print page
< Back
Menu > About EDB >
Forms & Circulars
-
Forms
-
Circulars
< Back
Menu > About EDB >
Annual Open Data Plans
-
Annual Open Data Plans
-
Public Sector Information
< Back
Menu > Curriculum Development >
Major Levels of Education
-
Kindergarten Education
-
Primary Education
-
Secondary Education
< Back
Menu > Curriculum Development >
Assessment
-
Basic Competency Assessment (BCA)
-
References
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Career Guidance
-
Life Planning
-
Business-School Partnership Programme
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Special Education
-
Newsletter
-
Parent and Public Education
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students
-
Education services for non-Chinese speaking (NCS) students
-
What's new
-
Overview
< Back
Menu > Students and Parents Related >
Programs and Services
-
Programs
-
Services
< Back
Menu > Teachers Related >
Qualifications, Training and Development
-
Qualification
-
Training
-
Development
< Back
Menu > School Administration and Management >
Financial Management
-
About Financial Management
-
Information on Subsidy
-
Notes to School Finance
< Back
Menu > School Administration and Management >
School Premises Related Information
-
Allocation of a School
-
Furniture and Equipment List for New Schools
-
School Premises Maintenance
< Back
Menu > Public and Administration Related >
Public Forms and Documents
-
Public Forms
-
Efficiency Office - Guide to Corporate Governance for Subvented Organisations
< Back
Menu > Public and Administration Related >
Tender Notices
-
Tender Notices
-
Works Tender Notice
Main content start

Manpower and Resources in Special Schools


Class size of special schools, ranging from 8 to 15 students per class, is dependent on the school type, and is comparatively smaller than that of ordinary schools. At primary and junior secondary levels, the staffing ratio of special schools is 1.8 teachers per class. At senior secondary level, the staffing ratio for schools for children with ID is 2 teachers per class whereas that for schools offering the ordinary curriculum is 2.1 per class. To enhance the status and professional standard of teachers, the all-graduate teaching force policy has been fully implemented since the 2019/20 school year. To cater for the diverse needs of students, the EDB has also provided respective categories of special schools with additional teachers, such as resource teachers for children with autism spectrum disorders, mobility instructors and teachers providing low-vision training to support students with VI.

In addition, various specialist staff are provided for different categories of special schools to cater for the disabilities or learning difficulties of students. They include occupational therapists, physiotherapists, speech therapists, occupational therapist assistants, nurses, educational psychologists, social workers, braillists, etc. As for the boarding sections, the specialist staff comprise wardens, assistant wardens, houseparents-in-charge, houseparents, programme workers, nurses, etc. To address students’ diverse learning needs, special schools are advised to optimise the deployment of manpower and promote multi-disciplinary collaboration.

In the past few years, the EDB has implemented a number of enhancement measures in special schools. For instance, from the 2018/19 school year onwards, one additional school nurse has been provided for schools for children with ID, schools for children with PD and the school for children with VI cum ID. To strengthen the support for students with care needs, a school nurse has been newly provided for the school for children with VI and the school for children with HI. Moreover, special schools with a total of 60 approved capacity or below have been provided with one school social worker (SSW) and subsequently 0.5 SSW for every 30 students. On the basis of the manpower provision of SSW, special schools have also been offered the Consultation Service Grant to purchase consultation, supervision or other relevant services to support the SSW.

打印頁面
< 返回
目錄 > 有關教育局 >
表格及通告
-
表格
-
通告
< 返回
目錄 > 有關教育局 >
年度開放數據計劃
-
年度開放數據計劃
-
公共資料
< 返回
目錄 > 課程發展 >
主要教育層面
-
幼稚園教育
-
小學教育
-
中學教育
< 返回
目錄 > 課程發展 >
評估
-
基本能力評估
-
參考資料
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
升學就業輔導
-
生涯規劃
-
商校合作計劃
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
特殊教育
-
融情
-
家長及公眾教育
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
非華語學童
-
非華語學童教育服務
-
最新資訊
-
概覽
< 返回
目錄 > 學生及家長相關 >
計劃及設施
-
計劃
-
設施
< 返回
目錄 > 教師相關 >
資格、培訓與發展
-
資格
-
培訓
-
發展
< 返回
目錄 > 學校行政及管理 >
政策文件及報告
-
審計署署長第三十九號報告書小學教育
< 返回
目錄 > 公共及行政相關 >
招標公告
-
招標公告
-
工程招標公告
主要內容

特殊學校人手及資源


特殊學校的每班學生人數比普通學校較少,介乎8至15人,視乎學校的類別而定。就教師與班級比例,特殊學校的小學及初中每班1.8名教師,為智障學童而設的特殊學校高中每班2名教師,提供普通課程的特殊學校高中則每班2.1名教師。為提高教師的地位及專業水平,教師職位由2019/20學年已全面學位化。因應學生的不同需要,教育局為相關類別的特殊學校提供額外的常額教師,例如為自閉症學生提供學習支援的輔導教師、教導視障學生的定向行動導師及低視能視力訓練教師等。

此外,不同類別的特殊學校因應其學生的殘疾或學習障礙獲提供各種專責人員,包括職業治療師、物理治療師、言語治療師、職業治療助理員、護士、教育心理學家、社工及點字印製員等。宿舍部方面,專責人員包括舍監、助理舍監、宿舍家長主管、宿舍家長、活動輔導員及護士等。特殊學校會善用校內人手,推動跨專業協作,以照顧學生的不同學習需要。

過去數年,教育局為特殊學校推出了多項改善措施。以2018/19學年為例,智障兒童學校、肢體傷殘兒童學校及視障兼智障兒童學校皆獲額外一名學校護士人手,而視障兒童學校及聽障兒童學校也新獲一名學校護士人手,以加強照顧學生的護理需要。此外,總學額在60名或以下的特殊學校亦可獲1名學校社工人手,其後每30名學生可獲0.5名學校社工人手;學校亦會按學校社工人手獲發「諮詢服務津貼」,讓學校購買諮詢、督導或其他支援學校社工的相關服務。