Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Implementing “Bring Your Own Device (BYOD)” in Primary and Secondary Schools

 

1. Introduction

 

The Education Bureau (EDB) has launched the Fourth Strategy on Information Technology in Education in the 2015/16 school year for using IT to enhance the effectiveness of learning and teaching, classroom interaction as well as students’ ability in self-directed learning, problem-solving and collaboration. One of the key measures is to establish WiFi campus for all public sector schools to facilitate e-learning using mobile computer devices. Relevant works have been basically completed in the 2017/18 school year.

 

Schools have been positive towards implementing e-learning and tired out various strategies to further exploit the advantages of using mobile computer devices in learning and teaching. Currently, a number of schools are implementing "Bring Your Own Device" (BYOD) policy for allowing students to bring their own mobile computer devices to schools for learning activities, so that learning has become more personalized and mobile.

 

 

2. Advantages of BYOD

 

There are many advantages of allowing students to bring their own mobile computer devices for learning in schools:

 

    • Schools can reduce preparation workload for conducting e-learning in the class, e.g. there is no need to arrange distribution of mobile devices to students.
    • Students can conveniently use their own mobile devices for self-directed learning as well as collaborative learning with their peers both inside and outside the classroom.
    • Students can install their own learning resources (e.g. e-textbook) and applications needed in their devices for their learning. As they are familiar with their own devices, they can use the devices effectively for learning.
    • Schools can manage the learning materials, delivery/collection of assignments and record students’ learning data, etc. by using a Learning Management System (LMS), teachers can understand students’ overall learning progress more easily.

 

With the advancement of mobile technology, enhancement of the functionality of mobile devices with decreasing price, richer availability of online e-learning resources and the development of versatile LMS, BYOD is becoming more popular in schools.

 

 

3. Considerations of Implementing BYOD

 

Thorough planning is important to the successful implementation of BYOD. Schools can evaluate their readiness in the following areas:

 

    • Schools’ WiFi Infrastructure
      Schools’ WiFi network should be sufficient for covering the campus especially classrooms. Besides, schools should also consider how to handle the issues of battery charging and storage of students’ mobile computer devices in schools.

 

    • Curriculum planning and teachers’ readiness
      BYOD is not merely an administrative arrangement. It is implemented based on students’ e-learning needs, involving student-centred learning and pedagogies. Thus, schools should first have set objectives for e-learning and planned how mobile computer devices and e-learning resources can be suitably used in different teaching unit for enhancing students’ motivation and learning effectiveness. At the same time, schools should arrange trainings for teachers to acquire the relevant teaching and classroom management skills so that they can practise e-teaching effectively for achieving positive outcomes from BYOD.

 

    • Students
      Competency in using IT is an important 21st century skill. Schools should strive hard to enhance students’ information literacy and develop their relevant knowledge, skills and attitude so that they can use IT effectively and responsibly in learning. Schools should establish an Acceptable Use Policy (AUP), listing out acceptable and unacceptable acts, in order to govern students’ use of mobile computer device, wireless network and information.

 

    • Parents
      Parents’ engagement and support are crucial to the implementation of BYOD. Schools should strengthen communication and collaboration with parents by organising seminars on BYOD to enhance parents’ understanding on e-learning, including handling students’ discipline problems, so that they can collaborate with schools to help students to learn with the mobile computer devices.

 

Schools can refer to paragraph 7 for schools’ examples of effective planning and implementing BYOD.

 

 

4. Approaches for Implementation of BYOD

 

Before implementing BYOD, schools should decide if students need to use specified types of mobile computer devices. Generally, schools may consider the following three approaches:

 

(i) Choosing a specific brand/model of mobile computer device
(ii) Choosing specific technical specifications (e.g. Operating Systems, storage capacity)
(iii) No regulated specifications. Students/parents can freely choose any brand/model of mobile computer device

 

The advantages and disadvantages of the above three approaches are as follows:

 

(i) Choosing a specific brand/model of mobile computer device

 

  Advantages:
 
  • Students use the same specifications and functions that are fully compatible with the school network and Mobile Device Management (MDM) System.
  • Teachers can master how to use the device in planning and teaching easily.
  • It will be more easily to solve students’ technical problems.
 
Disadvantages:
 
  • Parents/students need to purchase a new device if they had acquired a device of different brand/model.
  • Schools should be careful in considering the justifications of choosing a specific brand/model. Schools may take extra steps to gain supports from stakeholders on their decisions.

 

(ii) Choosing specific technical specifications of mobile computer device

 

  Advantages:
 
  • Parents/students will have more flexibility to choose a suitable mobile computer device. If they have a device that meets the required technical specifications, they need not purchase a new device.
  • It helps parents/students to choose a suitable device compatible with the schools’ MDM system and meeting the learning needs.
 
Disadvantages:
 
  • Teachers and technical staff may need to conduct testing for ensuring that the applications used by their schools can run on devices of different brands/models.
  • It is more difficult for teachers and technical staff to support students’ devices of different brands/models.

 

(iii) No regulated specifications. Students/parents can freely choose the mobile computer device

 

  Advantages:
 
  • Parents/students can have great flexibility to choose the mobile computer device.
 
Disadvantages:
 
  • e-learning resources that can be used with different Operating Systems and technical specifications are relatively limited.
  • Mobile computer devices of individual students may not be compatible with the schools’ MDM system.
  • It will be very difficult for schools to support students’ mobile computer devices of different technical specifications.

 

Schools can determine the specifications of the mobile computer devices according to their pedagogical design, use of e-learning resources, students’ learning needs as well as parents’ affordability, and decide an approach to be adopted for implementing BYOD based on schools’ context and the products available in the market. During the process of decision making, schools should communicate with stakeholders, including parents, so that they can have a better understanding of the rationale and supported schools’ decision.

 

 

5. Technical Specifications of Mobile Computer Device and MDM

 

We understand that many schools have adopted the second approach mentioned above for the implementation of BYOD. Schools should clearly list out the minimum hardware and software specifications for parents’ reference, it includes the followings:

 

    • Operating Systems
    • Hardware specifications (e.g. processor power, screen size, memory size, storage capacity, battery capacity, etc.)
    • Software and applications
    • Basic accessories e.g.
      • Screen shield
      • Protective cover
      • Stylus pen
      • Mouse
      • Detachable keyboard

 

Please refer to paragraph 7 for examples of technical specifications of mobile computer devices.

 

Many schools install a MDM in students’ device so that teachers and technical staff can manage the mobile devices connected to the schools’ network for security purposes. Applications as well as learning and teaching materials can be also deployed efficiently to students’ devices with the use of MDM system. Besides, schools can understand how their students are using their mobile computer devices.

 

Schools should provide clear information and supports for parents to acquire a suitable mobile computer device. School can also consider arranging a bulk purchase for parents and providing special supports for needy families.

 

 

6. Supports from Education Bureau

 

To facilitate schools’ implementation of BYOD policy, EDB has been providing holistic supports through professional development programmes and on-site support services on BYOD. We will also share examples to schools for reference for the implementation of BYOD effectively. A Technical Support Team has been set up to handle enquiries on technical issues. Schools can call 3698 4148 or 3698 3608 for requesting such services. Parent education, seminars and videos are provided to cultivate children’s good habits and attitude in using information and IT in daily life. We also produce information kit for students to provide them tips in using electronic products healthy and develop their information literacy.

 

As the development of BYOD may create financial burden on students from low-income families, the Community Care Fund has launched an Assistance Programme, starting from the 2018/19 school year for three years, to subsidise needy primary and secondary students studying in public sector schools with BYOD policy to purchase mobile computer devices. For details, please visit the related website for reference.

 

 

7. External Links and References

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last revision date: 28 February 2018
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

在中小學推行「自攜裝置」

 

1. 前言

 

教育局於2015/16學年起推行「第四個資訊科技教育策略」,讓學校透過資訊科技提升學與教的效能、加強課堂互動、提升學生的自主學習、解難、協作等能力。其中主要措施是為全港公營學校建立無線網絡校園,以便學生在課堂上使用流動電腦裝置進行電子學習,所有相關工程已於2017/18學年大致完成。

 

學校對推行電子學習反應正面,亦試驗不同的策略,從而發揮善用流動電腦裝置於學與教的優勢。現時已有不少學校推行學生「自攜裝置」政策,讓學生攜帶私人的流動電腦裝置回校進行學習活動,使學習更趨個人化和具流動性。

 

 

2. 「自攜裝置」的優勢

 

讓學生攜帶私人的流動電腦裝置回校進行學習有很多好處,例如:

    • 學校可減省在課堂進行電子學習時的相關預備工作,例如不需安排暫借流動電腦裝置給學生使用。
    • 學生能很便捷地使用自己的流動電腦裝置進行自主學習,並有助他們於課堂內外與朋輩進行協作學習。
    • 學生可於自己的裝置內安裝他們所擁有的學習資源(例如電子教科書),和配合他們學習需要的應用程式。學生因較熟悉自己的裝置,能更有效地使用它學習。
    • 可配合學校使用的學習管理系統(LMS),以管理學習材料、課業的收發和紀錄學生的學習數據等,讓老師更容易掌握學生的整體學習歷程。

 

隨著流動科技的進步,流動電腦裝置的性能不斷提升及價格下調,加上網上學習資源越來越豐富,電子學習管理系統的發展越趨成熟,因此「自攜裝置」在學校越見普及。

 

 

3. 推行「自攜裝置」的條件

 

審慎的規劃是推行「自攜裝置」的成功關鍵。有意推行的學校可從以下方面評估是否已作好準備:

 

    • 學校的無線網絡基建
      推行「自攜裝置」需要有足夠的無線網絡覆蓋,特別是校園內常用的課室。此外,學校應考慮如何處理學生的流動電腦裝置在校園內充電及暫存等問題。

 

    • 課程規劃與教師的準備
      「自攜裝置」不只是一個行政安排,而是基於學生進行電子學習的需要,亦涉及以學生為中心的學習方式和教學法。所以,學校應先確立推行電子學習的目標,因應各教學單元的學習內容,計劃如何善用流動電腦裝置和電子學習材料,以提高學生的學習動機和學習效能。同時,為讓教師能掌握相關的教學和課堂管理技能,學校應為他們安排適當的培訓,以便他們能有效實踐電子教學,使「自攜裝置」政策取得正面成果。

 

    • 學生
      善用資訊科技是二十一世紀的關鍵技能。學校應致力提升學生的資訊素養,發展他們相關的知識、技能及態度,讓他們能有效和負責任地使用資訊科技進行學習。學校亦需訂定「可接受使用政策」(AUP),詳述學生在學校使用自攜裝置時可接受和不可接受的行為,作為規範學生使用流動電腦、無線網絡和資訊的協議。

 

    • 家長
      在推行「自攜裝置」政策時,家長的參與及支持是不可或缺。學校應加強家校溝通和合作,舉辦與「自攜裝置」相關的講座,以增加家長對電子學習的認識,包括如何處理學生的紀律問題,以便能一起協助學生善用流動電腦裝置進行學習。

 

學校可參考本文第7段所提供的示例,了解一些學校如何有效規劃及推行「自攜裝置」政策。

 

 

4. 推行「自攜裝置」的模式

 

在推行「自攜裝置」前,學校須決定學生是否需要使用指定類型的流動電腦裝置。一般來說,學校可考慮以下三種模式:

 

(i) 規定選用特定的品牌/型號的流動電腦裝置
(ii) 規定選用符合特定技術規格的流動電腦裝置(例如操作系統和存儲容量等)
(iii) 無特別規定,由家長/學生自行選擇流動電腦裝置

 

上述三種模式各有利弊如下:

 

(i) 選用特定的品牌/型號的流動電腦裝置

  優點:
 
  • 學生使用的所有流動電腦裝置都具備相同的規格和功能,能確保與學校網絡和流動裝置管理系統兼容。
  • 教師能較易掌握如何運用該裝置進行課堂規劃及教學。
  • 易於為學生解決技術問題。
  缺點:
 
  • 如果家長/學生已購買非學校指定的品牌/型號的流動電腦裝置,他們需要重新購置。
  • 學校應小心考慮所選擇特定品牌/型號的理據,或需要進行額外程序以獲得各持分者的認同。

 

(ii) 選用符合特定技術規格的流動電腦裝置

  優點:
 
  • 家長/學生可以有較大靈活性以選擇合適的流動電腦裝置。如果他們已有符合學校技術規格要求的裝置,便無需再購置。
  • 有助家長/學生選擇合適的裝置,以配合學校所採用的流動裝置管理系統和學習需要。
  缺點:
 
  • 教師和技術支援人員可能需要進行較多測試,以確保學校所用的應用程式均能在學生不同品牌/型號的流動電腦裝置上運作。
  • 教師和技術支援人員較難支援所有學生不同品牌/型號的流動電腦裝置。

 

(iii) 無特別規定,由家長/學生自行選擇流動電腦裝置

  優點:
 
  • 家長/學生可以非常靈活地選擇合適的流動電腦裝置。
  缺點:
 
  • 適用於不同操作系統和技術規格的電子學習資源相對會較少。
  • 個別學生的裝置未必能兼容學校的流動裝置管理系統。
  • 學校會十分困難去支援學生使用不同技術規格的流動電腦裝置。

 

學校可按本身的教學設計、對電子學習資源的使用、學生學習需要及家長的負擔能力,選擇合適的產品規格,並就個別校情和產品的市場情況,決定推行那一種模式。決策過程中,學校應與主要持分者(包括家長)溝通,讓他們明白學校的理念及支持學校所作的選擇。

 

 

5. 流動電腦裝置的技術規格和流動裝置管理系統

 

據我們了解,有很多學校在推行「自攜裝置」時採用上述的第二種模式。學校會列明所要求的硬體和軟體最低規格,供家長在選購裝置時參考,包括下列各項:

    • 操作系統
    • 硬件規格(例如屏幕尺寸、記憶體大小和儲存設備容量、電池容量等)
    • 軟件及應用程式
    • 基本配件,例如:
      • 螢幕保護貼
      • 裝置保護套
      • 觸控筆
      • 滑鼠
      • 可分拆式鍵盤

有關流動電腦裝置技術規格示例,學校可參閱本文第7段。

 

至於流動裝置管理系統(MDM)方面,很多學校會在學生的裝置上安裝一個管理系統,供教師和技術支援人員管理連接到學校無線網路的流動電腦裝置,以確保學校網絡的安全。透過這管理系統,應用程式及學與教資源可以很便捷地分發到學生的流動電腦裝置上,學校亦可通過它了解學生使用流動電腦裝置的情況。

 

學校應為家長提供清晰的資訊及支援,以購置合適的流動電腦裝置,並可考慮提供集體購買服務,以及對有經濟需要的家庭提供特別支援。

 

 

6. 教育局的支援

 

為配合學校制定有效推行「自攜裝置」的策略,教育局為學校提供全方位的支援,包括加強有關「自攜裝置」的教師專業培訓及到校支援服務。我們亦會分享有效推行「自攜裝置」的例子供學校參考,以及成立技術支援小組,解答學校有關查詢,學校可致電3698 4148或3698 3608獲得相關的支援。在家長教育方面,我們會通過講座及短片,協助家長培養子女在日常生活和學習中運用資訊和資訊科技的良好習慣及態度。我們亦製作學生資源套,提供健康使用電子產品的小貼士,培養他們的資訊素養。

 

此外,鑑於「自攜裝置」的發展有可能為低收入家庭的學生增加經濟壓力,因此關愛基金於2018/19學年起推行援助項目,為期三年,資助就讀於正推行「自攜裝置」的公營中、小學校學生購買流動電腦裝置。詳情請參閱相關網頁

 

 

7. 參考資料及相關連結

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

修訂日期: 2019年6月03日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版