Skip to main content Skip to search
Print this page

Information for Students

Important Notes : To protect yourself, we advise you that you –

(1)     see if the non-local course that you plan to enroll in appears on the List of Registered Courses or List of Exempted Courses.

(2)     ensure the course name is shown in the offer letter and receipt of your payment.

(3)     refer to the Information for Students below to understand more about non-local courses in Hong Kong .

 

THE ORDINANCE

 

The Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Ordinance (Cap. 493) (the Ordinance) and its subsidiary legislation, i.e. the Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Rules and the Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Appeal Board) Rules, came into operation in June 1997. The Ordinance provides a legislative framework to regulate the standard, advertisements, payment and refund arrangements of non-local courses of higher education conducted in Hong Kong by non-local institutions or professional bodies.

 

 

OBJECTIVES

 

The objective of the Ordinance is to protect local consumers by guarding against the marketing of non-local courses in Hong Kong which do not fulfil the registration criteria. It also enhances Hong Kong's reputation as a community which values higher academic and professional education.

 

 

ADVICE TO LOCAL CONSUMERS

 

REGISTERED/EXEMPTED COURSES

 

Local consumers who plan to enrol in any non-local higher academic or professional courses are strongly advised to -

 

  (a)

choose courses which are registered or exempted;

  (b)

verify the registration/exemption status of the courses by checking the lists of registered and exempted courses at this site or making enquiries to the Non-local Courses Registry (the Registry)'s hotlines (Tel: 2520 0255, 2520 0559);

  (c)

take notice that an advertisement of a registered course should bear the registration number of the course. For an exempted course, it should be stated clearly that the course is an exempted course. In addition, all advertisements of registered courses or exempted courses should contain the statement which reads "It is a matter of discretion for individual employers to recognise any qualification to which this course may lead";

  (d)

not to pay any fee or charge before it is sure that the course is registered or exempted under the Ordinance;

  (e)

check the payment arrangements and refund policy before making payment;

  (f)

obtain receipts from the course operator when making payment, and the receipts should contain details such as name of the operator, name of the course and the service(s) paid for, amount of the fees/charges, etc.; and

  (g)

keep all receipts and course information issued by the course operator since some of them may serve as a contract with the operator.


RECOGNITION OF REGISTERED AND EXEMPTED COURSES

 

The registration/exemption from registration of a course is an assurance that the institution offering the course is a recognised body in the home country. It also assures that effective measures are in place to ensure the standard of the course offered locally is comparable to that of the home course and is recognised as such by the institution, the relevant accreditation authority (if any) and the academic community in the home country. Registration/exemption from registration of a course under the Ordinance, however, does not on its own confer any particular standing to the course or comparability to a local degree programme. The recognition of any qualification for employment purposes is a matter within the discretion of individual employers and educational institutions. 

 

As regarding appointment to the Civil Service, qualification requirements for civil service posts are normally set with reference to qualifications obtainable under the local education system or from local institutions. Candidates holding non-local qualifications may also apply and will be considered for appointment if their qualifications are assessed as comparable in standard to the entry qualification requirements of the posts being applied for. For further details, please refer to the webpage on Qualifications Assessment on Civil Service Bureau's website at www.csb.gov.hk/english/recruit/qual/333.html

 

 LOCALLY ACCREDITED NON-LOCAL COURSES

 

Operators of non-local courses registered/exempted under the Ordinance could also seek local accreditation by the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications (HKCAAVQ) under the Hong Kong Qualifications Framework (QF).  Details about the QF are available at QF website www.hkqf.gov.hk.

 

The accreditation conducted by HKCAAVQ benchmarks the non-local courses against Hong Kong’s education system and non-local courses accredited by HKCAAVQ enjoys similar status to locally-accredited programmes, and the qualification can be placed on the Qualifications Register (QR) and recognised under the QF.  For a list of locally accredited non-local courses, please visit the QR website at www.hkqr.gov.hk.

 

PURELY DISTANCE LEARNING COURSES

 

 

Local consumers are reminded that purely distance learning courses are not required to be registered/exempted under the Ordinance but operators of such courses may choose to do so to demonstrate that they meet the registration criteria.

 

Local consumers who plan to enroll in any non-local higher academic or professional courses to be conducted via distance learning mode are strongly advised to check with the course provider/operator on the course details, in particular the qualifications to be obtained, the payment arrangements and refund policy before making payment.

 

 

ENQUIRIES

 

Enquiries about the operation of the Ordinance can be addressed to -

The Registrar
Non-local Courses Registry
Education  Bureau
Room 603, 6/F
CityPlaza 3, 14 Taikoo Wan Road

Quarry Bay
Hong Kong

Hotlines: (852)2520 0255, 2520 0559
Fax: (852)2520 0061
E-mail:
enquiry_ncr@edb.gov.hk

 

Last revision date: 30 November 2016
This website is IPv6 EnabledLevel Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0Valid HTML 4.01 Strict

跳到主要內容 跳至搜尋
列印本文

供學生參閱的資料

重要提示:為保障閣下,我們建議閣下

(1) 查看下面的「註冊課程名單」或「獲豁免課程名單」是否列出你欲報讀課程。

(2)   確保接受你入讀課程的文件和繳費收條中有顯示出你報讀的課程名稱。

(3)   參考下面「供學生參閱的資料」,以更了解本港的非本地課程。

 

條例

 

《非本地高等及專業教育( 規管) 條例》第4 9 3 章《條例》及其附屬法例,即《非本地高等及專業教育( 規管) 規則》及《非本地高等及專業教育( 上訴委員會) 規則》於一九九七年六月起生效。《條例》旨在提供一個立法架構,規管非本地機構及專業團體在香港所開辦的高等教育課程的水平、廣告內容和收費及退款安排。

 

目的

 

《條例》的目的,是要防止未符合註冊準則的非本地課程在香港招收學生,以保障本地消費者的利益。此外,《條例》可提高香港的聲譽,表明香港重視高等學術及專業教育。


對本地消費者的忠告

註冊/獲豁免課程 

打算報讀非本地高等學術或專業課程的本地消費者應:

       (甲) 選讀經註冊或獲豁免課程;
       (乙) 查閱本網頁的經註冊及獲豁免課程名單,或致電非本地課程註冊處( 註冊處) 的熱線( 電話:2520 0255;2520 0559),核實有關課程已經註冊或獲得豁免;
       (丙) 留意經註冊課程的廣告須述明課程註冊編號。至於獲豁免課程的廣告,則須聲明該課程是獲豁免的課程。此外,所有經註冊課程或獲豁免課程的廣告均須註明" 個別僱主可酌情決定是否承認本課程可令學員獲取的任何資格"
       (丁) 在未確定該課程已根據《條例》獲得註冊或豁免前,不應繳交任何學費或費用;
       (戊) 在繳交款項前,查明繳款安排及退款辦法;
       (己) 在繳款後向課程主辦者索取收據,有關收據須註明主辦機構的名稱、付款報讀的課程名稱和購取的服務、學費或費用金額等詳細資料;及
       (庚) 保留課程主辦者發出的所有收據及課程資料,因為這類文件部分可作為學生與主辦者所訂定的合約。
 


註冊及獲豁免課程的認可

規定課程必須註冊或獲准豁免註冊,可保證開辦課程的機構獲得其所屬國家認可,而且該機構已具備有效措施,確保該課程的水平可比擬這個機構在所屬國家開辦同一課程的水平,而此事實亦為這個機構、其所屬國家的有關評審當局( 如有) 和學術群體承認。該條例規定課程必須註冊或獲准豁免註冊,但並不表示該課程因而得到特別地位,或獲得承認等同本地學位課程。在就業方面,該等資格是否獲得承認,全由個別僱主或院校酌情決定。

 
就聘任公務員而言,政府在釐定公務員職位的入職學歷及專業資歷的時候,通常會以香港教育制度下或由本地院校所頒授的學歷╱資歷作為標準。持有在香港以外所頒授的學歷╱資歷的人士,亦可申請。如持有的非本地學歷 ╱資歷被評核為與入職要求相若時,他們的申請可獲同樣考慮。請瀏覽公務員事務局有關學歷評核的網頁  http://www.csb.gov.hk/tc_chi/recruit/qual/333.html了解有關事宜


獲本地評審的非本地課程

根據《條例》註冊或獲豁免的非本地課程的主辦者可以向香港學術及職業資歷評審局(評審局)申請在香港資歷架構下之本地評審。有關資歷架構的資料,請瀏覧資歷架構網站  www.hkqf.gov.hk

 

本地評審是以香港教育制度為基準根據,而通過評審局本地評審的非本地課程,可獲等同已評審本地課程的認可地位,並可載列於資歷名冊上,獲資歷架構認可。如要查詢已獲本地評審的非本地課程名單,請瀏覽資歷名冊網站 www.hkqr.gov.hk

 

 

純遙距學習課程

消費者須留意,根據該《條例》純遙距學習課程無須註冊。不過,這類課程的主辦者可主動申請註冊,以表明課程符合註冊準則。

 

消費者在報讀純遙距學習課程前,應先向課程提供者/主辦者查詢詳情,特別是所頒授的資格、付款安排及退款政策,在清楚詳情後方繳付款項。

 

查詢

如對《條例》的執行事宜有任何查詢,請與非本地課程註冊處聯絡。

地址:香港鰂魚涌
            太古灣道 14 號
            太古城中心 3 期 6 樓 603 室
            教育局
            非本地課程註冊處處長
熱線電話:(852)2520 0255;2520 0559
傳真:(852)2520 0061
電子郵件:enquiry_ncr@edb.gov.hk

 

修訂日期: 2016年11月30日
IPv6 電腦器材可瀏覽本網站遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0符合超文本標示語言(HTML)4.01嚴格版