Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Copyright in Playing or Showing of a Film in Schools

 

Under the Copyright Ordinance, copyright owners have the exclusive right in relation to the performance, playing or showing of copyright works (including films) in public. However, according to section 43 of the Copyright Ordinance, the playing or showing of a sound recording, film, broadcast or cable programme at an educational establishment before teachers, students, their parents or guardians and other persons directly connected with the activities of the educational establishment for the purpose of giving or receiving instruction is permissible without infringing copyright. The relevant act, however, must be done for the purpose of giving or receiving instruction. In addition, if the playing or showing of a film is for instruction purpose, provided that the relevant prescribed conditions (e.g. the act involved is a fair dealing), the fair dealing copyright exception for purposes of giving or receiving instruction under section 41A may also be applicable.

 

If the playing or showing of a film is not for instruction purposes, depending on the specific facts of the case, other copyright exceptions (e.g. research and private studies, criticism, review and news reporting) may be applicable.

 

If the activity does not fall within any of the abovementioned copyright exceptions or other copyright exceptions, and the schools have not obtained prior permission from the copyright owner or the relevant copyright licensing bodies for playing the copyright works, the schools will infringe the copyright in the works. Therefore, if there is no copyright exception applicable, the schools should first consult the copyright owner of the film or the relevant copyright licensing bodies (e.g. the Motion Picture Licensing Company (Hong Kong) Limited (MPLC)), so as to obtain permission or to reach the required agreement.

 

 

Useful Links

 

FAQs on Copyright and Education - Revised in April 2019 (Chinese version only) (Please refer to Questions 23, 29 to 31) 

Showing Films, Broadcasts or Cable Programmes in Public Places - Points to Note  

FAQs on Performing, Playing or Showing Copyright Works in Public (Please refer to Questions 4 to 6) 

Motion Picture Licensing Company (MPLC) - The MPLC Umbrella License for Educational Establishments new

Copyright and Education 

Intellectual Property Department (IPD)

Hong Kong e-Legislation - Cap. 528 Copyright Ordinance

 

Last revision date: 09 August 2019
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

在學校播放或放映影片相關版權事宜

 

根據《版權條例》,版權擁有人享有公開表演、播放或放映版權作品(包括影片) 的獨有權利。然而,《版權條例》第43條容許教育機構為教學或接受教學的目的,播放或放映聲音紀錄、影片、廣播或有線傳播節目供教師、學生、家長或監護人及與該教育機構的活動有直接關連的其他人觀看,而不屬侵犯版權,惟相關活動必須為教學或接受教學目的而舉進行。此外,如公開播放或放映影片是為教學用途,只要符合相關訂明條件(如︰該行為屬公平處理等),《版權條例》第41A條為教學或接受教學目的而設的公平處理版權豁免或可適用。

 

如教師播放影片並非用於教學,視乎情況而定,其他版權豁免(如為研究、私人研習、批評、評論和報導時事的目的)可能適用。

 

若活動未符合上述版權豁免或其他版權豁免的條件,而學校亦未事先得到版權擁有人或其代理人的同意而播放有關作品,即屬侵犯該作品的版權。因此,如果沒有任何版權豁免適用,學校宜先諮詢有關的版權擁有人或相關版權特許機構(如︰Motion Picture Licensing Company (Hong Kong) Limited (MPLC)),以獲得許可或達成所需協議。

 

 

相關網站

 

使用版權作品作教學用途常見問與答 – 2019年4月修訂(請參考第23、29至31題)

在公眾場所放映影片、廣播或有線傳播節目需注意事宜

有關公開表演、放映或播放版權作品的常見問題(請參考第4至6題)

Motion Picture Licensing Company (MPLC) - 為教育機構而設的MPLC綜合式影視播放牌照授權 最新

與教學有關的版權事宜

知識產權署

電子版香港法例-第528章《版權條例》

 

 

修訂日期: 2019年8月09日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版