of Leave

 

 Circular  

       -  Common Questions and Answers on Paternity Leave (Update in June 2016)

     -  Claim Form for Reimbursement of Paternity Leave (Applicable to Staff Already Ceased Employment Only)

 

 

General Principle

           School Management Committees (SMCs) / Incorporated Management Committees (IMCs) may grant the following types of leave for teachers and non-teaching staff in accordance with the conditions provided by the relevant Code of Aid, the Employment Ordinance and the instructions the Permanent Secretary for Education (PS(Ed)) may from time to time issue: 

 

(a)      Leave for Teaching Staff

(i)  sick leave (paid or no-pay);

(ii) maternity leave (paid or no-pay);

(iii) paternity leave (paid) Note 1;

(iv) special tuberculosis leave (paid or no-pay);

(v) special leave for a maximum of 2 days per school year (paid);

(vi) study leave endorsed by the PS(Ed) in advance (paid);

(vii) leave for juror or witness service (paid); 

(viii) leave for a maximum of 14 days per school year for special events like representing HKSAR in national/international conferences or events such as the Asian Games and the Olympic Games; or being invited to present paper or speak at national / international conferences Note 2 in connection with education; or participating in training and camping exercises of Civil Aid Service, Auxiliary Medical Service or Auxiliary Police Force (paid); and

(ix) any other types of no-pay leave (applicable to IMC schools only) Note 3.

(b)      Leave for Non-teaching staff

          Laboratory Technicians and Specialist Staff Note 4

(i) annual leave (paid);

(ii) sick leave, special tuberculosis leave and maternity leave (paid or no-pay);

(iii) paternity leave (paid) Note 1;

(iv) study leave endorsed by PS(Ed) in advance; 

(v) leave for juror or witness service (paid); and

(vi) any other types of no-pay leave (applicable to IMC schools only) Note 3.

         Other Non-teaching Staff

         Various types of leave in accordance with the Employment Ordinance, Codes of Aid, and guidelines issued by the EDB from time to time.

 

 Please refer to the Codes of Aid for details.

                   

 2.       Schools should formulate policies and principles in processing leave applications in consultation with staff to ensure impartiality and consistency.  However, the procedures involved in handling leave matters should be kept to the minimum.

 

Leave Entitlement for Teachers and Non-teaching Staff

3.       SMCs / IMCs of aided schools may refer to the relevant Code of Aid for the leave entitlement for teachers and non-teaching staff.  They may also refer to “Leave Entitlement for Staff in Aided Schools” and "Approving Authority for Granting of Leave" at the Appendices of Chapter 7 of the School Administration Guide (SAG) and Appendix H of the Supplement to SAG (applicable to IMC schools only) posted on the EDB Homepage for relevant information on granting of leave.  If necessary, they may consult the Labour Department on leave entitlement provided under the Employment Ordinance. 

 

Leave that Requires Prior Approval of PS(Ed)

4.        Prior approval of PS(Ed) is required in respect of granting the following types of leave to teachers, laboratory technicians, and specialist staff:

 

(a)       no-pay leave (excluding no-pay sick/maternity/special tuberculosis leave) [not applicable to IMC schools];

(b)       study leave which has not been endorsed by PS(Ed); and

(c)       other types of leaves which are not specified above.

 

Points to note in processing no-pay leave of teachers

5.        Before granting no-pay leave to teachers, SMCs/IMCs are advised to ensure that teachers applying for no-pay leave are duly informed of the provisions in the Codes of Aid and the following:

 

(a)       Promotion purposes

No-pay leave will not be counted for promotion purposes.

(b)       Grant/Subsidized Schools Provident Fund (G/SSPF)

With the approval of PS(Ed), a teacher’s G/SSPF Account may be kept open for the  period in which no-pay leave is granted.  The period of no-pay leave including no-pay sick/maternity/special tuberculosis leave will not be counted for continuous contributory service.

 (c)      Date of increment

For incremental purposes, such leave shall be subject to such instructions from PS(Ed) may from time to time issue. Adjustment of the incremental date will be required if the period of no-pay leave exceeds 15 days continuously. If a teacher takes 16 to 45 days no-pay leave continuously, his/her incremental date should be deferred by one month.  If the teacher takes 46 to 75 days no-pay leave continuously, his/her incremental date should be deferred by two months, and so on.

6.        For no-pay sick/maternity/special tuberculosis leave, schools should send a notification of the granting of no-pay leave to the respective Senior School Development Officer of the respective Regional Education Office for seeking PS(Ed)’s approval for keeping open of G/SSPF account and for the adjustment of salary incremental date, if any.  Such letter should also be copied to Finance Division of the Education Bureau for necessary arrangements. For other types of no-pay leave, IMC schools should follow the same procedures as for no-pay sick/maternity/special tuberculosis leave mentioned above; schools which have not yet established an IMC should, as required by the Codes of Aid, send an application to the respective Senior School Development Officer of the Regional Education Officer for seeking PS(Ed)'s approval.

 

      (For application/notification of laboratory technicians and specialist staff, schools may adapt the above samples where appropriate.)

  

7.      Schools should take own responsibility to fulfill all statutory requirements including meeting any possible expenditure arising from all types of no-pay leave of teaching and non-teaching staff, such as expenses arising from statutory holidays and/or annual leave (if applicable). Starting from the 2012/13 school year, schools may use the surplus of Operating Expenses Block Grant (OEBG) / Expanded Operating Expenses Block Grant (EOEBG) for the payment of statutory holiday/annual leave arising from the following types of specific no-pay leave Note 5 for their staff remunerated under Salaries Grant, on the condition that the application of no-pay leave is supported with valid documentary proofs: 

 

(a)     no-pay sick/maternity/special tuberculosis leave (referred to as no-pay sick leave);

(b)     no-pay study leave for attending education-related courses;

(c)     no-pay leave granted due to poor health condition with medical documentary proof; and

(d)     no-pay leave granted for alleviating the redundancy problem of an individual school/ schools under the same Sponsor (prior confirmation from the School Development Officer concerned is required)

 

For no-pay leave other than the above listed, schools should continue to take their own responsibilities to fulfill all statutory requirements including meeting any possible expenditure out of non-government funds. Schools may refer to the latest EDBCM on "Operating Expenses Block Grant, Expanded Operating Expenses Block Grant and Composite Furniture and Equipment Grant for Aided Schools" and the User Guides of OEBG/EOEBG uploaded on EDB Homepage for details.

 

Leave Records

8.       Schools should keep leave records of their staff as required by the Codes of Aid and are requested to send in leave record of teachers yearly in August each school year for PS(Ed)’s endorsement.  PS(Ed) will signify his approval to the leave by endorsing the relevant leave records provided that PS(Ed) is satisfied that the SMC/IMC concerned has considered each application in accordance with the conditions provided by the relevant Code of Aid, the Employment Ordinance and the instructions PS(Ed) from time to time issue with supporting documents.

 

9.      For non-teaching staff, the leave records are not required to be sent to PS(Ed) for endorsement.  Schools are reminded to keep proper and up-to-date leave records of their non-teaching staff.

  

10.     To facilitate schools’ proper leave recording of their teaching/non-teaching staff, samples of leave record of individual staff are also provided below for schools’ reference:

  

11.     For proper management of leave matters, schools should keep the leave records of their staff up-to-date.  These leave records should be available for inspection by officers authorized by PS(Ed) or the inspectors of schools as and when required.  When a staff leaves the employment of a school, the Certificate of Service prepared by the school for the staff should state, among other things, the period(s) of no-pay leave taken (if any) and the sick leave balance.

 

Note

1. Please refer to EDBC No.16/2015 for details.

2. Conferences organised at provincial/municipal level or below would not be regarded as national conferences, and prior approval from PS(Ed) is required for teachers taking such leave.

3. In granting no-pay leave to staff, IMC schools should consider each application rigorously with due regard to: (i) the staff concerned is to tackle an affair which cannot be avoided and cannot be handled by a substitute, and (ii) students' learning should not be unduly affected.

4. Specialist staff include educational psychologists of ordinary and special schools and the following categories of staff of special schools: school social workers, speech therapists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, occupational therapist assistants, nurses, wardens, assistant wardens, houseparents-in-charge, houseparents, programme workers, boarding service masters/mistresses I, boarding service masters/mistresses II and brailling staff.

5. Prevailing procedures should be followed in approving no-pay leave to staff in schools. Schools should retain all supporting documents for payment arising from the above specific no-pay leave for record and inspection, if required.

 

Last revision date: 20 June 2016
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

打印頁面
< 返回
目錄 > 有關教育局 >
表格及通告
-
表格
-
通告
< 返回
目錄 > 有關教育局 >
年度開放數據計劃
-
年度開放數據計劃
-
公共資料
< 返回
目錄 > 課程發展 >
主要教育層面
-
幼稚園教育
-
小學教育
-
中學教育
< 返回
目錄 > 課程發展 >
評估
-
基本能力評估
-
參考資料
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
升學就業輔導
-
生涯規劃
-
商校合作計劃
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
特殊教育
-
融情
-
家長及公眾教育
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
非華語學童
-
非華語學童教育服務
-
最新資訊
-
概覽
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
計劃及設施
-
計劃
-
設施
< 返回
目錄 > 教師相關 >
資格、培訓與發展
-
資格
-
培訓
-
發展
< 返回
目錄 > 學校行政及管理 >
政策文件及報告
-
審計署署長第三十九號報告書小學教育
< 返回
目錄 > 公共及行政相關 >
招標公告
-
招標公告
-
工程招標公告
主要內容

教職員批假指引


通告



一般原則

         校董會/法團校董會可根據《資助則例》、《僱傭條例》及教育局常任秘書長不時發出的指示所訂明的條件,批准教學及非教學人員放取下列各類假期 :

 

(a)     教學人員假期

  1. 病假 (有薪或無薪);
  2. 產假 (有薪或無薪);
  3. 侍產假 (有薪) 註1;
  4. 肺病特別假期 (有薪或無薪 );
  5. 每學年至多 2天的特別假期 (有薪 );
  6. 預先獲教育局常任秘書長批准的進修假期 (有薪 );
  7. 出任陪審員或證人的假期 (有薪);
  8. 每學年缺勤最多 14天以便出席特別活動,如代表香港特別行政區政府出席國家/國際會議或比賽,如亞洲運動會及奧林匹克運動會,或應邀在國家 /國際教育研討會 註2上發表文章或演講,或參與民眾安全服務隊、醫療輔助隊或輔助警隊的訓練及集訓營等 (有薪 ); 及
  9. 其他無薪假期 (只適用於已成立法團校董會的學校) 註3

(b)     非教學人員假期

           實驗室技術員及專責人員 註4

  1. 年假 (有薪 );
  2. 病假、肺病特別假期及產假 (有薪或無薪 ) ;
  3. 侍產假 (有薪) 註1;
  4. 預先獲教育局常任秘書長批准的進修假期 (有薪);
  5. 出任陪審員或證人的假期 (有薪 ); 及
  6. 其他無薪假期 (只適用於已成立法團校董會的學校) 註3

           其他非教學人員

           根據《僱傭條例》、《資助則例》及教育局不時發出的指引而享有不同類型的假期。

 

詳情請參閱《資助則例》。

                    

 2.        學校應先行徵詢校內人員的意見,然後制定處理教職員放假申請的政策及原則,以確保有關安排公平一致。然而,處理假期的程序應盡量減少,務求簡化處理過程。

 

教學及非教學人員可享有的假期

3.         資助學校校董會/法團校董會應參照《資助則例》內有關教學及非教學人員可享有假期的規定。他們亦可參考上附載於教育局網頁的《學校行政手冊》第7章附錄的「資助學校員工可享有的假期」和「批核員工假期的人員」一覽表,以及《學校行政手冊補編》(只適用於已成立法團校董會的學校)附錄H。如有需要,他們可向勞工處查詢《僱傭條例》內有關假期的規定。

 

須事先徵得教育局常任秘書長批准的假期
4.         學校須事先徵得教育局常任秘書長批准,才可讓教師、實驗室技術員及專責人員放取下列各類假期:


  1. 無薪假期 (不包括無薪病假/產假/肺病特別假期) [不適用於已成立法團校董會的學校]
  2. 未有預先徵得教育局常任秘書長核准的進修假期 ;
  3. 上文沒有註明的其他假期。

處理教師無薪假期須注意的事項

5.       校董會/法團校董會批准教師放取無薪假期前,須確保申請無薪假期的教師完全得悉《資助則例》內所訂明的條件及下列事項︰

 

(a)       晉升

無薪假期不會計算入晉升年資。

(b)       補助/津貼學校公積金

如獲教育局常任秘書長批准,教師在其獲准放取無薪假期的期間,或可保留其補助 /津貼學校公積金帳目。無薪假期 (包括無薪病假 /產假 /肺病特別假期 )將不會算作供款無間年資。

(c)        增薪日期

計算增薪點方面,此類假期將根據教育局常任秘書長不時發出的指示處理。如果連續放取超過 15天的無薪假期,則須調整增薪日期。倘教師連續放取 1645天無薪假期,其增薪日期須順延一個月。倘教師連續放取 4675天無薪假期,其增薪日期須順延兩個月,如此類推。


6 .        有關無薪病假/產假/肺病特別假期,學校應以書面通知所屬區域教育服務處的高級學校發展主任,說明已讓教師放取無薪假期,以便教育局常任秘書長批准保留補助/津貼學校公積金帳目及調整增薪日期(如有)。學校並須把通知書的副本送交教育局財政分部,以便作出所需安排。至於其他無薪假期,已成立法團校董會的學校應按照上述有關無薪病假/產假/肺病特別假期的程序處理;尚未成立法團校董會的學校應按照相關《資助則例》向所屬區域教育服務處的高級學校發展主任申請,以便教育局常任秘書長批准。

 

          (就實驗室技術員及專責人員的申請表/批准通知書,學校可參考上述樣本作適當修訂)

 

7.        學校必須自行承擔履行一切法例規定的責任,包括因教學及非教學人員放取各類無薪假期而可能引致的任何開支,例如法定假日及/或年假所衍生的開支(如適用)。由2012/13學年起,學校可運用營辦開支整筆津貼(營辦津貼)/擴大的營辦開支整筆津貼(擴大的營辦津貼)的盈餘,支付以「薪金津貼」聘請的教職員在放取下列特定的無薪假期間註5,因法定假日/年假所衍生的開支,而有關的無薪假申請須具備有效的證明文件:

 

  1. 無薪病假/產假/肺病特別假期(統稱無薪病假);
  2. 為參加與教育有關課程而放取的無薪進修假期;
  3. 由有效的醫生證明書證明因健康理由而需放取的無薪假期; 及
  4. 為解決個別學校/相同辦學團體的學校因超額教師問題而放取的無薪假期(須預先獲有閞的學校發展主任確認)。

 

至於其他不在上列的無薪假期,學校必須繼續自行承擔履行一切法例規定的責任,包括以非政府經費支付可能引致的任何開支。詳情請參閱上載於教育局網頁有關「資助學校的營辦開支整筆津貼、擴大的營辦開支整筆津貼及綜合家具及設備津貼」的最新通函及營辦津貼/擴大的營辦津貼運用指引。

 

假期記錄

8.     《資助則例》規定學校須妥善保存員工的假期記錄。學校須在每學年的八月,把教師的放假記錄送交教育局常任秘書長批簽。教育局常任秘書長如認為校董會/法團校董會已按照有關的《資助則例》、《僱傭條例》及其不時發出的指示所訂明的條件,在考慮每項放假申請及所提交的證明文件後,會確認有關的放假記錄,以示給予批准。

 

9.       就非教學人員而言,學校無須將有關的假期記錄送交教育局常任秘書長確認,但仍須妥善保存非教學人員的假期記錄,並不時更新。



10.      為方便學校妥善記錄教學人員/非教學人員的假期,現將個別人員的假期記錄樣本載於下文,以供學校參考。

 

11.      為妥善管理放假事宜,學校應經常更新教職員的放假記錄。有需要時,放假記錄須交予教育局常任秘書長授權的人員或學校督學查考。員工離職時,校方發給員工的服務證書應列明該員工曾放取的無薪假(如有)及離職前病假積存額等資料。 

 

註:

  1. 詳情請參閱教育局通告第16/2015號。
  2. 由省或地方政府安排的研討會並不屬於國家級的研討會,教師須取得教育局常任秘書長的預先批核,才可放取此類假期。
  3. 設有法團校董會的學校在批核員工無薪假期的申請時,應審慎考慮以下要點:(i)有關員工必須親自處理一些必要事項,以及 (ii)學生的學習必須不受影響。
  4. 專責人員包括普通學校及特殊學校的教育心理學家、言語治療師及學校社工,以及下列任職特殊學校的人員:物理治療師、職業治療師、職業治療助理員、護士、舍監、副舍監、宿舍家長主管、宿舍家長、活動輔導員、一級及二級宿舍工作員及凸字印製員。
  5. 學校教職員的無薪假期,須按照既定的程序批核。學校須就教職員在放取上述無薪假期而衍生的開支,保存所有證明文件以作紀錄及在有需要時查閱。